158 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really liked this recipe but the original recipe as written just didn't seem like enough. The second time I made it I added a frozen veggie mix that I cooked ahead of time (it was corn, carrots and asparagus) and I also added some spices and seasoning to the soup/sour cream mixture (a few pinches of mild chili powder, dried onions and dill) and it was really good. I also melted the butter and mixed it with the Ritz crackers before I put them over the top to get a good even brown. I really do like how the sour cream adds a whole new taste to the boring old cream soup taste. This is really a comfort casserole at it's best! Thank you for posting! I'm pretty sure that the family will ask for this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness November 28, 2011

This was good! I doubled the recipe but not the butter portion. It was fine using 1/2 c. It was a bit rich for us, so next time I will do the following - use low fat mushroom soup, possibly light sour cream or cut down on the sour cream. I will definitely add some vegetables to the mix just to make it a bit more substantial for us. Very nice "quick" dinner! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieMarie November 21, 2011

This was a big hit at dinner tonight. A little rich for me, but very good! I added about a cup of rice and put it in the crock pot for about 4-5 hours. WIll definitely make again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fowler32 November 19, 2011

Yummy, my wife made this for supper tonight and it was great,added mushroom, & chopped up onions. I will add this to my recipe book,and when we have company this will be our main course, plus side dish

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lrd1946 October 21, 2011

At first when I was looking for a simple chicken recipe to try and came across this it didn't sound all that appetizing. I went ahead and cooked it anyways because I had all the ingredients and it was easy- I was so surprised when it was delicious. It even heated up nicely for left overs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dayzi8 July 29, 2011

Wonderful, quick, and easy!! Can't get better than that! I did a few things different per some of the reviews - doubled the soup and sour cream, added a layer of cheese between the chicken and soup mixture, and grilled the chicken with seasoning on it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soxfan28 May 30, 2011

This was amazing! I made it lower in calories by using fat free sour cream and only 1/4 cup butter, but otherwise followed the recipe to a T. I could hardly believe that both my 4 year old and my 2 year old cleaned their plates! I can't remember the last time that happened!! Thanks so much KC_Cooker!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chesska April 04, 2011

Very good and will definitely make again. Like others, I sauteed the chicken with onions and garlic in olive oil rather than boil it. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie March 28, 2011

Delicious and easy! The whole family loves it and finishes it every time! We use leftovers from Kittencal's Best Blasted Rapid-Roast Whole Chicken for this, so there is a combination of white and dark meat, and the meat is already seasoned! This is the most requested recipe for using chicken leftovers in our family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pale Rose March 02, 2011

We really enjoyed this and it is a definite keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blacksky_ms February 03, 2011
Easy Creamy Sour Cream Chicken Casserole