10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OMG, Kittencal, you did it again. This was THE BEST cinnamon quick bread I have ever had! I was a little nervous after the one bad review that the cinnamon would be too heavy but I still followed the directions as written and it was PERFECT. Your recipes have given my family the impression that I know how to cook, lol. The topping that stayed on the top of the pan was crunchy and sweet, the streuseling did not run through the batter at all, just made a nice swirl of sugar and cinnamon. The bread was moist and dense as a quick bread should be and looked nothing like chocolate cake, just yellow bread with cinnamon swirls. I used your pan release mixture http://www.recipezaar.com/78579 and it didn't stick to the pan. They gobbled it up! Thanks!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elainia December 08, 2007

I made this and enjoyed it very much I ran out of buttermilk so I added 1 big tablespoon of thick vanilla yogurt as well. To solve the problem everyone was having with the topping I used a fork and kinda just pushed it into the batter, It made a center of topping right along the middle of the loaf.MMM good. Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda February 14, 2012

Very tasty and easy to make. I halved the recipe, but used the full amount of topping. I also substituted nutmeg for the cinnamon and added a handful of fresh blueberries I needed to use up. The result were lovely. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merron-iru kami September 19, 2011

This is superb! I've made it twice this week alone.Followed the directions exactly, as I couldn't find any way to improve on this wonderful loaf of goodness! Thanks so much Kitten, for another winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER February 21, 2011

I followed your recipe to the letter. Even the suggestion on doubling the topping. Can never have enough can we? Well like all of your goodies.. this worked great. Tasted better, and I didnt have to wait for anything to rise. I made this this morning because I dreamt of my grands, this is nearly exact like hers.. So thanks a ton!!!! I too used your pan release formula and the bread fell out into the cake plate.. lol I did when everything was still warm from the oven, was to drizzle some left over cream cheese icing over the loaf as it cooled. Added a different variety to flavors.. Excellent recipe KittenCal. ty ty ty ty!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WyomingMoonDust June 10, 2009

YUM! fast, easy and good! I used yogurt instead of buttermilk and 1/2 cup sugar. i will definitely make again. The reason for 4 out of 5 stars is that as good as it was it was not amazing, but then again, most things amazing are not fast and easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoe.s.true September 18, 2008

This was heavier than I expected it to be and I can't figure out why as I followed the instructions to the letter. Rose well, but the streusel kind of melted into the batter rather than running through it creating a dark bread (my kids thought I'd made chocolate cake). Good, rich flavour, but heavy texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens May 04, 2006

I 1/4 used granulated brown sugar in the topping & 1/4 regular sugar. very good. my son who loves cinnamon loved this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica Costello January 04, 2006

Very yummy! I think I will only put 1 tsp of cinnamon in the batter next time though so that the streusel topping doesn't get "lost". Also, mixing in some chopped walnuts in the topping would be good! It was a big hit at my church gathering!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kater March 08, 2004

Quick and easy. I used my Silicone Loaf Pan. The topping melted over the edge of the pan a bit, so I placed a cookie sheet on the lower rack. This happened because alot of it stayed on the top. I didn't have much luck cutting the topping into the batter! Next time I think I will layer the batter, and topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jan in Waterloo, ON October 22, 2003
Easy Cinnamon Swirl Quick Bread