101 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I don't like doing dishes, so I mixed the sauce ingredients right in my teflon-coated crockpot, stirred in the milk, added the cheese (1.5 cups) and the noodles, gave it another good stir, and turned it on high for an hour, stirring it at random intervals. I also threw in some chopped ham and used dried minced onions. It turned out like a hearty casserole (creamy, cheesy, yummy), but had more of a soft texture than the boil and bake variety.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Literary Mom June 07, 2005

I have made this twice and both times turned out very good. For me though, the original recipe has a little too much onion and not enough cheese. So on attempt 2, I doubled the cheese, cut the onions in half, and added a little dried mustard. PERFECT (for me)! Thanks for a great basic recipe as a starting point... I would never have thought to use my crock pot for Mac n' Cheese!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ricearoni161 May 08, 2010

I doubled the recipe, used 1/2 cup flour, omitted salt, black pepper, Emeril's essence, minced garlic, small onion minced, worcestershire sauce, dry mustard powder, 6 cups whole milk, 6 cups mild cheddar, 4 cups whole wheat elbow macaroni. Started on high, when sides of the slow cooker were hot turned it down to low, done in 2 1/4 hours. Tastes just like my baked m&c without heating up the kitchen!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the4taals June 14, 2010

Perfect! I haven't been able to find a mac'n'cheese recipe, for the oven or the crockpot, that we liked as much as a cheapo box from kraft. Until now that is. We loved this! It came together very quickly, and is SO cheesy! The noodles were perfectly cooked after the 2 hours on low. We will absolutely be making this again and again. Thank you so much for sharing this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ March 14, 2004

I've been looking my entire adult life for a mac and cheese crockpot recipe where you did not have to cook the noodles first. Thanks so much. The taste was great, I especially liked the slightly overdone cheese around the edges.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom February 15, 2004

Very bland.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnaMarieCooking October 21, 2009

Literally, threw this recipe together and it is great! We used Mozarella, Swiss & cheddar cheeses, .25 cayenne & a dash of garlic powder in addition to the given spices & 1 scallion/green onion instead of a regular onion. I had a small jar of cheesy sauce that needed to be used, so I mixed it w/ the milk & poured in the dry ingredient mix. Instead of step 5, I placed it into the crock pot, dumped the sauce over it & mixed. Eating it as we "speak"- good stuff. Can't wait to play with this in the future to see what pops out. Def good eats!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tygryss March 08, 2009

This was very easy and I liked it a lot. My husband said it was good, but prefers baked macaroni and cheese in the oven instead of the crock pot..he said he could tell a difference in the noodles. I would say...give it a try, to me it was great and simple too!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracyscot March 02, 2004

I don't know for the life of me , why this recipe received all the high ratings . I was nominated to bring mac & cheese to this year's Thanksgiving dinner. I found this recipe and thought I'd give it a try. After reading several of the reviews,I used more cheese. I used an 8 oz block of long horn cheddar cheese, shredded and 1 cup of pepper jackcolby cheddar. I added a little onion & garlic powder, and pinch of cayene pepper other than that, I stuck to the recipe. Set the crock pot on low, stirred after the 1 hour mark, it was very loose and I could tell it was going to be gummy, but I was gonna see this recipe to the end. It was absolutley HORRIBLE!!!! It went down the garbage disposal. I will stick to Paula Deens, Creamest Mac & Cheese that is prepared on the stovetop, and transport it in my Stay or Go crockpot for the Thanksgiving dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cita705_12754854 September 28, 2014

This is my new go-to recipe for macaroni and cheese! I replaced the paprika with mustard powder, doubled the recipe, and used half sharp cheddar, half mild. It was wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustAMuggle July 05, 2014
Easy Crock Pot Macaroni and Cheese