13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was wonderful!! I upped the garlic to 4-5 cloves, and served over angel hair pasta. I think next time I might add an extra can of tomatoes so that there is more sauce for the pasta. Great dish...simple and very, very tasty!! Thanks! ~Manda

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda May 13, 2002

Simple and smelled really good. I omitted the tomatoe paste and cut the olive oil in half. I also added red peppers and left out the mushrooms. Served over brown rice. The whole family like this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AA in Ohio March 15, 2010

This is very good and easy which I always love. It smelled so wonderful while cooking. I did add a few stalks of celery and halved the olive oil. Sadly my mushrooms were not looking great so I didn't use them but will next time. I planned to throw in a few carrots but forgot so again I will next time. I did have to add at least a cup of water to thin the sauce. You could add chicken broth which would be nice. I baked it in the oven for about an hour instead of on top of the stove. It was nice served with rice but next time I will opt for noodles or spaghetti. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV September 12, 2009

Very flavorful and reliable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheila.lehr March 10, 2013

It's a lot of chopping, but other than that, really easy! I used 2.5 lbs. boneless, skinless chicken thighs cut into large chunks and halved the rest of the recipe. Left out the tomato paste and added two fresh, chopped tomatoes in addition to the canned. Served it in a bowl alongside some polenta. Excellent comfort food. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
St. Louie Suzie June 06, 2010

Definitely an easy recipe. I didn't need much oil as I used a non-stick pan. After browning the meat, I finished it off in the crock pot (low for 4 hours). I added a bay leaf and a dash of basil too. The kids were not thrilled, but this was their first time having cacciatore. I thought it was quite good. The leftovers the next day were definitely better in my opinion. Thx for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word May 10, 2010

Great and easy. Used fresh tomatoes and left out the mushrooms, but followed recipe otherwise. Served over pasta and it was delicious. Will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
909692 September 16, 2009

This qualifies for twice 5 stars. Made it just like it says, it turned out perfect and DH and I loved it!!!! Thanks so much for the receipe. More receipes, please. Thanks, Miss Virginia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angelcook January 05, 2009

Great recipe, easy to make and lots of flavor! Dh said "lets have this again soon".Thanks Virginia!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz October 17, 2008

Great recipe! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HollyLQuinn September 01, 2008
Easy Chicken Cacciatore