Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Caramel Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Caramel Sauce

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 21, 2003

      I have been making caramel this way for about 10 years now. I simmer mine for about 3 1/2 hours making sure they are always covered with water and adding more water as needed. You can boil as many cans as you like and keep on hand. I make a cake filling with the caramel and chopped pecans....heavenly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      Made this awhile back and forgot to review. This was a great technique that saves time by doing several at a time. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      Made this back at Christmas to smear onChristmas morning cinnamon rolls and was AWESOME ! What a cool way to make it! I even posted pics on my facebook page I was so impressed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      WOW did I say WOW. this was wonderful. I woud never have guessed this would work. I cooked it for 3 hour then served it warm over canned whole seckel pears. Everyone loved it. Thanks sooooooo much. did I say WOW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      This really works and is very good! Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Made this for my brother for Christmas - my mom used to make this for us when we were kids - the taste brought back some great memories!! thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      We used to do this when we were university students, but for years now we have had Nestlé's Caramel Treat in the shops!! Same thing!! I read the recipe and just want GIVE A WARNING: yes, the can should be cooked in boiling water for 2 1/2 - 3 hours BUT, BUT, at all times the can must be covered with water!! If the water boils down and the can gets very exposed, it can explode, as happened to dorm pals of mine!! They left a can boiling while they went to a meeting, and came back to find their room, beds, books and open notes covered with sticky caramel! There were stalactites of caramel dripping from the ceiling! LOL! Just be careful -- but this method does yield a wonderful caramel, which is soft and spreadable and ideal as a cake filling. (Or ... eating from the can!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      This was OK. I found that you shouldn't leave them up and down or it leaves a 'burned' spot so flip on their sides. I also found that 2 1/2 hours wasn't quite long enough, it left me with almost caramel. I boiled can #2 longer which left me with a pretty good caramel. It does stay VERY soft though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      I have always wanted to try this but was a little worried about the can exploding. After reading all the advice here, I decided to take the plunge and try it. I added the cans to the boiling water and then turned it down to a low simmer for 2 1/2 hours. I then let the cans cool for about an hour and half. The result was a thick, rich caramel sauce that everyone LOVED! Thanks for sharing this excellent recipe! And I really appreciate the reviewer who shared that you can store the unopened cans too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      I have made this for over 20 years. I make every year at Christmas and use the caramel to make Turtle Candy. I simmer for approx. 3 hours being sure to keep covered with water. I turn the stove off and let it set in the pan overnight to cool. It's wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I'd never heard of this method before, but Luby's review convinced me to give it a go. It's a thick gooey consistency and we really enjoyed it with Banana Cake Made Simple !! and some cream. It was rich but hey, once in a while is ok!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2006

      Super easy and turned out great. Make sure you keep an eye on the water level, as I had to keep adding water every half hour or so. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2005

      I can't believe I forgot to review this. Made it for Thanksgiving for DS to have with baked sweet potatoes and marshmallows. What a great thing to have in the pantry. Used it in #148535 - So Easy Banana Caramel Cream Pie (No Bake). YUMMY! Thanks for posting, Lori.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Caramel Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1274.1
     
    Calories from Fat 310
    24%
    Total Fat 34.5 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 21.7 g
    108%
    Cholesterol 134.9 mg
    44%
    Sodium 504.1 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 215.9 g
    71%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 215.9 g
    863%
    Protein 31.4 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites