27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

my eleven year old and my four year old daughters made this wonderful cake,it was the best chocolate cake we have ever tasted,your mother should have won an award for this one!!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sam30 January 17, 2003

This is a really good cake. It came out REALLY dense though. Not that that's a bad thing.. I was just expecting more of a fluffy cake, since I was using this recipe for a birthday. This really is more like a cookie disguised as a cake. I thought I could maybe try this as a layer cake, and that didn't turn out well since it was so dense, the layers just kind of slid off, haha. It was still really tasty anyway, so I can't really complain! I did a few changes.. I ran out of cocoa so I left that out of the recipe, and it was still great without it, and still very rich from the chocolate chips (even though I cut that amount in half as well!) I also cut down both sugars to 3/4 cups each as suggested, and I added a splash of vanilla. All in all, it was still a success. I'm sure I'll make this again sometime. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu May 28, 2007

This has a flavor like a fluffy, gooey chocolate chip cookie, particularly as it doesn't contain milk like most cakes do. It would be good with vanilla ice cream. I have seen variations that also call for adding dates. Now that I've tried this version, I can see how the dates would make it even richer and gooier. It's yummy as is, too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nose March 30, 2007

I halved the recipe and made them as muffins/cupcakes. I topped them with a few extra chocolate chips. An easy and yummy recipe. I like that it has oatmeal in it and next time I will substitute apple sauce for the butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmkga July 27, 2013

Sorry, this did not go over well here. Kids didn't even like it. Seriously lacking in flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
razzintaz May 04, 2013

Hit the spot! Quick and easy. DH will love having this as a snack in his lunch. I only used 3/4 cup of both brown and white sugar and added a t. of vanilla.It was still really rich and tasted great topped with vanilla ice cream. Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview April 01, 2013

This is excellent. I made it last minute for a friends birthday because I had all the ingredients on hand. Made it exactly per the recipe and it turned out perfect. Super moist and chocolatey, but not too heavy like a brownie. I can't really describe why it's so good...it's almost like the best giant chocolate chocolate chip muffin you ever had. It's that moist and fluffy. YUM. No frosting or extras needed, although I agree it would look really pretty with some powdered sugar dusted on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bleachRN November 19, 2012

Moist, dense cake. Like a giant soft oatmeal chocolate chip cookie. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla because that is an important ingredient in cc cookies. Excellent. We had chocolate buttercream on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leithead September 07, 2012

What a wonderful cake - and easy to make, too! The brown sugar gives a comfort food flavor that just can't be beat! It is just right, not only in taste, but also in texture.Thanks for sharing this keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wineaux June 12, 2011

Yum, yum, yum! I'm glad I read the reviews since people were having problems with it being dense. I added the egg yolks and then at the end right before the choc. Chips I added the whites (after whipping them for a minute)and mine turned out great! I also added about 1/4 cup more choc. Chips, which ended up being too much, and a splash of vanilla extract, 'cause I like the flavor it gives. No frosting needed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katiiee May 16, 2011
Easy Chocolate Chip Cake