Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Creamy Sour Cream Chicken Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Creamy Sour Cream Chicken Casserole

    Average Rating:

    155 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 155

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2011

      Good & Tasty recipe! I did do some tweaking, though. I cooked the cubed chicken with diced onion and garlic paste. I also added a cup of frozen peas and a small can of mushrooms to the chicken mixture. I shredded some cheddar cheese on top before adding crushed whole wheat ritz crackers. It was very tasty! But I think it would've been bland if I didn't use extra spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      Another wow here! I didn't expect to love it so much, it was just so simple. All the rave reviews convinced me to try it and boy am I glad I did!! Followed others' advice and used more Ritz crackers than called, and a layer of cheese under the crackers, and I added some corn to the chicken for some veggies. A huge hit with all of us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      This was a decent recipe the first time I made it, but tweaking it really brought it to the next level. I'm giving it three stars because the original recipe was "good" and easy, and it's not fair to rate it after making a bunch of changes. Here's the suggestions hubby made that really helped:<br/><br/>Sauteed some chopped white onion in butter and combined it with herb stuffing to make a "crust" on the bottom of the pan. Salt, pepper and poultry seasoning on the cubed chicken, which I placed on top of the stuffing (raw, because boiling it is an extra, unnecessary step.) Added corn and green beans to the sour cream/soup mixture to give it some veggies and texture. Poured over the chicken and baked until bubbly. Added shredded sharp cheddar in the last few minutes. Let it sit for 10 minutes to thicken. YUM! <br/><br/>Really, it's a totally different recipe at this point I guess, but I would have never thought to make this without a good base. We really liked the sour cream in it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      Yum, this is a down-home, kick-up your heels, and enjoy the evening kinda dish. There is nothing that I changed about this, except adding a couple of baby peas into the sour-cream/mushroom soup part. I highly recommend this for it's ease, you probably have all these items on hand, and the taste is well worth the minimal amount of time that it takes to prepare. Make it even easier using parts from a rotisserie chicken. Thanks for posting, KC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      This is my fav casserole of all time.. my whole family loves it.. instead of ritz I use stuffing mix chicken flavor... & I always make fried green beans and biscuits w it..its amazing. People call and ask me for recipe all the time:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      YUM! We loved the Ritz topping! I used half the amount of butter in the topping and it worked out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      We like to eat alot of Chicken and I was looking for something "different" to make for dinner tonight. I have to say, this was so incredibly easy and delicious! My Family loved it!!! Next time, I may add a little of the broccoli florets. Perfect Dish and Delish!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      I love this recipe. I made this last night and I did add a few things but not too much. Instead of boiling the chicken I cubed it and sauteed it with some finely chopped onion and garlic. I also added some shredded cheddar cheese on top of the soup mixture. This is such a good recipe. Its very rich though, but yummy. (we were practicaly licking the pan) I served this with some buttered noodles and brussel sprouts. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us, I will make again as we loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      This was a huge hit with my husband and daughter. They each went back for seconds. Plus, how easy can you get? I am trying it again tonight, but I don't have Ritz crackers, so I have mixed a 1/2 batch of cornbread and poured it on the top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Wow! I'm teaching my sister to cook and thought this would be a great dish to work on. We added broccoli as others suggested and doubled the sour cream and chicken soup. It was amazing and my picky three year old asked for seconds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      YUM! I added 16 oz frozen broccoli, a packet of ranch seasoning, and one sleeve of Ritz crackers. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      This is one of our favorite recipes, too! We call it Ritzy Chicken. :) Sometimes, if I'm running short on time, I don't poach the chicken. Just place the thawed meat in the pan, top with soup mixture and crackers, and bake 30 minutes. It has always come out completely cooked and tender, so no worries about raw meat or anything there. I usually use Specialty Soup Substitutes - Cream in place of the canned. It's also nice to add some poppy seeds in, as well. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      Great meal

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      I love this, have been making it almost weekly because my boyfriend adores it and it's so cheap and adaptable! I usually make 2 packets of instant mashed potatoes and put them on the bottom, then mix the chicken into the sour cream and soup mixture and spread it on the potatoes. Delish!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2013

      Had this years ago. My cousin's wife made it for us one night, we ate it over white rice. SOOOO GOOOOOD! I've made it a couple of times but I never knew the exact recipe for it so it never turned out like I remembered. It was never creamy enough like she made it. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2013

      Great recipe! But why precook the chicken? I put boneless chicken breast whole in the bottom of a baking dish, add the soup/sour cream mixture which I enhance to my taste and bake the whole thing for 30 to 40 minutes at 350ºF. Comes out great every time, even if I've left it in the oven too long.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      You won't find a recipe much easier than this! I used low-fat sour cream and soup, and it still tastes rich! It's fine as is, but full of possibilities.... consider it a base and try it with other spices or veggies, added according to your tastes. I tried it with 1 teaspoon each of turmeric and pepper. YUM.
      Served it over orzo pasta, which was a perfect compliment to balance the richness.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      Scrumptious, classic, easy casserole. This is the one that every kid and adult loves. Fattening, but pretty low carb. My crowd is gluten free so using Glutino original crackers on top makes it perfect. The gluten free crackers are actually better than Ritz because they keep their crunch even when soaked in butter. Mmmmm...butter....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2014

      Excellent comfort food! My wife and I have been making something similar to this for some time, but I only recently found this recipe and other peoples comments. I did what some others have done and added a layer of cheese before putting the crackers down and also put a cup of frozen peas in the sour cream and soup mixture. I did two other things I think elevated it to another level, however. First, I used rotisserie chicken which adds a lot more flavor than just boiling chicken. When you work out the price, it usually comes out cheaper and easier to use rotisserie chicken anyways for casseroles. Secondly, I added the butter to the crushed crackers before I added them to to the top. I think this way allows the top to form more of a crust and lets the crackers crisp up a bit more. <br/><br/>Our favorite way to serve it is over fluffy white Jasmine rice with a side of fresh green beans or broccoli. Leftovers are always great, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2014

      This was a very simple and tasty casserole. Will make again and will probably add mushrooms next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Creamy Sour Cream Chicken Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (300 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 618.9
     
    Calories from Fat 419
    67%
    Total Fat 46.6 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 24.2 g
    121%
    Cholesterol 172.5 mg
    57%
    Sodium 1102.2 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 29.7 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes