164 Reviews

Very good recipe. The only thing I didn't like about it was the fact it was just chicken. No rice, no noodles so I made this my own. I added 1 cup of cooked mixed veggies, 6 ounces of cooked extra broad egg noodles, sauteed 4 stalks of diced celery along with 1/2 half of a vidalia onion in 2 tablespoons of butter. I took the Ritz crackers and mixed in 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese to them and toasted them in 3 tablespoons of butter in a pan. I assembled the recipe according to the directions but added the veggies, noodles and celery/onions to the soup mixture. After mixing this well, I spread it over the chicken as usual and them topped with the toasted Ritz. Baked for 30 mins per usual. Thank you great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseTammy74 January 02, 2012

This was good! I doubled the recipe but not the butter portion. It was fine using 1/2 c. It was a bit rich for us, so next time I will do the following - use low fat mushroom soup, possibly light sour cream or cut down on the sour cream. I will definitely add some vegetables to the mix just to make it a bit more substantial for us. Very nice "quick" dinner! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieMarie November 21, 2011

Wonderful, quick, and easy!! Can't get better than that! I did a few things different per some of the reviews - doubled the soup and sour cream, added a layer of cheese between the chicken and soup mixture, and grilled the chicken with seasoning on it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soxfan28 May 30, 2011

This was amazing! I made it lower in calories by using fat free sour cream and only 1/4 cup butter, but otherwise followed the recipe to a T. I could hardly believe that both my 4 year old and my 2 year old cleaned their plates! I can't remember the last time that happened!! Thanks so much KC_Cooker!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chesska April 04, 2011

Created an account just to review this. Sooooo delicious! I made this when my parents visited me last weekend and it was the first time when I heard my dad actually say "yummy" and go for seconds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emilie G. May 10, 2016

Tasted good as is. If I make again I would use 1/2 maybe even 1/4 of the butter. The amount of melted butter moving around in the dish was pretty gross. Not needed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeffrey H. April 09, 2016

Forgive me if this is duplicated. I diced my chicken and cooked it on a bed of real bacon pieces and diced onions. Followed everything else in the recipe. It was VERY good!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xoxoblackgirl January 20, 2016

I love this recipe. I made it tonight but added the French dried onions instead of crackers because I'm out of butter. Was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri B. December 28, 2015

My family loved this! I used cream of celery since I didn't have cream of chicken. I also used roasted vegetable Ritz crackers since I didn't have original. Family completely RAVED of it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catohara September 23, 2015
Easy Creamy Sour Cream Chicken Casserole