Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Cheddar Potato Cakes (Made With Instant Potatoes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Cheddar Potato Cakes (Made With Instant Potatoes)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 14, 2009

      These did not go over well at my house - but I loved them! Especially hot out of the pan. This is a very economical side dish. I forgot to add the green onions (which I had), but I do believe bacon would be a welcome addition (thanks, Mandy!). Another great posting, Kittencal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      Well these are so easy to make. I followed the exactly and my family loved them. I am thinking that this would be a good recipe to make at the cottage. It is fast, easy and there are not many dishes to clean up, and of course no potatoes to peel. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      Wow, we really enjoyed these- they are yummy! But then, I would expect nothing else from a Kittencal recipe. ;) Thanks for yet another keeper, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      All I can say is YUMM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      Loved this recipe, will definately make again. Everyone ate em up, none was wasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      These were great. I couldn't find potato flakes so just used instant mashed potato which worked well. I follwed the recipe except after shaping I coated the patties in a seasoned breadcrumb mix just for a crispier texture. These are so easy and make a lot for a small amount of money, fantastic for those watching their purse strings. I also think that bacon would be a great addition to these. Thanks Kit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      Kit i needed something quick and at the same time use up a box of instant mashed potatoes. I came across this recipe a few days ago and thought to give it a go. Well...results were excellent. The whole family loved these. We Portuguese people love our Portuguese buns (bread) so we made a sandwich out of these. We added mustard, ketchup and a slice of tomatoe to our bun and away we went. Very good and believe it or not... that was our dinner, cuz I had no time to cook a complete meal. Oh and we took some to work, a good lunch and they are even better when they sit for awhile. Thank you very much and I am sure I will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      Ok I hate potato flakes but this was a winner with my family. Easy and quick to make. I also added chives one time and green onions another.SO now i can't say that I hate all potato flakes TY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      I omitted the cayenne pepper but I think it would be great in this. With a baby, we have to make decisions sometimes about spicy food LOL I have plenty of leftovers. Yummy! Thanks Kit :) Made for 123 hit wonders

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      who would have ever guessed that instant potatoes could taste so good, but they do for this recipe, are perfect the lazy cook, they take minutes to make, I didn't use the corn or season salt they were still wonderful, great recipe I am going to make again, thanks Kit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      These are similar to the fried potato patties my mom used to make if we had any leftover mashed potatoes. However, these have much more flavor than my mom's. And the beauty of them is that you don't have to wait to have leftover mashed potatoes (which rarely happens in our house), you just use instant potatoes! Also, this recipe could easily be changed to suit your taste, or what you have on hand. I used twice as much garlic as it called for and will omit the cayenne next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      Oh, Kittencal...you've done it again. It's Kismet. DH brought home a 5kg bag of instant potatoes 'cos they 'were on special'. Sheeeesh..there's only the 2 of us here !!!! I made these, so easy, so forgiving, because we've got alot of leftover Christmas ham (also a DH purchase, 'on special') to wade through as well, so I threw a handful of the damn stuff, finely chopped, into these potatoe cakes and they were delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Cheddar Potato Cakes (Made With Instant Potatoes)

    Serving Size: 1 (45 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 93.0
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    52%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 24.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 77.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites