29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is the best recipe I have ever reviewed on this site, and that is saying a lot since I have 63 reviews. I followed it exactly and all I can say was it was awesome. I will now be making this for Thanksgiving and Christmas as well!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsBaton August 24, 2011

Great recipe! I omitted the mushrooms, and used 1%milk and light mayo. Also added a pinch of nutmeg because I like that with spinach dishes. Poured it into a prebaked pie crust (#820 here). It came out perfect.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin R. May 17, 2010

Excellent! The mixture made enough to fill two 9" deep dish pie crusts.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drbeggs99 April 08, 2010

I didn't follow the instructions to the letter. I used all the ingredients but in different portions. I substituted the "canned" mushrooms for fresh mushrooms (I hate canned shrooms). I probably used 10 oz of diced ham, a cup of mayo, and probably 2.5 cups of cheddar. I also put at least a cup of shredded/grated parmesan cheese on top (basically covering the top of the dish). Turned out great and my family nearly ate the whole thing in one sitting (only one piece left).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5nolans March 20, 2013

I had limited time so I made mine crustless, otherwise the recipe was a huge hit with an early Easter Brunch and I've already passed the recipe on to family and friends. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meglbgl April 04, 2012

I decided to try this recipe because of all the rave reviews, but was quite disappointed. The spinach taste was too overwhelming to me. I suggest that you don't cut back on the amt of onion like I did, as this recipe needs more to cut the frozen spinach. Someone suggested using nutmeg and I think that might be a good spice to help this recipe. I probably won't be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rjoyce1 February 13, 2012

I made this recipe for a simple Saturday night meal. It is wonderful. The only change I made was to add more seasonings as it did not recommend any at all. All I can say is three people ate the whole pie. Very simple to put together using a premade pie crust. Wonderful flavor and texture. Love that spinach! Thanks for posting! Update: I have made this over and over and my fmaily and I LOVE it. It is sooo good and so easy to put together. Usually I add pepper jack cheese for added flavor and some Mrs Dash seasoning. I can't thank you enough for posting this reciepe, I am so glad I found it on Zaar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Young October 06, 2011

What a great recipe! It's wonderful reheated too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizCl January 13, 2011

Our CSA boxes each week have had a dozen eggs and even with giving a dozen away, the two of us are having a hard time keeping up with eggs, so I went on a search for recipes to use them up. This is a keeper! I made as written with the exception of using light mayonnaise, 2% Mexican Blend cheese instead of the cheddar, and fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I also used a 5th egg because my farm eggs were not all what I would consider large. Since I was a bit liberal on the filling, I might be wrong here, but I would recommend a deep dish pie shell over a regular one. I had enough mixture leftover after filling the pie shell to put into a ramekin which I baked alongside the quiche. I resisted my urge to add seasoning to the mixture, and that was a great decision as the flavor was perfect as it was. A great mixture of flavors without any one being too overwhelming. A great supper with salad! Besides, any recipe that gets that many veggies into DH and that he rates 5 stars is a keeper! Thanks Trishypie for a wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeniseBC May 05, 2010

This was fantAStic! I used this particular recipe because i wanted to try the mayo/milk combo. So here's what I did: I sauteed one chopped leek, one chopped zucchini, 2 chopped lrg. mushrooms until soft + 3 slices off a ham chopped up into small cubes and I used only have a bunch of cooked chopped spinach. I added probably 1.5cups of grated cheddar into the milk/egg/mayo mix. put everything into a deep dish pie shell (it was a bit too much and some of the liquid spilled out, so you could make 2 regular pies out of this version) added some slices of tomato to cover the top, cracked some fresh pepper over them and popped it in the oven. Now because this had way more stuff in it it needed to bake for oh about 70min or so! This turned out so delicious and filling. Just had my leftovers for breakfast...mmmmmhmmm! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mel#608 December 11, 2009
Easy Cheesy Spinach and Ham Quiche Pie