Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Chocolate Chip Cake

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2003

      my eleven year old and my four year old daughters made this wonderful cake,it was the best chocolate cake we have ever tasted,your mother should have won an award for this one!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      This is a really good cake. It came out REALLY dense though. Not that that's a bad thing.. I was just expecting more of a fluffy cake, since I was using this recipe for a birthday. This really is more like a cookie disguised as a cake. I thought I could maybe try this as a layer cake, and that didn't turn out well since it was so dense, the layers just kind of slid off, haha. It was still really tasty anyway, so I can't really complain! I did a few changes.. I ran out of cocoa so I left that out of the recipe, and it was still great without it, and still very rich from the chocolate chips (even though I cut that amount in half as well!) I also cut down both sugars to 3/4 cups each as suggested, and I added a splash of vanilla. All in all, it was still a success. I'm sure I'll make this again sometime. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      This has a flavor like a fluffy, gooey chocolate chip cookie, particularly as it doesn't contain milk like most cakes do. It would be good with vanilla ice cream. I have seen variations that also call for adding dates. Now that I've tried this version, I can see how the dates would make it even richer and gooier. It's yummy as is, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      I halved the recipe and made them as muffins/cupcakes. I topped them with a few extra chocolate chips. An easy and yummy recipe. I like that it has oatmeal in it and next time I will substitute apple sauce for the butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      Sorry, this did not go over well here. Kids didn't even like it. Seriously lacking in flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      Hit the spot! Quick and easy. DH will love having this as a snack in his lunch. I only used 3/4 cup of both brown and white sugar and added a t. of vanilla.It was still really rich and tasted great topped with vanilla ice cream. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      This is excellent. I made it last minute for a friends birthday because I had all the ingredients on hand. Made it exactly per the recipe and it turned out perfect. Super moist and chocolatey, but not too heavy like a brownie. I can't really describe why it's so good...it's almost like the best giant chocolate chocolate chip muffin you ever had. It's that moist and fluffy. YUM. No frosting or extras needed, although I agree it would look really pretty with some powdered sugar dusted on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2012

      Moist, dense cake. Like a giant soft oatmeal chocolate chip cookie. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla because that is an important ingredient in cc cookies. Excellent. We had chocolate buttercream on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      What a wonderful cake - and easy to make, too! The brown sugar gives a comfort food flavor that just can't be beat! It is just right, not only in taste, but also in texture.Thanks for sharing this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      Yum, yum, yum! I'm glad I read the reviews since people were having problems with it being dense. I added the egg yolks and then at the end right before the choc. Chips I added the whites (after whipping them for a minute)and mine turned out great! I also added about 1/4 cup more choc. Chips, which ended up being too much, and a splash of vanilla extract, 'cause I like the flavor it gives. No frosting needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      I was craving my mother's chocolate chip cake, and since I couldn't find her recipe, I decided to try this one instead, but in the end I was iffy about it. Positives: it's a very moist cake, and I really like the idea of including oatmeal in the batter. Negatives: the cake itself isn't very flavorful, yet the chocolate chips don't really shine through either. So, I was personally disappointed in the way it turned out, because I wanted a rich chocolatey flavor. Having said that, the people I served it to really seemed to enjoy it, so maybe it's just suffering from being compared to my memories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      The cake tastes wonderfully old fashioned!! Like Grandma spent a whole afternoon crafting something warm and comforting. It was hearty, rich and decadent. I cooked mine in a 13x9 pan and it was done 10 minutes sooner than the receipe indicated, so check the cake before the allotted time in the over. I also substituted hot chocolate mix for the cocao (because I had to) and it made it wonderfully creamy! LOVED IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      WOW this was so easy!!! I used a different pan, but it turned out beautifully all the same. ;) I love the idea of using oatmeal and I'd never made a from-scratch chocolate cake prior to this! NOW I think I'll be making one at least once a month! LOVE LOVE LOVE it!! Next time, I think I'll sprinkle some powdered sugar on the top to make it even prettier! THANKS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      This was okay...I was hoping for it to be better, but it could be my fault. I used half choc and half white chips. :) Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      Wow! I loved it! I made it exactly as described and everyone loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      my kids loved it! I cut down the sugar a little....perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      Super easy to make! I brought it to work for my boss' birthday and everyone loved it! I put whipped chocolate frosting on it and it was wonderful. Thanks for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      I mixed in the entire bag of chocolate chips, then added an additional half cup on top. I would like to try this with pecans or walnuts next time too. I omitted the salt because I had to use salted butter, and I do not feel it was missing anything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      This cake is awesome! So easy to make and so moist! I added a chocolate glaze to the top but it really doesn't need it - next time I will make it without. Thanks for sharing your mother's special recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      Very nice. Loved this cake. I went light on the chocolate chips (family preference, even with cookies), and added some chopped nuts to the batter. On top, along with the chips, I sprinkled some coconut flakes. It came great. Definitely going to make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Chocolate Chip Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 409.6
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    30%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 268.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.6 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 50.0 g
    200%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes