15 Reviews

We really enjoyed this soup. I liked that I could start in and leave home then finish it later. I added 3 slices of american cheese at the end for a richer cheese flavor. AND, I added celery, carrots and onions for some added veggies. I have already shared this recipe with my SIL!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephie Biggs August 05, 2009

At the time of this review, I have not made the recipe. However, I have made similar recipes and this looks just as good as some of the others. My only feedback is that 1. they don't tell you in the list of ingredients what type of milk - only in the directions. and 2. cheese is in the list of ingredients, but they neglect to tell you to add it. Only to stir the cheese till melted. When do you put the cheese in? I've been cooking for a few decades and can figure this out myself. However, if someone is a new cook or not a confident cook, then this might confuse them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle M. December 06, 2015

Made this for a group of people helping me with a surprise for my hubby, they all loved it! Myself included. For the potato's, I used Oreida frozen hash with the green and red peppers in it, real bacon bits and frozen corn. Will definitely make again and it is sooooooo easy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kensie99 September 24, 2012

Very nice soup.. I did use monterey jack cheese, and I did cut down the salt in half. Nice compliment to some super bowl leftovers. Made for PRMR tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker February 07, 2012

this is the easiest potato soup I've ever made like others I added bacon. I even shared this recipe with my sister and she can't cook but she CAN make this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tastes great less filling February 20, 2011

I'm not a good cook, but even I couldn't mess this up! Fabulous...and easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Polly C. November 25, 2013

Delish! 1st time made I used tater tots, shredded cheddar cheese, and bacon = yum! Have a baguette on hand to dunk in! :^)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen A. March 17, 2013

I think this is a good base soup, but it was missing something in my opinion. The hashbrowns were still lumpy even after I tried mashing them in the crock pot, so we didn't care for the texture. Looking at the other reviews, I would definatly put bacon or ham cubes in it next time, along with some onion and garlic for more flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissamae76 March 10, 2013

I have made this a couple times on the stove. I haven't made it in the crock pot. It cooks up really fast on the stove (10 minutes max until my hash browns are cooked in a simmering pot). I made up a roux (milk, flour and butter) and added it to the chicken broth, hash brown pot and then mixed in the cheese.

My family loved it. And I loved how quick and easy it was!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happymama&wife October 20, 2012
Easy Cheesy Crock Pot Potato Soup (Slow Cooker)