103 Reviews

I have made this twice and both times turned out very good. For me though, the original recipe has a little too much onion and not enough cheese. So on attempt 2, I doubled the cheese, cut the onions in half, and added a little dried mustard. PERFECT (for me)! Thanks for a great basic recipe as a starting point... I would never have thought to use my crock pot for Mac n' Cheese!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ricearoni161 May 08, 2010

I don't like doing dishes, so I mixed the sauce ingredients right in my teflon-coated crockpot, stirred in the milk, added the cheese (1.5 cups) and the noodles, gave it another good stir, and turned it on high for an hour, stirring it at random intervals. I also threw in some chopped ham and used dried minced onions. It turned out like a hearty casserole (creamy, cheesy, yummy), but had more of a soft texture than the boil and bake variety.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Literary Mom June 07, 2005

I doubled the recipe, used 1/2 cup flour, omitted salt, black pepper, Emeril's essence, minced garlic, small onion minced, worcestershire sauce, dry mustard powder, 6 cups whole milk, 6 cups mild cheddar, 4 cups whole wheat elbow macaroni. Started on high, when sides of the slow cooker were hot turned it down to low, done in 2 1/4 hours. Tastes just like my baked m&c without heating up the kitchen!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the4taals June 14, 2010

My mac and cheese stuck together. I am not sure what I did wrong. Is there a way to make this creamier?

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annette NC April 14, 2009

Loved the ease of this recipe. I've used it several times when I wanted some good, homemade mac n cheese but didn't want to turn the oven on., in fact making it again tonight! This happens a LOT in the summer! I read the other comments about it being "floury" so I used corn starch instead....worked like a charm. I also used 1.5 the amount of cheese and added dijon mustard for flavor. It was a hit. Nothing takes the place of good 'ol baked mac and cheese but this is an excellent substitute. Oh, and i LOVE that you don't have to cook the noodles first....HUGE bonus for me!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fairestoneofall June 17, 2008

Perfect! I haven't been able to find a mac'n'cheese recipe, for the oven or the crockpot, that we liked as much as a cheapo box from kraft. Until now that is. We loved this! It came together very quickly, and is SO cheesy! The noodles were perfectly cooked after the 2 hours on low. We will absolutely be making this again and again. Thank you so much for sharing this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ March 14, 2004

I've been looking my entire adult life for a mac and cheese crockpot recipe where you did not have to cook the noodles first. Thanks so much. The taste was great, I especially liked the slightly overdone cheese around the edges.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom February 15, 2004

I don't know for the life of me , why this recipe received all the high ratings . I was nominated to bring mac & cheese to this year's Thanksgiving dinner. I found this recipe and thought I'd give it a try. After reading several of the reviews,I used more cheese. I used an 8 oz block of long horn cheddar cheese, shredded and 1 cup of pepper jackcolby cheddar. I added a little onion & garlic powder, and pinch of cayene pepper other than that, I stuck to the recipe. Set the crock pot on low, stirred after the 1 hour mark, it was very loose and I could tell it was going to be gummy, but I was gonna see this recipe to the end. It was absolutley HORRIBLE!!!! It went down the garbage disposal. I will stick to Paula Deens, Creamest Mac & Cheese that is prepared on the stovetop, and transport it in my Stay or Go crockpot for the Thanksgiving dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cita705_12754854 September 28, 2014

It was OK for how easy it was, but my hubby and I were not impressed and my kids did not like it. It seemed very heavy and kind of gritty. I don't know if that's due to starch from the pasta, or what? I was really hoping this would work out so I could use it for a party.....not so. If someone has any suggestions about how to make it better, I'd love to hear it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Smiley7 April 22, 2013

Good, but too much onion and not enough cheese. I'll be trying again with less onion, it was way overpowering. I'd also double the amount of cheese. It's nice and creamy though, texture is perfect, so with a few tweaks it'd be excellent.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redneck naturalist April 04, 2011
Easy Crock Pot Macaroni and Cheese