157 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good & Tasty recipe! I did do some tweaking, though. I cooked the cubed chicken with diced onion and garlic paste. I also added a cup of frozen peas and a small can of mushrooms to the chicken mixture. I shredded some cheddar cheese on top before adding crushed whole wheat ritz crackers. It was very tasty! But I think it would've been bland if I didn't use extra spices.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi T. February 15, 2011

Another wow here! I didn't expect to love it so much, it was just so simple. All the rave reviews convinced me to try it and boy am I glad I did!! Followed others' advice and used more Ritz crackers than called, and a layer of cheese under the crackers, and I added some corn to the chicken for some veggies. A huge hit with all of us!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mumma=^..^= September 30, 2010

This was a decent recipe the first time I made it, but tweaking it really brought it to the next level. I'm giving it three stars because the original recipe was "good" and easy, and it's not fair to rate it after making a bunch of changes. Here's the suggestions hubby made that really helped:<br/><br/>Sauteed some chopped white onion in butter and combined it with herb stuffing to make a "crust" on the bottom of the pan. Salt, pepper and poultry seasoning on the cubed chicken, which I placed on top of the stuffing (raw, because boiling it is an extra, unnecessary step.) Added corn and green beans to the sour cream/soup mixture to give it some veggies and texture. Poured over the chicken and baked until bubbly. Added shredded sharp cheddar in the last few minutes. Let it sit for 10 minutes to thicken. YUM! <br/><br/>Really, it's a totally different recipe at this point I guess, but I would have never thought to make this without a good base. We really liked the sour cream in it! Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faux Chef Lael October 18, 2013

Yum, this is a down-home, kick-up your heels, and enjoy the evening kinda dish. There is nothing that I changed about this, except adding a couple of baby peas into the sour-cream/mushroom soup part. I highly recommend this for it's ease, you probably have all these items on hand, and the taste is well worth the minimal amount of time that it takes to prepare. Make it even easier using parts from a rotisserie chicken. Thanks for posting, KC!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm May 04, 2011

This is my fav casserole of all time.. my whole family loves it.. instead of ritz I use stuffing mix chicken flavor... & I always make fried green beans and biscuits w it..its amazing. People call and ask me for recipe all the time:)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristin316 April 11, 2011

YUM! We loved the Ritz topping! I used half the amount of butter in the topping and it worked out great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
burnz_toast June 19, 2011

We like to eat alot of Chicken and I was looking for something "different" to make for dinner tonight. I have to say, this was so incredibly easy and delicious! My Family loved it!!! Next time, I may add a little of the broccoli florets. Perfect Dish and Delish!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathywalkerstewart April 16, 2011

I love this recipe. I made this last night and I did add a few things but not too much. Instead of boiling the chicken I cubed it and sauteed it with some finely chopped onion and garlic. I also added some shredded cheddar cheese on top of the soup mixture. This is such a good recipe. Its very rich though, but yummy. (we were practicaly licking the pan) I served this with some buttered noodles and brussel sprouts. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us, I will make again as we loved it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 18, 2011

This was a huge hit with my husband and daughter. They each went back for seconds. Plus, how easy can you get? I am trying it again tonight, but I don't have Ritz crackers, so I have mixed a 1/2 batch of cornbread and poured it on the top.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robs415 February 02, 2010

Wow! I'm teaching my sister to cook and thought this would be a great dish to work on. We added broccoli as others suggested and doubled the sour cream and chicken soup. It was amazing and my picky three year old asked for seconds!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nurse Amanda January 28, 2010
Easy Creamy Sour Cream Chicken Casserole