Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on July 30, 2008

      Thanks Mike for a quick to fix scrumptious dinner. I made a couple of minor changes based on others' feedback. Saute'd onions and garlic in olive oil in my electric skillet, then added the diced tomatoes, 1/2 cup red wine and tomato paste. Tossed in the spices, gave it a stir, added chicken, switched controls to low and walked away. Couldn't stay away, though ... those come-hither aromas got the best of me! Served with semi-sweet red wine, spaghetti and bread salad #9108. Mangia! Tutto bene!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      I found what was missing from this recipe-- garlic! After reading the reviews, I decided to make this dish, but I added 6 cloves chopped garlic and generous grinds of black pepper. (I also used oregano, basil, thyme and bay leaf in place of the Italian seasoning, but that probably didn't make a difference.) It came out well, and the house smelled wonderful the whole time it was cooking. Next time I will add green peppers and onions, too. Thanks for a good starting point; I am not a whiz at crock pot cooking and this seemed an easy one to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      Very easy to make, but needed vegetables. 'Cacciatore' is the Italian word for 'hunter'...and hunter style means prepared with mushrooms and onions and seasoned with fresh herbs and wine. I added the vegetables (mushrooms, onion, celery, peppers, and garlic) and a little dry white wine at the very end before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      Very quick and easy dish. I too, after reading other reviews added a few more ingredients. Onions, green peppers, garlic and a bay leaf. I used a whole chicken that I cut up. I cooked this for 7 hours and served it with rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      Loved how easy this recipe was to put together, but really felt it was missing something.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      This tasted okay, but was on the bland side and definitely too watery for my idea of chicken cacciatore. Maybe a can of tomato paste would help. I like a sauce that sticks to the noodles, and this doesn't make that kind of sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      This was so good, and super easy to make. I used chicken breasts and they were falling apart - just perfect! Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2011

      This recipe was great as a starting point it just needed something more. I added quite a lot to it to get the flavor and consistency I was looking for. Thanks for starting me in the right direction. Also, (my own mistake) I used chicken breasts - skin off, bone-in. I wouldn't have minded the bone except I had to remove them for the kids so that was a pain, but it was what I had defrosted at the time. I would definitely recommend boneless skinless breasts to make life easier. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      This was a good chicken recipe but I feel it was missing something,just not sure what.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      This turned out juicy and delicious! used diced tomatoes and chicken breasts and cooked for about 4 hours on low. Thanks Mike! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      I made this for lunch at a friends daycare. The 2 year olds devoured it. The adults liked what they could try before the kids ate it all. I froze the dish with a layer of provolone cheese on it, then baked it to warm it thru before serving. A definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      I substituted chicken tenders for the thighs and they turned out great. Very easy to make and tasted fabolous. I served over rice with crusty bread. Yum... thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      Yummy! Skinned the thighs and let it cook all day while we were at work. Served it with rice and toasted sourdough bread. It was a hit with my bunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      This was so easy and very tasty. I used chicken breasts, added onion and garlic and served it with rice. Thanks Mike.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      We made this for guests over the weekend--very tasty! I used mostly thighs, but half way through added a couple breasts. I also added a whole sweet onion, red, yellow and green peppers and fresh halved mushrooms. Served it with bowtie pasta and a large green salad. Since I had a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes with added puree I added my own garlic and basil. I also included about 1/3 cup of dry red wine. I will definitely make this again--it is so easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      We loved this, it was simple, yet tasty, always my favorite type of recipe. I too put the chicken in frozen and cooked it on low for about 7.5 hours. The last hour I added about 1 cup of pre-made marinara sauce, just for our consistency preference. The chicken was so tender and flavorful. Thanks sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      Super easy! Made a couple of changes: used Italian flavored stewed tomatoes and a spoonful of pizza seasoning, and at the end added a half a jar of spaghetti sauce to thicken it up a bit. I started with frozen chicken breasts and cooked it on low all day. Served it over wide egg noodles. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      I was surprised at how tasty this was, with so few ingredients! I used roasted garlic crushed tomatoes (could not find one with basil and garlic). And I left the skin on. I loved the flavor of the skin, so the only change I would make next time is to skim the fat from the sauce before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

      This recipe was awesome! And very simple. I used unsalted diced tomatoes, 40 oz. frozen chicken tenderloins, sliced mushrooms, minced garlic, fresh basil, italian seasoning, salt, pepper, and 1/2 c wine. My husband forgot to turn the crockpot off so it cooked for 8 hours on low, and it was wonderful over spaghetti noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      This was very good and simple to make. I did add green and yellow bell peppers and a little bit of garlic and I used skin-on bone-in thighs and cooked on low for about 6 hrs. It was very much enjoyed and we'll be having this again soon. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore

    Serving Size: 1 (329 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1024.7
     
    Calories from Fat 629
    61%
    Total Fat 69.9 g
    107%
    Saturated Fat 19.4 g
    97%
    Cholesterol 382.0 mg
    127%
    Sodium 2351.8 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 81.8 g
    163%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes