8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful smells were coming out of my kitchen when I walked in the door after work, even my son said, "Oh man, that smells good!" We all liked this a lot and it mixed up so quick I was able to throw it in the crockpot when I came home for lunch. Originally was going to give it 4 stars because my 6 year olds were not really crazy about the spice, but I decided on a 5 star rating when I realized that I could combine the leftovers with a couple of cans of cream of chicken soup and more salsa and chicken broth and make a wonderful santa fe chicken soup. The leftovers sound almost better than the original dish. This will be a staple recipe at our house. Thanks much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimex May 22, 2003

Wonderful. My husband actually threw this together today. He forgot to add the second 1/2 cup of salsa on top, so it was very mild.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dragonbaby March 16, 2003

I've been on a crock pot kick lately and had to try this recipe. It was delicious! Loved the sauce especially served over a hot bed of rice! Dear BF really enjoyed this one! I did add a small can of diced green chilies for some heat and flavor. Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda Mariko January 28, 2013

This is great!! Every family member loved it (which is rare). I used picante sauce instead of salsa ( just a personal preference).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris March 27, 2012

A really easy and tasty meal, but I agree with Skipp's kitchen that the result was a bit soupy. I just cooked up some onions and red peppers and added them at the end, which bulked it up nicely, plus added extra vitamins! I also added some chipotle sauce for added spice and a smoky flavour. All in all, a lovely meal, definitely a keeper. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristie_oliver January 18, 2010

We had it over rice. It would have been good with some onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rainbow.rubatino March 05, 2009

I don't know if I did something wrong or not, but I made this and it got kind of Soupy! I didn't quite picture it being Soupy, but it was outstanding nonetheless! My husband said it was the best chicken I ever made! Definate Keeper in my house!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skipp's Kitchen October 31, 2007

This was great! We wrapped ours up in warm, flour tortillas and added cheese and taco type toppings! Yum! MAKE SURE YOU REMEMBER TO RINSE THE BEANS THOUGH! I forgot this important step and our dish was tasty but had a very un-appetizing color! Purple slop is what my daughter called it. We all called it good though! Easy to adapt to however your family wants to eat it...nestled in warm flour tortillas, with tortilla chips for a santa fe nacho, or with crushed doritos! Yummy and very simple!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fonegirl January 24, 2006
Easy Creamy Santa Fe Chicken (Crock Pot)