19 Reviews

Excellent meal!! I will be making this alot from now on, we all enjoyed this casserole very much!! It was so easy to prepare and only took a few minutes which was even better. I cooked my chicken breasts in the microwave on each side for 5 minutes, then cooked my broccli in the microwave too. Threw everything in a casserole dish and dinner was done shortly after. Great taste, great meal, thanks!!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana-MMH September 20, 2002

I made this up a few nights ago, and it was a big hit. I started off with fresh s/b breasts; I just cubed them up and browned them in some olive oil and garlic, then put them in the bottom of my casserole dish. While I was cooking the chicken, I did the broccoli in the microwave. I also used cream of mushroom soup (the only kind I had on hand), and was quite generous with the cheddar cheese covering. The recipe doesn't state whether or not to use fresh or dried breadcrumbs, so I used Italian-seasoned dried, which worked well and tasted great. Dinner was delicious! This was easy to prepare, even though I didn't have cooked chicken already on hand, and I will definitely make it again. I also think this would be a wonderful dish if made with leftover cooked turkey. Thanks for sharing this, Christina.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie November 19, 2002

This is a great base recipe. I double everything, using 1 cr. of mushroom and 1 cr. of chicken soup. If you have evaporated milk to use it really raises the flavor. Here are some simple instructions to pep up the flavor. Melt 2 T butter in a covered dish with 2-3 crushed cloves of garlic or diced onion, in the microwave. Once melted, sprinkle with italian seasoning and add fresh broccoli. Cook for 4 minutes in the microwave until tender. Stir broccoli to distribute the butter and spices. Spread in the bottom of a 9x13 pan, add chicken. Assemble as usual. In same microwave dish (without cleaning) melt 1 T butter. Add breadcrumbs and sprinkle over prepared dish.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarylandMomof3 April 02, 2011

Add a little nutmeg and some almonds, and you have a great shortcut divan. It's healthier without the cream other recipes call for, and I usually omit the soup element and whip up a roux with flour and milk, and throw some mushrooms and chicken stock in there and add that instead, or use one of the cream-of-soup substitutes from this site. It's a great way to use up that monster bag of broccoli from the warehouse store and is really fast to throw together. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyJenn August 18, 2009

So easy and so darn good! My grandkids went crazy over this. My littlest one had 2 helpings! I doubled the recipe and used cream of mushroom soup and regular chopped frozen broccoli, thawed and squeezed dry. Came out just the way I thought it would and we all enjoyed it so much! I am keeping this recipe in a safe place so I can make it again! Thanks for sharing Graybert!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Charlee August 21, 2008

This is a great recipe that I used to make long ago. The only adjustment I made was to use shredded vs. cubed chicken. I like the texture better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
commercesd March 05, 2014

Definitely quick and easy. Perfect to use up leftover chicken. I did add some chopped onion to this, but in the end, although it was good, still was a bit bland. Next time I will be sure to add some extra herbs/spices. One reviewer mentioned curry powder, which sounds good. I think thyme and rosemary would be good as well. All in all, it's a nice quick meal. Thanx for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* January 26, 2011

Really good and easy to make! I also added cream of mushroom soup and definitely added extra extra chedder cheese for the kids!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpp1964 June 26, 2010

A quick and easy recipe. I added a teaspoon of curry to the soup and milk mixture for a little extra flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EstherA February 12, 2009

I was looking for something new, quick and fairly healthy when I came upon this recipe. I have never tried this before but my son and I are big chicken and broccoli lovers so I thought... Why not? Well, what a hit! My son ate 2 huge helpings and asked me to make this again. After reading some of the reviews, I did make a few changes. I had some fresh mushrooms I needed to use up so I just chopped them up with some onion and garlic (I add this to pretty much everything) and sauted in a little olive oil and added it to the chicken and broccli. I also used both the cream of broccli and cream of mushroom soups and used about 1/2 - 3/4 cup of milk to make it the right consistancy. It was wonderful and a dish I will make again and again. Thank you for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stormshiver April 19, 2008
Easy Chicken and Broccoli Divan