9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, we recently were in Phoenix and found a great New Orleans restraunt (Pappedauex?). LOVE IT. THIS IS OUTSTANDING!!!!! My family loved it my 16 year old son said to make it next time his friends come over. I had only a 1 lb bag of crayfish (and needed to double it). I doubled all the ingrediants and then added a pound of shrimp. As we like our food "spicy" I doubled the cayan and added a 1/2 a diced raw jalepeno to the veggies while sauting. This will be a new "staple" in our house (whenver I can find the crayfish). Thanks Luby

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeromesherri January 30, 2007

Being born and raised in Louisiana and on Cajun Cuisine, it takes a really good recipe for me to write a review. Talk about easy. I cheated and bought the trilogy of vegetables so I didn't have to do the chopping so from start to finish, this recipe took only about 30 minutes. Rice was cooking while I was preparing this. And, it was even more delicious than it was easy. I used leftover crawfish from our Good Friday crawfish boil so I eased up on the seasonings, but I will use this over and over again. Next, I think I will try it with shrimp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staceytz23 April 07, 2015

A TEN STAR recipe for sure!!!<br/>This is a fantastic recipe....it is almost idetical to my late sister's mother-in-law's recipe. Effie was Cajun and raised a large family with wonderful recipes like this. My sister sometimes "extended" the recipe with crabmeat or shrimp, and usually added a Tbls of tomato paste or ketchup to the sauce. She used Tony Chacere's seasoning (of course!!!), & hot sauce to taste. Yummmmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JKBerney June 13, 2014

This was REALLY good and easy. Really Really Good!!! Thanx!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
F. Minter August 31, 2008

With "leftovers" from our Memorial Day crawfish boil, this was my first attempt at etouffee. My family LOVED it! I used Tony Cachere's seasonings instead and some chicken broth when I added the crawfish (extra juice to soak up with garlic bread). We also tried putting this over grilled trout and redfish - WOW!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Labay June 01, 2008

Awesome recipe! I live in SW Louisiana and have many etouffee recipes. This is the best as well as easiest! I had a crowd for supper so I used 4 lbs of crawfish and 4 times everything else and still was perfect. As a timesaver I used the chopped onion mix from Sam's Club and Tony's Seasoning to make it even easier. Everyone loved and asked for the recipe -- the highest compliment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wlmama April 12, 2008

Believe it or not this is the first dinner I haver ever cooked that was not a frozen pizza or ravioli. This is simple and delicious. My whole family loved it. I highly recomend it. I just follwed the recipe the way it is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
voucherthedog June 11, 2007

My family and I went crazy over this recipe! Even my 3 year old daughter kept saying "Thank you for this nice food!" It is absolutely delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meggerz March 02, 2006

I wish I could give this 10 stars. I can't believe it's never been reviewed! For any of you out there that are skeptical about making this dish, don't be. It's extremely easy and absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and I wouldn't change a single thing. The only advice I can give is to stir quite frequently while simmering. I can't tell you all how great this is. Try it. You will not be disappointed. Thanks for a great recipe, Luby. This is sure to become a staple in our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindi Bunch December 28, 2004
Easy Crawfish Etouffee