11 Reviews

This is a fabulous recipe. One note, though. The recipe SHOULD say one can SWEETENED condensed milk. Evaporated and condensed are the same thing. It's the word "sweetened" that is critical. A novice cook might not know the difference and would end up with a flan with no sweetening. Might be a good base for another dish, but not for dessert, even with the caramel.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mscaylor October 11, 2015

PERFECTION! I feel for nmiars who last reviewed, on the carmelizing part. It requires full attention and constant stirring to achieve success. If you can get that done, the rest is easy! Rich and delicious, a great way to end this Cinco de Mayo. Next time I will try the "lite" milks and see how it compares.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fitnfamished May 05, 2013

I am an 11 year old kid that tried the recipe...I would have given you a FIVE...EXCEPT for the fact that you did not include clear units visible beside the oven temperature. I almost burnt it because I used celcius. Even though it mentioned VERY briefly that they were in US units, I think it would be better if you made more clear. Thanks, A. Nonny Mouse (I can't type my name for safety reasons)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mango.nori November 29, 2015

The consistency of this was *perfect* on the first try - neither watery nor rubbery. I cooked for full 55 min. I'm going to make a second one adding a little cinnamon & salt...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
E An L. October 04, 2015

First time making it, perfect. THX

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose A. July 29, 2015

I followed the recipe exactly as posted. Like another reviewer, I also missed the plate when flipping and part of it got smashed...oops! It didn't look as pretty as I wanted but it tasted wonderful =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zombie.michelle May 05, 2014

I had high hopes for a Easy flan...alas, this one did not fit the bill for us. The caramel part was a epic fail as the sugar needs to dissolve in sugar first in order to help it caramelize. If you add water after (and only a few table spoons you will end up with seizing sugar).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmlars December 06, 2012

Wonderful recipe! My husband made for a dinner party and the directions were great - clear and he made a great dessert from them :) Thanks for the keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz May 29, 2011

This worked well for a first time making creme caramel. I would like to try another version next time that uses heavy cream though since DH and I would prefer something more creamy. I used Eagle Brand sweetened condensed milk & carnation evaporated milk. Do be careful cooking the sugar as mine got a bit too dark and almost had a burned flavour. I will be more careful next time. I would make this again but would like to try a creamier version first.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat August 20, 2010

I had the task of making flan for 40 people..problem is, I'd never made it before, but am great in the kitchen. Well, your recipe was the simplest that I found. I tried it and it was excellent. The consistency was good - not dense and not too wet. Everyone loved it too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Simple December 16, 2008
Easy Caramel Flan (Creme Caramel)