Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Chicken-Mushroom and Rice Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Chicken-Mushroom and Rice Casserole

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 04, 2011

      Super easy and good tasting recipe. Even my hubby liked it, he is not a fan of chicken. I added about a cup of carrots and broccoli to it. I only had Romano cheese in the house and used wild rice. Turned out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      Kittencal, your flavor combinations are really good in your recipes! I think one of the secrets is the little bit of fresh parmesan added to most recipes-and for that technique I will be eternally grateful. This was outstanding in ease of preparation and taste. I don't like canned mushrooms, so I left them out-other than that, I followed exact directions. Next time I might add fresh sauteed mushrooms, but it was still great without them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2014

      This was tasty and a great comfort food casserole. I had to omit a few ingredients due to what I had on had; water chestnuts and celery (I missed all the crunch) and had to sub an italian white cheese blend for the parmesan (missed the wonderful tang of parm). All that said, this was still very good and would have been amazing with the missing ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2014

      This must have been good. My husband just had seconds. Since I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, I had to make some adjustments. I used one can of organic semi-condensed mushroom soup and a half can of chicken stock. I used some sunflower seeds instead of water chestnuts. As another reviewer recommended, I sautéed some fresh mushrooms with the onion in olive oil. I added a little tarragon to the sautéed mushrooms. I used brown rice instead of white. I didn?t have celery, so I threw in some frozen peas. I didn?t have cornflakes, so I topped it with Parmesan and some panko breadcrumbs mixed with melted butter. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2013

      My 10-year-old daughter wanted to make dinner last night. We found this recipe and decided to try it. It was pretty easy and very tasty. We loved the crunch and the complex flavors. We don't like canned mushrooms, so we left them out. Next time, we might add fresh sauteed mushrooms, but it was still great without them. We reduced the mayo to 1/3 cup. We were going to leave it out, but we tasted it before we put it in the pan and decided that we needed it. We opted to add the cayenne and topped it with corn flakes. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      Overall very good and easy to prepare. I made a few changes: used wild rice blend and only one can of soup with a half can of milk. Fresh mushrooms instead of canned which I sauteed in olive oil with the onions, celery and 2 cloves of finely chopped garlic. My hubby likes heat in his food so I added about 1 Tbsp Pepper Palace Sauce Maker's Reserve. Left out the cheddar at the end to avoid clashing flavors. Definitely thumbs up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2012

      I used fresh mushrooms and used 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can cream of celery. But the best change was I replaced the water chestnuts with sliced almonds. Made each bite still have a little crunch and I like the taste better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      I thought the flavor was very good, however it was a little to saucy for my taste. I will make it again for sure, but will add more veggies, maybe broccoli or sprouts. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      I only had 1 cup of rice on hand, so i added a cup of cornflakes into the mix. Also skipped the celery since the kids won't eat it. Both DH and I liked it, so I'll be making it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      This was really good, I used 98% FF Cream of mushroom soup and low fat mayo and the family loved it. I like the water chestnuts it gave it a nice crunch. The seasoning was a little bland but I will play around with that, this recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      This was very easy to prepare, and tasted really good. The only changes I made were to use un-cooked minute rice, turkey instead of chicken because that's what I had left-over and 1 can each of cream of mushroom and cream of chicken instead of 2 cans of cream of mushroom. Loved the crunch in the casserole. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

    • on December 05, 2006

      This was pretty good. I added a little bit of milk to it to thin it out a little and omitted the cayenne pepper (personal preferance) but it was still pretty good and easy. I cooked the onions with the chicken in a little olive oil then added it to the rest of the ingredients. I loved the little bit of crunch in this dish from the water chestnuts and the celery. Thank's Kitten!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2006

    • on July 04, 2006

      This was wonderful. I had everything on hand that it called for and was oh so easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Chicken-Mushroom and Rice Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (267 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 454.6
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    44%
    Total Fat 22.5 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 59.9 mg
    19%
    Sodium 1247.3 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 23.8 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes