158 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a awesome recipe. Very easy. I too tweeked it a little. The possibilities are endless. I add potatoes, rice, carrots, and I used Italian flatbread crackers. I also put a layer of cheese under the crackers. And I made cream of chicken soup from scratch. It was easy and delicious. Found the recipe nonlinear for that too. This will be one that we use a lot. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rhondagalyon June 07, 2013

Love this recipe it was so simple and tasted great. I did follow the other suggestions and added some frozen peas and a layer of shredded cheese between the soup and cracker layer. I did not add any salt, but added a bit of garlic and Cajun seasoning to it. Next time I may try adding rice to and doubling the sauce, although it really don't need it :) I will be adding this to our list of favorites.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilovemykids1234 June 03, 2013

I've always been frustrated by reviewers who've rated a recipe after all of the 'tweaking' they've done, but that's exactly what I'm about to do.(chuckle) I've given it 5 stars for it's inspiration and versatility. I made this based on what I had on hand. One chicken breast and 2 thighs that I poached and cubed. Then I used a sour cream / dry onion soup mix that I had made for a dip and needed to be used up. I added some frozen broccoli and some mushrooms to the mix and then followed the prep and cooking technique as written. Served it over egg noodles for a very yummy nutritionally balanced comfort dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arroz241_11561377 May 13, 2013

Nice & easy family tummy-filler. I made the following changes: (1) I increased the yield to 6 ; (2) I sauteed the chunks of chicken in EVOO with crushed garlic and and salt & pepper; (3) I added a layer of canned green beans on top of the sour cream/soup mixture; and (4) I added a layer of Mexican cheese blend (cheddar & Jack) on top of the green beans under the crackers. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedhairMac April 26, 2013

Fantastic basic recipe! I spiced it up as recommended in some other reviews - added tarragon and turmeric. Served it over rice. Really delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laboratty March 02, 2013

This was a great recipe just as written. It was easy and delicious. I will be making this often. I like some of the suggestions to change it up somewhat and will try those as well. Thanks for such an easy delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GranEdge January 31, 2013

Very good and super easy!! I did not read one review before making this dish!! I thought about adding veggies but didnt want to overwhelm my picky eaters. It was extremely easy and tasted just as I expected :) I have 3 different eaters in the house, all men....my husband, who looks everything over twice, dug right in and inhaled bite after bite...my 12 year old son, who is very picky, didnt hesitate on trying it and ate 3 servings...and my 4 year old son who eats everything but the fork and plate enjoyed every bite of it!!! I served it with their favorite veggies on the side and a dinner roll...at the end, tummies were full and I was happy!! No leftovers or any to scrape off the plate into the trash!! What a hit in our house!! We will be adding this to our favorites! Thanks for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laubin May 05, 2012

I loveee this recipe, so simple & good that nothing needs to be changed! A good friend YEARS ago, before I'd ever had this dish, made it as well as mashed potatoes on the side & brought it over, ever since then I have been making this. I use both cream of mushroom & cream of chicken, one of each. Serve with mashed potatoes, it's the best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Photosrlove January 12, 2012

Excellent dish! Super feast & easy to make!! I pour it in a Pet Ritz pie shell and tasted like the best chicken pot pie we ever had. Adding peas or peas & carrots was good too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamisands_8292974 January 07, 2012

Very good recipe. The only thing I didn't like about it was the fact it was just chicken. No rice, no noodles so I made this my own. I added 1 cup of cooked mixed veggies, 6 ounces of cooked extra broad egg noodles, sauteed 4 stalks of diced celery along with 1/2 half of a vidalia onion in 2 tablespoons of butter. I took the Ritz crackers and mixed in 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese to them and toasted them in 3 tablespoons of butter in a pan. I assembled the recipe according to the directions but added the veggies, noodles and celery/onions to the soup mixture. After mixing this well, I spread it over the chicken as usual and them topped with the toasted Ritz. Baked for 30 mins per usual. Thank you great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseTammy74 January 02, 2012
Easy Creamy Sour Cream Chicken Casserole