185 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was so good, that I paid myself twenty dollars plus a tip for this entree and asked to see the dessert menu. I do not own a crock pot so I cooked this in my oven at 275 for 2 hours then turned it up to 400 for another 30 minutes to kill any bacteria. I used the exact ingredients listed and it was plenty spicy for me.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klincko July 04, 2010

I have had this recipe in my cookbook forever and my husband finally made it yesterday. It was absolutely amazing! We made a few mods based on our tastes and what we had on hand - we used 2lbs of cut up boneless skinless chicken thighs (browned first), one large onion, 2 tbsp flour, 1 can each of drained chickpeas and diced tomatoes, 1tbsp honey, and about 2 cups of homemade stock. We forgot the saffron but will remember the next time. The apricots were large so we tore them in half but it wasn't really necessary. Cooked on high for just under 3.5 hrs. The chicken was tender, the sauce perfect - not too runny or too thick. No extra salt needed. He served it with mixed veg couscous and the meal was simply sublime. Oh, and I just realized he forgot the cilantro! We didn't miss it though, it's great as is. Thank you for a terrific recipe, French Tart.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dimpi January 31, 2011

Made this last night. We enjoyed it but it wasn't 5 stars. I thought it came out a bit too soupy. Next time i will only add 1 can of diced tomatoes. Also I will cut back to 2 tablespoons for the honey. We don't like tons of heat so I cut the Cayenne back to 1/2 tsp, which could account why it was too sweet for us.
Thank you for a great recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves to travel January 16, 2011

This is the best thing I have ever made in the slow cooker! Has helped to restore my faith that there is a way to have a tasty and nutritious meal waiting for my family after work. So many other recipes turn out bland, but not this one! I used bone in thighs, prepared the sauce mixture and precooked dried chick peas the night before. I made the Ras-El-Hanout, but upped the amount slightly as we like spicy food, some of my dried spices were a little old, and as mentioned above - we have had bad luck with bland food coming out of the slow cooker before. Nestled the chicken in the sauce mixture to marinate overnight in the fridge. Cooked for 6 hours on low and then kept it warm until we were ready to eat. Yum!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracy-t November 16, 2010

This wonderful dish is good anytime of the year. I made the tagine on the stove top and slowly simmered it for three hours. I was afraid the boneless/skinless chicken breasts would be dried out but they were moist and so tender I could cut it with my spoon. Served with plain couscous. Thanks for another great recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
plutodrive November 04, 2010

My husband thought this was very yummy. I did change it up a little to make it vegan. I didn't use chicken or chicken stock, and I doubled up on the garbanzos. I served it over rice. He loved it for his no meat days!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaceySingh September 27, 2011

This turned out really well and made in the crockpot was super easy to put together. We are going to a Moroccan-themed dinner next week and have been trying many dishes to figure out what we'll bring. This is it! Thanks so much.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie October 14, 2010

This recipe was delicious. Because I enjoy heartier, rich foods (and wanted to add some extra nutrients to it) I changed it up a little bit :)
So... Instead of chicken breast, I used ~ 3lbs of chicken legs and thighs (bone in- but the meat falls right off the bone and you can fish the bones out). I added 2 zucchinis cut into thick strips, 2 carrots cut width-wise, additional 1/3-1/2 cup chicken stock, 2 oz more dried apricots, one potato cut in medium chunks (next time I may use a yam), and about 1/3 tsp more of each spice (if you dont want it too spicy, leave out the additional cayenne pepper). I adjusted the cooking time too. Cooked on high for 3 hours, then on low for 4 hours. I wanted the meat to be super tender and melt in your mouth, and the cooking time on the recipe just didnt do that. I served it over rice, and it was fabulous! If you want, you could add a creamy dollop of spiced sour cream :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nursenikip September 23, 2010

This is a STUNNING and EASY intro to Tagines and middle eastern flavor. This inspired me to make up the ras el hanout spice mix (a couple ingredients are still missing -- but it's close) and I can't wait to try making preserved lemons. My variations: our veg house means no chicken, but I used Quorn naked chick'n cutlets instead (briefly cooking on stovetop before throwing into the slow cooker); I omitted the flour, like other reviewers -- it doesn't need it; I agree that chemical heat is a plus -- I added some red chili flakes leftover from pizza nite (about a tsp for the entire slow cooker). The dried apricots are not absolutely essential (I didn't have any one time), but they add so much flavor and have a great consistency, that you might want to track some down (check the farmer's market). Don't feel overwhelmed by the list of ingredients -- just open the cans and toss them in the slow cooker (and add in the Quorn cutlets), sprinkle with spices, stir and walk away for a few hours (I agree that you don't need the hours, especially if you drop the meat, but the flavors blend nicely with the time involved). The flavor here is addictive, intoxicating -- so yummy! Add a dark leafy green (kale, chard, spinach, etc) in the final stage of cooking and serve with rice, bread, pasta, couscous, or any grain for a tasty, balanced meal.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Avocato June 08, 2010

I have recently been given a Tagine and have loved trying different Morrocan Recipes.
This has by far been the very best recipe to date. I and my family just love it and I look forward to making it for friends in the future.
Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe, my husband loves it to pieces and can't get enough :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deslynne January 07, 2011
Easy Crock Pot Moroccan Chicken, Chickpea and Apricot Tagine