18 Reviews

Great recipe! I recently rediscovered this easy and tasty recipe. I use cream of chicken soup instead of cream of potato, but any cream soup will work. I also add a can of mushrooms, sauted(did I spell that right?) onions, a touch of garlic powder and a dash of oregano.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marla in California August 23, 2002

What a wonderful, quick meal! Like other reviewers before me, I didn't use the cream of potato soup--not because of any preferences, but because I had none in my pantry. Instead I threw caution to the wind and added a never-before-tried can of Creamy Mushroom Soup! Perfect! The flavor was delicious. It may be helpful to note here that this entire pie was nearly devoured in one fell swoop by my husband, so if you have more than 2 or 3 people to feed, I'd double this and make two. Thanks, Ind. Nurse, for a great recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fauve October 26, 2002

I make this pretty much same recipe all the time, except i use cream of chicken soup, and butter the crust at the last 5 min of cooking. It is VERY YUMMY!!! a family fav!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebM October 23, 2002

Quick and easy! I made this exactly as posted except I used Cream of Chicken soup instead of potato. My husband thought it could have been a little more "soupy" so next time I may add a bit of milk. I really enjoyed this--thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * February 23, 2004

Thank you for such a good and easy recipe.Even with low fat soup and reduced fat Bisquick it was really tasty. It's one we will definately have often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie September 27, 2003

Wow, this is a great easy meal! Everyone went crazy over it and I am almost embarrassed to admit that my family said it was almost as good as my homemade pot pie, which takes much longer to make! I doubled the recipe and used a 9 x 13 inch pan. I also used peas and carrots for the veggies and used 3 cups of them and 3 cups of chicken, because that is what I had. I didn't have any cream of potato, so I used one can of cream of chicken and one can of cream of mushroom. I know it seems like I changed it around a lot, but that is what is so great about this recipe...you can use what you have on hand! I will be making this again...it was so easy and quick to do after being at work all day! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= September 16, 2003

Well, I'm not going to rate this cause I made a huge change. It was still good, but a major change. For the first time in a long time, I didn't have milk on hand. I'd just made a glass of strawberry milk (much better than wine in my opinion) with the last of the milk on hand, when I decided to start dinner. So I used...chicken broth. For the chicken mixture and the crust. I swear I'm not a noobie cook. Just a lazy one who didn't want to put on shoes and go uptown.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeahBurgoon August 26, 2011

Made this last night for dinner for the family. My picky son liked it, but I thought it had WAY to much crust and not enough filling. I followed the recipe exactly and even used a little more chicken (what I had on hand). Surely needed to be more "soupy"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blakey May 11, 2010

I have made this recipe several times with cream of potato soup(as the recipe states). Last night I tried it with cream of chicken (that is all that I had in the pantry). That said, I have to agree with another reviewer who said that the cream of potato soup is the key difference in this recipe. My husband noticed the difference immediatly. The potato soup seems to make it creamier and richer.It adds a distinctly different flavor to the dish. It wasn't bad with the cream of chicken, but my family really likes it better with the cream of potato. I will stick to the recipe as stated from now on, and make sure that I always have cream of potato soup on hand since my family really loves this recipe, and I love the fact that I can have a hot and delicious dinner on the table in no time flat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M&M's Mommy January 03, 2010

Quick, easy and delicious. The Cream of Potato Soup is well worth the trip to the store if you don't have it on hand. I don't recommend substitutions; this is the key ingredient that distinguishes it from the other quick pot pie recipes out there. I made it for a church potluck and it got RAVE reviews!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chery Pie February 15, 2009
Easy Chicken Pot Pie