Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Country Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Country Gravy

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 22, 2013

      I LOVE all your recipes and would like to come over for an extended stay! Just kidding. This is a great recipe for me. I am new to country gravy because where I grew up, we never had it-at home or in restaurants. I like the fact you don't have use grease from meat to make this gravy and it is very good. It came out nice and my family liked it. I added a little more milk to mine because it was thick but this is a good recipe! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      Great recipe! You can also add cooked up ground sausage and 1/8-1/4 tsp. italian seasoning and it will taste even truer to the gravy you get on your biscuits in the restaurants. This extra little add on can't be beat! Thanks again, Kittencal We sure LOVE your eecipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      This was my first attempt at making gravy without sausage and it turned out well! I used the bacon grease leftover from cooking my bacon in place of the oil. It gave the gravy great flavor! I should have listened to the reviews and cut this in half... it was way too much gravy for my one package of biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      This was pretty good, though I will say it made way too much just for mashed potatoes. Next time I would cut it in half. Once it browns and you add the milk (I added the milk 1 c at a time), be ready to stir immediately. It thickens and starts to stick and you need to be ready to add more very quickly so it won't burn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      This is not the worst recipie ive had, however, if you are used to the typical prepackaged gravy this is not going to cut it. I had to had a lot of pepper to make it taste good. But, if your into the plain home gravy its not bad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      This is the best scratch country gravy recipe I've ever made. It was the easiest recipe I've ever made from scratch. It reminded me of my Granny's gravy recipe. Anyone and everyone who likes gravy should try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      Horrible. The instructions weren't especially helpful. Might be good to go back and add detail like when and how the mixture is supposed to thicken. Might also like to specify what you mean by browning - like making caramel, there are shades of brown and which one you stop at is important. Light brown? Dark brown? Medium brown? Either way, the result tasted like reduced cardboard with milk, and adding heaps of salt and pepper is done more to mask the lack of flavor than enhance it. I'm typically never this negative about a review, but this recipe was unnecessarily vague (incomplete/unhelpful recipe instructions) and the result was shameful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Great recipe. I made this to top #124909 Marlboro Country Chicken Fried Steak. Perfect topping with great flavor. Next I think I’ll try this over some homemade biscuits for breakfast. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      Really easy, and as mild or as spicy as you like, depending on how much black pepper you add. I used this as the basis for Cheesy Broccoli Soup, since I try to avoid using packaged prepared mixes if I can help it. No need for country gravy mix packets ever again, with this easy and quick recipe around! Thanks, Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Very nice, and I had mine over chicken fried cube steak.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      Great tasting gravy...made to go over biscuits. Love all the pepper!!! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      I made this gravy to put over biscuits and it was so good. I usually make sausage gravy but tried this recipe for a change of pace. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      I used your gravy recipe in Chicken Fried Steak With Cream Gravy. I was a little nervous as I had not made a cream gravy from scratch before, but this was so easy. My gravy came out more golden in color than in the picture that is posted, but I followed your directions to a T and it was very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      YUMMY! I made this gravy to go on top of my biscuits for breakfast. I really like it. I'm going to put the rest in the fridge and see if I can reheat it to go over chicken tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      I usually make gravy with broth, but DH has been wanting a milk gravy lately. This is a simple and tasty recipe - especially with lots of black pepper. Thanks, Kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Country Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (197 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 482.3
     
    Calories from Fat 327
    67%
    Total Fat 36.4 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 9.1 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 34.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 120.0 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 10.4 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes