158 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUM! I added 16 oz frozen broccoli, a packet of ranch seasoning, and one sleeve of Ritz crackers. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan330 January 13, 2010

This is one of our favorite recipes, too! We call it Ritzy Chicken. :) Sometimes, if I'm running short on time, I don't poach the chicken. Just place the thawed meat in the pan, top with soup mixture and crackers, and bake 30 minutes. It has always come out completely cooked and tender, so no worries about raw meat or anything there. I usually use Specialty Soup Substitutes - Cream in place of the canned. It's also nice to add some poppy seeds in, as well. Delish!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unmistakable1 January 19, 2009

Great meal

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michele January 29, 2014

I love this, have been making it almost weekly because my boyfriend adores it and it's so cheap and adaptable! I usually make 2 packets of instant mashed potatoes and put them on the bottom, then mix the chicken into the sour cream and soup mixture and spread it on the potatoes. Delish!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1funkychick December 15, 2013

Had this years ago. My cousin's wife made it for us one night, we ate it over white rice. SOOOO GOOOOOD! I've made it a couple of times but I never knew the exact recipe for it so it never turned out like I remembered. It was never creamy enough like she made it. Thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristylee1979 October 25, 2013

Great recipe! But why precook the chicken? I put boneless chicken breast whole in the bottom of a baking dish, add the soup/sour cream mixture which I enhance to my taste and bake the whole thing for 30 to 40 minutes at 350ºF. Comes out great every time, even if I've left it in the oven too long.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cjdbgd September 19, 2013

You won't find a recipe much easier than this! I used low-fat sour cream and soup, and it still tastes rich! It's fine as is, but full of possibilities.... consider it a base and try it with other spices or veggies, added according to your tastes. I tried it with 1 teaspoon each of turmeric and pepper. YUM.
Served it over orzo pasta, which was a perfect compliment to balance the richness.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicky Lynne August 30, 2012

Scrumptious, classic, easy casserole. This is the one that every kid and adult loves. Fattening, but pretty low carb. My crowd is gluten free so using Glutino original crackers on top makes it perfect. The gluten free crackers are actually better than Ritz because they keep their crunch even when soaked in butter. Mmmmm...butter....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephvaughn77 August 21, 2012

I made this much more nutritious by using fat free soup, light sour cream, and margarine. I added no salt because the crackers and soup had enough salt. All I added was plenty of pepper. I also used a frozen veggie blend. It was delicious and very easy to make. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crankyoldlady April 23, 2015

This gets top scores for ease of preparation, and is pretty tasty too. It lends itself well to variations and tweaking, as evidenced by all the alterations in previous reviews. I did not want to boil the chicken, so I simply seasoned it with garlic powder, salt, pepper, and a little poultry seasoning and baked at 350 until done. I then cubed and prepared the recipe as directed. I really wanted to use the cream of chicken soup, but realized I only had cream of mushrooms. I did find garlic butter Ritz crackers, though! All in all, this is simple, quick and appealing to most palates. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! February 03, 2015
Easy Creamy Sour Cream Chicken Casserole