14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We really enjoyed this soup. I liked that I could start in and leave home then finish it later. I added 3 slices of american cheese at the end for a richer cheese flavor. AND, I added celery, carrots and onions for some added veggies. I have already shared this recipe with my SIL!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephie Biggs August 05, 2009

Very nice soup.. I did use monterey jack cheese, and I did cut down the salt in half. Nice compliment to some super bowl leftovers. Made for PRMR tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker February 07, 2012

this is the easiest potato soup I've ever made like others I added bacon. I even shared this recipe with my sister and she can't cook but she CAN make this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tastes great less filling February 20, 2011

I'm not a good cook, but even I couldn't mess this up! Fabulous...and easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Polly C. November 25, 2013

Delish! 1st time made I used tater tots, shredded cheddar cheese, and bacon = yum! Have a baguette on hand to dunk in! :^)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen A. March 17, 2013

I think this is a good base soup, but it was missing something in my opinion. The hashbrowns were still lumpy even after I tried mashing them in the crock pot, so we didn't care for the texture. Looking at the other reviews, I would definatly put bacon or ham cubes in it next time, along with some onion and garlic for more flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissamae76 March 10, 2013

I have made this a couple times on the stove. I haven't made it in the crock pot. It cooks up really fast on the stove (10 minutes max until my hash browns are cooked in a simmering pot). I made up a roux (milk, flour and butter) and added it to the chicken broth, hash brown pot and then mixed in the cheese.

My family loved it. And I loved how quick and easy it was!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happymama&wife October 20, 2012

Made this for a group of people helping me with a surprise for my hubby, they all loved it! Myself included. For the potato's, I used Oreida frozen hash with the green and red peppers in it, real bacon bits and frozen corn. Will definitely make again and it is sooooooo easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kensie99 September 24, 2012

This soup was too easy and too delicious. Next time I will try what others have done and add some bacon. We made it with some corn bread and my kids finished every last drop.
A big crowd pleaser!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diazmoon January 06, 2011
Easy Cheesy Crock Pot Potato Soup (Slow Cooker)