Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Crescent Samosa (Indian Style Sandwiches) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Crescent Samosa (Indian Style Sandwiches)

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on November 09, 2002

      These were very easy to make and had an excellent flavor in the spicing! The dipping sauce was delicious and was as popular as the traditional tamarind and cilantro chutneys. Definitely a keeper. Thanks, Sarafish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2002

      Really tasty and very easy for this novice. Only thing - the dough was somewhat hard to work with and my crescents were more like blobs! But they tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      My mom made these last night per my suggestion and they turned out pretty good. I think a homemade fried shell would have tasted better, and we ended up dumping the honey sauce because it was too sweet. We may make this again, but would need to find a better dipping sauce (indian restaurants typically have chutney accompanying it so may give that a try).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      These were simple, but the flavor of the filling was rather bland, and the crescent rolls were an odd texture for samosas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      These were incredible, tasted exactly like a samosa I had before at a cafe. This is my first samosa recipe I have tried and I'm sticking with this one! I omitted the dried cilantro and used a handful of fresh instead and used canned sweet peas..outstanding!! This will be a favorite in my house. Thanks so much for posting this Sarafish!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      Samosas are fanatastic! The crescent roll shell is more akin to an English meat pie than a traditional samosa, but nevertheless is very good. The only thing my family didn't like was the honey dipping sauce. You'd be better off finding some tamarind paste and making a proper tamarind sauce, or even steak sauce if all else fails.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      These were very messy, difficult to form and left us with a lot of leftover filling. We liked the sauce but I don't forsee we'll make these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      Because my family tends to be skeptical of new foods, I offered these up alongside more traditional Indian dishes - and they, at least, were a hit! I cut the honey in the sauce to 1/4 cup and thought it was just about right, not too sweet like some have complained of the 1/3 cup. You do have to make these up quickly - while the dough is still stiff, or they tend to get sort of melty and difficult to handle.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      My husband and I liked these a lot. My husband ate 12 in one sitting! Thanks for the recipe. We had filling left over that I ate with rice and it was good that way too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2014

      This was very quick, very simple and just a travesty. I got through one bite because it was mostly just crescent with a bit of flavor from the spicing, Only reason I was able to down a second bite was because of the dipping sauce which was quite excellent.I went over the recipe 3 times to make sure I did it right. I recommend finding a recipe without shortcuts, take the time and make some delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

    • on July 14, 2013

      This was quite good, I did change it a bit, just cut back on some of the spices as the person I was making it for can't have too may spices. I also used home made soy type of sauce, as again he can't have soy.<br/>They were easy to make, and actually quite filling. Will be making them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

      These are pretty good, and it's nice how easy they are to make. The buttery dough tastes quite different than regular samosa dough, but it worked. I added a large pinch of garam masala to the filling mixture, used fresh ginger instead of ground, and skipped the dip and served these with cilantro & mango chutneys instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

    • on March 28, 2012

      I made a few changes to use the stuff I had on hand, but these turned out amazing. I used onion, carrot and celery and sauted that till cooked. I added around 1 1/2 cups of mashed sweet potato. I followed the spices as listed, except I cut the soy sauce back to 2 tbsp. I used wonton wrappers to seal the filling in and fried them in a bit of olive oil. I loved them and my kids ate a whole bunch. I'll definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      Excellent. I served with Navratna Chutney and Ground Cilantro (coriander) Chutney. Somebody at the table at six.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      Very good! I really like this filling but thought the dough was overpowering. I've never made anything like this before and might try using your filling again in another way. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      Left out the onions, everyone in my family loved them, from my FIL who claims to hate curry, to my 2 year old, to my carnitarian boyfriend. I've already been asked to make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      The aroma when cooking these was wonderful ,and these were very easy quick and tasty. I used shop bought puff pastry in place of the cresent dough. Also I added less curry powder and instead added some sweet dried paprika, tumeric, gound corriander seed and chopped fresh cilantro to the filling. Great for entertaining and for a snack or entree.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      These samosas were a hit at my Movie Club meeting last night! The only change I made was to use dried coriander rather than cilantro as I couldn't find dried cilantro at the supermarket. I adjusted the spices a bit to taste--the end result was a batch of delightful buttery pockets stuffed with delicious spiced vegetable filling! Sure, they aren't "traditional", but they are a great and relatively easy-to-make treat that evokes the flavors of Indian cuisine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Crescent Samosa (Indian Style Sandwiches)

    Serving Size: 1 (1368 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.7
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    21%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 14.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 343.9 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 8.7 g
    34%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes