10 Reviews

This was quick and easy and so yummy. The only bad thing was I ate most of it myself! LOL I had all the ingreds. on hand and the only hard part was waiting for it to chill, needless to say, mine didn't make it overnight. Thanks Kitten for your great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Paula February 02, 2008

My mom asked me to make this for dessert one Thanksgiving as it was a childhood favorite of hers. When she couldn't find her mother's recipe we started searching the internet for one that was the same and thankfully found this! This recipe is so simple and delicious! I'm kind of hurt she never made it for me growing up - she was holding out on me! Now I make it all the time. The only thing I change is that I add a bit more butter to the crushed graham crackers as I like my crust a little harder, but that's just personal opinion. Everything about this recipe is amazing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bwild92 April 21, 2014

This was my absolutely favourite dessert when I was growing up. However, my Mom always made it with frozen cherries instead of pie filling and it was never the same with the latter that I've never been able to find until now. Hence I'm giving this recipe a try again with a more from scratch topping. If you want to try it, and can find some some frozen cherries (sour/cooking variety) thaw them and then ensure all are pitted while being careful to preserve any juice. Drain the juice off and supplement with water to make 1 cup of liquid. Add 3/4 cup of white granulated sugar to the liquid. Boil and thicken into syrup using your favourite method (I use 2 tbsp of cornstarch liquified with minimal amount of water and then added to the syrup as soon as it is at a full rolling boil). Add the drained cherries to the syrup and cool before topping the cheesecake. (If you do this step first and refrigerate while making the rest of the recipe works well)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff M. October 12, 2013

I've been making this since the 1970s. My adult children will ask me to make this when they come home for a visit. They have eaten desserts from around the world and this is still one of their favorites. I just got a request for this dessert earlier in the week from an older friend. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountainbaby September 20, 2013

Because I am always short on time, I make mine a little different. I use the already made Philadelphia Cheesecake filling (found in the cream cheese area). I also buy the graham cracker crust already made so all I have to do is put the cheesecake filling in the crust, put the cherries on top, then I top it with cool whip. It tastes about the same, but if you are in a rush, it is very easy to do this way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tdassance March 19, 2011

I served this about 5 hours after assembling and it was good... tried it again the next day and it was great! Chill time definitely makes a difference with this recipe. Also, pay close attention to what you are doing with the sugar. I didnt and used the whole 1/3 cup in the crust. Then I realized it at step 4 and added sugar to the filling as well. Still, despite my mistakes it came out lovely. Thanks, Kittencal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Munchkin Mama December 03, 2007

Oh Yum, this is so good. My mother made this and I never could find her recipe, here it is--I used splenda and lite cherry pie filling to cut down on carbs and it was fantastic. Thanks Kitten for bringing back fond memories of moms favorite desert. I will make this for her soon and surprise her.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelinOhio April 04, 2005

I made this awesome desert last nite, doubled the recipe, Took to a meeting today and boy oh boy did everyone rave over it.. Used 13x9 in pyrex casserole dish as instructed and it came out perfect.. Used three 21 oz can cherry pie filling/topping ..This recipe deserves 100 plus stars...... Thank you so much kitten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nita 284904 southern girl October 04, 2010

This is a fantastic summer recipie! For an additional crunch, add some well-chopped pecans to the crust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel09 August 09, 2008

This was our Sunday night dessert! The whole family loved it. It only chilled for about four hours and it wasn't real stiff, but it sure tasted good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLYing4Me May 04, 2008
Easy Cherry Delight Dessert (No-Bake)