13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been making caramel this way for about 10 years now. I simmer mine for about 3 1/2 hours making sure they are always covered with water and adding more water as needed. You can boil as many cans as you like and keep on hand. I make a cake filling with the caramel and chopped pecans....heavenly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luby Luby Luby June 21, 2003

Made this awhile back and forgot to review. This was a great technique that saves time by doing several at a time. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore December 21, 2013

Made this back at Christmas to smear onChristmas morning cinnamon rolls and was AWESOME ! What a cool way to make it! I even posted pics on my facebook page I was so impressed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookBookCollector June 18, 2011

WOW did I say WOW. this was wonderful. I woud never have guessed this would work. I cooked it for 3 hour then served it warm over canned whole seckel pears. Everyone loved it. Thanks sooooooo much. did I say WOW!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef 387790 May 06, 2010

This really works and is very good! Thank you so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noni Suzanne February 01, 2010

Made this for my brother for Christmas - my mom used to make this for us when we were kids - the taste brought back some great memories!! thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie January 02, 2010

We used to do this when we were university students, but for years now we have had Nestlé's Caramel Treat in the shops!! Same thing!! I read the recipe and just want GIVE A WARNING: yes, the can should be cooked in boiling water for 2 1/2 - 3 hours BUT, BUT, at all times the can must be covered with water!! If the water boils down and the can gets very exposed, it can explode, as happened to dorm pals of mine!! They left a can boiling while they went to a meeting, and came back to find their room, beds, books and open notes covered with sticky caramel! There were stalactites of caramel dripping from the ceiling! LOL! Just be careful -- but this method does yield a wonderful caramel, which is soft and spreadable and ideal as a cake filling. (Or ... eating from the can!!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zurie December 16, 2009

This was OK. I found that you shouldn't leave them up and down or it leaves a 'burned' spot so flip on their sides. I also found that 2 1/2 hours wasn't quite long enough, it left me with almost caramel. I boiled can #2 longer which left me with a pretty good caramel. It does stay VERY soft though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MinnMomof2 December 29, 2008

I have always wanted to try this but was a little worried about the can exploding. After reading all the advice here, I decided to take the plunge and try it. I added the cans to the boiling water and then turned it down to a low simmer for 2 1/2 hours. I then let the cans cool for about an hour and half. The result was a thick, rich caramel sauce that everyone LOVED! Thanks for sharing this excellent recipe! And I really appreciate the reviewer who shared that you can store the unopened cans too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) May 31, 2008

I have made this for over 20 years. I make every year at Christmas and use the caramel to make Turtle Candy. I simmer for approx. 3 hours being sure to keep covered with water. I turn the stove off and let it set in the pan overnight to cool. It's wonderful!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doods January 05, 2008
Easy Caramel Sauce