7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a very tasty and rich comfort food dish. I could not find cube steaks at my local grocer, so I substituted beef top round cutlets. The meat was tender with an intensely beefy, thick gravy. I used 2 tsp. Kitchen Bouquet but should have only used 1 tsp., as it made the gravy too salty for DH and my taste. DD enjoyed it emensely. She couldn't shovel it into her little, newly teeth-populated mouth fast enough, gobbling up every last bit. I served it over rice with a side of roasted asparagus. This dish is definitely easy to prepare but not as "quick" as the recipe title implies. Thanks for sharing! (Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #38)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaStewartWanabe March 10, 2010

This was good, but after simmering for over an hour, my steaks were still a tough (needed a knife to cut them). I added 1 tsp of the kitchen bouquet; never used it before so I wasn't sure what it was supposed to add as far as flavor wise (salty, smokey, etc.) Served over buttered noodles (would have preferred potatoes but 4yr DS doesn't eat them and didn't want to make extra food). Made for Cookbook Tag March 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH March 08, 2010

My husband and I loved this recipe. It was delicious. The gravy was very good on the mashed potatoes. Thank you !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherry & Carl December 19, 2009

The cooking takes awhile, but there's very little work involved. I left out the Kitchen Bouquet, which I don't care for. It really didn't need it. Nice tender meat. Note: This is country STYLE steak, which is not the same thing as country FRIED steak. They are very different dishes, with different cooking methods.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl November 09, 2009

This was easy to make, but didn't turn out the way I thought it would taste. I'd cook the onions while the meat is browning, so that they are nice and tender in the gravy. My onions must have been very "thick", because they weren't tender after 1 1/2 hours of cooking. I was expecting a taste more like country fried steak, but as SB6 pointed out in her zmail in response to my review, that is not what she intended with this recipe. A side of sauteed mushrooms really compliments this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom November 09, 2009

This recipe was really good. The steaks were so tender and tasted great. I made mashed potatoes with them so I did make extra gravy. I did not use the Kitchen Bouquet in it, cause I could not find it, but it was still delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carmenb September 12, 2009

Yummy! I made this as directed and really enjoyed the simplicity and the great taste. Thanks SB6 for a nice 'comfort' meal. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme August 23, 2009
Easy Country Style Steak