38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good, and EASY. Missing something.. an herb.. sauteed onion/garlic. As a note, 225C=436F and if you dont have self rising flour, add 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u March 25, 2011

OMG... That was sooooooo easy and so delicious. I didn't have self rising flour so I used 1 cup of regular flour with 1.5 teaspoons of baking power. I've been searching for a simple easy recipe. Thank you for sharing and if I could give more stars for something so simple I would.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zelli August 06, 2011

Brilliant! I doubled the recipe and added an egg and some spring onions and I used strong mature cheddar. Absolutely delicious... Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chirocook December 27, 2009

ivana, you're great! omg, couldn't believe such simple ingredients could yield such a tasty result. lol. i used shredded cheese as that's all i have on hand, so i used a bit more - approx. 1cup + 2 tbs - and chopped them a bit so that the cheese wouldn't be in huge chunks. didn't use the paprika, but it was great already. thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j.sugiarto May 07, 2008

I printed this on 5/15/13 and I'm so sorry I waited until today to make it. After mixing up the batter, one scone was baked for a trial run. As fantastic as it was, I wanted to see how it would be with a bit of garlic powder & oregano. So I added about 1/2 teaspoon of each to the remaining batter, and baked them for a total of 15 minutes. OMGoodness !!! The smell of these while they were baking, was driving me crazy. :). And the taste of the one without the seasoning was great,but the ones with seasonings are just as good. Thank you so very much for posting a recipe that will be made again,and again. " Keep Smiling :) "

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � June 04, 2013

I was hessitant to make these because the recipe seemed so simple.

They turned out great! I reduced the amount of cheese because it just seemed too much but now I wish I had just followed the recipe.

They are super crisy on the outside and nice and fluffy inside.

If you're using a raising flour substitute do not add salt, the cheese provides enough of that.

Yummy and simple, what else can you ask for? Now I'm afraid I'll be making these everytime I want tomato soup which is quite often.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vilmaris June 02, 2012

Wow. Very cheesy, very yummy. Made last minute to go with soup - I should have made more! Super easy and wonderful taste. I did add about 1/2 tsp garlic powder. Had no self raising flour, so used 1 tsp baking powder and that worked just fine. Thanks! Will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 November 23, 2009

Nice and easy and taste good. I like how "un-messy" this recipe is. No rubbing butter into the flour with fingers, and no rolling out on a floured board! Just mix in a bowl and spoon on to the cooking tray. So tidy compared to most scone recipes. Dropped one star coz they do seem a little "spartan".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rogagrace August 31, 2014

Wow, great scones, so easy! No rubbing butter into flour, just mix everything together! This will be my go-to scone recipe from now on. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nyleel August 03, 2013

Quick and easy. Did 1.5c SR-flour, 2/3c milk and 1 egg. As I wanted pizza type scone I added chopped salami, garlic salt and mustard along with a pinch each of dried basil, oregano, parsley. Taste was good but was a little doughy as commented by a few other reviewers but wonder if I just needed to cook a minute or two longer. I don't make scones often as mine usually turn out like rocks but these are a good moist scone with a good crispy shell. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thehungrykiwi June 07, 2013
Easy cheese scones - in a hurry.