17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

You know, this was really good! I made it because I had everything on hand and didn't feel like going to the store, and I was really surprised, it just seems so basic, but the flavor was great!! I served it with mashed potatoes and I did thicken the broth with the soup... YUMMY! thanks! I will make this again for sure!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna August 08, 2002

This was super! Everyone loved it, including the kids. They all especially raved about the potatoes and onions. I did not have carrots and because I used a six pound chicken, there was no room around it to put in the green beans...but I served the chicken and potatoes with a salad and it worked out just fine. Did not make the gravy, but the chicken was so moist, for the first time we actually did not need gravy. This took 5 hours on low in my insane crock pot (Rival 6 1/2 qt.), so it was done much sooner than expected...a good thing around here :) Thanks for sharing...I definitely did not want to use the oven in this heat to roast a chicken!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= August 28, 2002

It was very good and I added my fresh herbs.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage September 04, 2002

Very easy and good, although next time I make it, I may marinate the chicken overnight to infuse more flavor into it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma535 September 23, 2002

Very good chicken!!! I used skinless chicken thighs, potatoes, onions, and carrots. The chicken fell off of the bone when I went to take it out of the crockpot! I seasoned this with Emeril Legasse original spice mix. Fantastic! Thanks for the keeper!!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gardenz September 09, 2002

This way to easy and way to good....YUMMY. I did not add the green beans. Chicken was very tender it did fall off the bones. We realy liked it very much Thank You very much for a new recipe to have.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda September 03, 2002

Very good and so easy! The only thing I would do differently next time (and there WILL be a next time) is add a bit of dry onion soup mix to the veggies before I put in the chicken because there wasn't a lot of flavor to them and I ended up with veggies swimming in water. But the chicken was quite tasty and moist and even my daughter asked for seconds. Leftovers for dinner tomorrow! YAY! Gotta love that!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2girlz August 16, 2005

MMMM, this was good. Next time I will not put the carrots in with it becuase the "chicken goo" got stuck to them. Very good recipe, Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ckcarruth May 08, 2003

This was really great! I had never made a whole chicken before and I was surprised at how yummy it turned out. The chicken definitely fell apart. The vegetables didn't have "great" flavor (in my opinion) but the meal was good anyway.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lubie December 05, 2002

Did not have a whole chicken, used frozen breast, added organic mushroom soup, Mrs. Dash and pepper. Easy, healthy family pleasing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol B. April 02, 2014
Easy Chicken in the Crock Pot