18 Reviews

I made these the other night to have with our ordered in pizza. Very quick, easy, and tasty! I followed the suggestion of other reviews and baked the crust 5 minutes before putting on the butter and cheese. I wanted to use a provolone/mozzarella mix however as I couldn't find it at the store I used a 5 Cheese Italian. I also used 1 cup instead of 1/2, but that's just because we're cheese people. Instead of the dried basil I used oregano. I mixed the oregano and garlic salt with the melted butter and then spread it on. Love this recipe :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Augurey March 08, 2011

5 stars for simplicity! I've made these a few times now. I've had better luck with my oven by letting the dough cook for about 4-5 minutes before adding all of the toppings. When I added them first my cheese was overcooked before my bread was done yielding a bit of sogginess. I turned the oven to broil during the last minute to brown up the top. Thanks for the idea. This is a lifesaver when I'm in a hurry!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura in Texas May 22, 2007

These are great! I love that they use ingredients I usually have in the house. This time I made them with Swiss instead of provolone. DH loved them. I didn't serve it with marinara, but it could have used it. I'll make this again and again... One note, I didn't put the dough on my cookie sheets b/c I didn't want them to get all scratched up when I cut it. I used my pizza stone instead and it worked perfectly!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dicentra February 02, 2008

These were delicious! I used half of Whole Wheat Pizza Crust for the crust to make it from scratch and whole wheat, and it worked out great. I plan to make this a regular, it's really good. I did use italian seasoning in place of the dried basil and really liked the flavor.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redneck naturalist March 24, 2010

How yummy! These bread sticks were so easy that my 14yo DS put it together while I made dinner. We used a frozen prepared pizza crust, fresh garlic mixed with the butter and fresh basil from our garden. We didn't have provolone, so we used a mixture of cheddar and Parmesan. Was done perfectly in 11 minutes and not a crumb leftover!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI June 27, 2009

I was not impressed with this recipe. Mine came out flat, not puffed up like the ones from Pizza Hut. But the dog liked them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Big Cheese August 25, 2013

I'm pregnant and was having a serious craving for Pizza Hut or Cici's type cheese garlic breadsticks and thought I'd try this recipe. These were great and hit the spot. Per other reviews I baked 5 minutes before the butter, cheese and seasoning and then another 7 minutes and turned the pan because my oven sucks and just watched it for a few minutes longer. I did used pizza seasoning in place of the basil and garlic powder in place of the salt. These were wonderful and I will make again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Huntergirl* July 13, 2009

Easy and quick! Put some minced garlic in the butter-also used parm/asiago cheese blend. As other reviews stated-rolled out and cooked for 5 min then added the butter and spices. Just used Trader Joe's pasta seasoning. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinker :0) December 21, 2008

Tasted awesome--I increased the amount of cheese so the sticks had 'gooey' cheese on toprather than a dried, thin layer. Also, I used one clove of fresh garlic pressed from a garlic press in the melted butter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annamcvay September 21, 2008

These were pretty good, but I was hoping they would swell up more, but they ate them all up so they must have been good...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc January 06, 2008
Easy Cheesy Breadsticks