Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Crock Pot Moroccan Chicken, Chickpea and Apricot Tagine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Crock Pot Moroccan Chicken, Chickpea and Apricot Tagine

    Average Rating:

    179 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 179

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2010

      This was so good, that I paid myself twenty dollars plus a tip for this entree and asked to see the dessert menu. I do not own a crock pot so I cooked this in my oven at 275 for 2 hours then turned it up to 400 for another 30 minutes to kill any bacteria. I used the exact ingredients listed and it was plenty spicy for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      I have had this recipe in my cookbook forever and my husband finally made it yesterday. It was absolutely amazing! We made a few mods based on our tastes and what we had on hand - we used 2lbs of cut up boneless skinless chicken thighs (browned first), one large onion, 2 tbsp flour, 1 can each of drained chickpeas and diced tomatoes, 1tbsp honey, and about 2 cups of homemade stock. We forgot the saffron but will remember the next time. The apricots were large so we tore them in half but it wasn't really necessary. Cooked on high for just under 3.5 hrs. The chicken was tender, the sauce perfect - not too runny or too thick. No extra salt needed. He served it with mixed veg couscous and the meal was simply sublime. Oh, and I just realized he forgot the cilantro! We didn't miss it though, it's great as is. Thank you for a terrific recipe, French Tart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      This is the best thing I have ever made in the slow cooker! Has helped to restore my faith that there is a way to have a tasty and nutritious meal waiting for my family after work. So many other recipes turn out bland, but not this one! I used bone in thighs, prepared the sauce mixture and precooked dried chick peas the night before. I made the Ras-El-Hanout, but upped the amount slightly as we like spicy food, some of my dried spices were a little old, and as mentioned above - we have had bad luck with bland food coming out of the slow cooker before. Nestled the chicken in the sauce mixture to marinate overnight in the fridge. Cooked for 6 hours on low and then kept it warm until we were ready to eat. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      This wonderful dish is good anytime of the year. I made the tagine on the stove top and slowly simmered it for three hours. I was afraid the boneless/skinless chicken breasts would be dried out but they were moist and so tender I could cut it with my spoon. Served with plain couscous. Thanks for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Made this last night. We enjoyed it but it wasn't 5 stars. I thought it came out a bit too soupy. Next time i will only add 1 can of diced tomatoes. Also I will cut back to 2 tablespoons for the honey. We don't like tons of heat so I cut the Cayenne back to 1/2 tsp, which could account why it was too sweet for us.
      Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      This turned out really well and made in the crockpot was super easy to put together. We are going to a Moroccan-themed dinner next week and have been trying many dishes to figure out what we'll bring. This is it! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      This recipe was delicious. Because I enjoy heartier, rich foods (and wanted to add some extra nutrients to it) I changed it up a little bit :)
      So... Instead of chicken breast, I used ~ 3lbs of chicken legs and thighs (bone in- but the meat falls right off the bone and you can fish the bones out). I added 2 zucchinis cut into thick strips, 2 carrots cut width-wise, additional 1/3-1/2 cup chicken stock, 2 oz more dried apricots, one potato cut in medium chunks (next time I may use a yam), and about 1/3 tsp more of each spice (if you dont want it too spicy, leave out the additional cayenne pepper). I adjusted the cooking time too. Cooked on high for 3 hours, then on low for 4 hours. I wanted the meat to be super tender and melt in your mouth, and the cooking time on the recipe just didnt do that. I served it over rice, and it was fabulous! If you want, you could add a creamy dollop of spiced sour cream :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      This is a STUNNING and EASY intro to Tagines and middle eastern flavor. This inspired me to make up the ras el hanout spice mix (a couple ingredients are still missing -- but it's close) and I can't wait to try making preserved lemons. My variations: our veg house means no chicken, but I used Quorn naked chick'n cutlets instead (briefly cooking on stovetop before throwing into the slow cooker); I omitted the flour, like other reviewers -- it doesn't need it; I agree that chemical heat is a plus -- I added some red chili flakes leftover from pizza nite (about a tsp for the entire slow cooker). The dried apricots are not absolutely essential (I didn't have any one time), but they add so much flavor and have a great consistency, that you might want to track some down (check the farmer's market). Don't feel overwhelmed by the list of ingredients -- just open the cans and toss them in the slow cooker (and add in the Quorn cutlets), sprinkle with spices, stir and walk away for a few hours (I agree that you don't need the hours, especially if you drop the meat, but the flavors blend nicely with the time involved). The flavor here is addictive, intoxicating -- so yummy! Add a dark leafy green (kale, chard, spinach, etc) in the final stage of cooking and serve with rice, bread, pasta, couscous, or any grain for a tasty, balanced meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      My husband thought this was very yummy. I did change it up a little to make it vegan. I didn't use chicken or chicken stock, and I doubled up on the garbanzos. I served it over rice. He loved it for his no meat days!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      I have recently been given a Tagine and have loved trying different Morrocan Recipes.
      This has by far been the very best recipe to date. I and my family just love it and I look forward to making it for friends in the future.
      Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe, my husband loves it to pieces and can't get enough :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      This was a wonderful meal. I cooked mine in the oven and served it with basamati rice, pita bread, and chutney to compliment the flavor. As I sat eating it I pictured eating this in France and somehow it made it all the more delightful!! I had plenty of leftovers so I took some to my elderly mother and she LOVED it she said it had an addictive flavor and I totally agree. I can't wait to make it again and I thank you again for an amazing recipe:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Loved how easy it was and how perfectly cooked the chicken came out--not dry, just perfect. I used canned chickpeas to get around the chickpea problem from the previous poster. (Dried ones are often iffy in final quality.) I stirred some (1 tsp.) of the pickle in it, but not much because that stuff is really hot and strong. Worried about DH not liking it. So I set some on the side for me. This is kinda a bland dish (which was great for him); good to spice it up with the pickle for me. I went back and made the Ras El Hanout mentioned in the introduction and then served the whole thing over mashed potatoes. I used 2 tsp. of the spice mix since I'd already put in the other spices when originally cooked. This time, it was much better for me but overly spiced for my husband. ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2012

      I made this recipe tonight and can say that it surely didn't disappoint! it came together quickly, despite the lengthy ingredient list, and was full of flavor! I made small adjustments, due to not having everything on hand. Like I only used one can of garbanzo beans, instead of two. And I only had one can of Italian stewed tomatoes, and one small can of tomato sauce, instead of the two cans of chopped, stewed tomatoes. And reduced the cayenne to 1/4 tsp. But those were not significant changes. I cooked this in the crockpot on high for 3 hrs, and when our family walked in the door from our son's basketball game, it was done beautifully!!! All I needed was to spend 15 minutes making a quick pot of couscous (using chicken broth to make it, and stirring in some golden raisins, slivered almonds and a few tablespoons of butter at the end to make it delicious!) and a warm, hearty and delicious dinner was on the table, with everyone enjoying it! I used all the spices called for, and topped the dish with fresh chopped cilantro, but did not make the other spice mixture. Perhaps next time. Thank you so much French Tart for contributing this flavorful and special meal, that's easy enough for a weeknight post-game dinner! This is good enough to serve for company too!
      **One side note is that I'd say this makes enough to serve 10-12 people, not 6! So the nutritional values look high as is. But dividing it in half, they're more reasonable. 5 of us ate tonight, and we didn't get through half of it! It makes a lot! Which is great, because we'll have enough for a second night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2012

      Loved this! We made it as written (without the optional carrots) and it was delicious! Next time we're going to use chicken thighs instead of breasts, but otherwise we'll leave it alone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      OMG! What a wonderul smell this made in the house and the taste is devine. Both kids and friends alike enjoyed. Served with cous cous and homemade naan (tried the mpst rated nan recipe). Will definitely make again. Super easy and over the top in flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      I bought a crock pot specifically for this recipe, and I was not at all disappointed! I've never cooked anything exotic before, so I was a little nervous, but the recipe turned out fabulous. It reminded me a lot of the aloo chole or channa masala I get at Indian restaurants. In fact, I think I may even omit the chicken and put in potatoes instead next time. The only issue I did have was that the dried apricot were a little too prominent -- but maybe I put too many in or didn't cut them up enough or something. I might even try having a heavier hand on the spices next time, too. It certainly wasn't flavorless, but I wouldn't mind giving it an extra kick. All in all, it was a really great dish, and I'm so glad I tried it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      great recipe. Made as directed wish I had remember to buy the bread to go with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      This is an awesome recipe! The flavor is wonderful :) I served this with basmati rice and steamed cauliflower. Leftovers are great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      This was really good and simple. I think I cooked it for around four hours on high and it was great. The spices really came out the next day. I served with couscous and I will definitely be making this again, and then I'll try freezing it, it didn't last long enough to freeze this time :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2012

      Wonderful recipe!

      The wonderful aromas from this cooking had my wife circling the kitchen long before it was done. I served with couscous and the wonderful glistening color made it a delight for the eyes. I used chicken thighs rather than breast, which I think adds a little more chicken flavor. (Most supermarket battery-raised chicken is pretty flavorless compared to what we used to be able to buy).

      Tomorrow, I'll try my hand at some khobz to go along with it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Crock Pot Moroccan Chicken, Chickpea and Apricot Tagine

    Serving Size: 1 (546 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 488.7
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    14%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 76.7 mg
    25%
    Sodium 645.0 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.7 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 11.1 g
    44%
    Sugars 31.5 g
    126%
    Protein 35.9 g
    71%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh gingerroot

    ras el hanout spice mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites