8 Reviews

PERFECTION! I feel for nmiars who last reviewed, on the carmelizing part. It requires full attention and constant stirring to achieve success. If you can get that done, the rest is easy! Rich and delicious, a great way to end this Cinco de Mayo. Next time I will try the "lite" milks and see how it compares.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fitnfamished May 05, 2013

First time making it, perfect. THX

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose A. July 29, 2015

I followed the recipe exactly as posted. Like another reviewer, I also missed the plate when flipping and part of it got smashed...oops! It didn't look as pretty as I wanted but it tasted wonderful =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zombie.michelle May 05, 2014

I had high hopes for a Easy flan...alas, this one did not fit the bill for us. The caramel part was a epic fail as the sugar needs to dissolve in sugar first in order to help it caramelize. If you add water after (and only a few table spoons you will end up with seizing sugar).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmlars December 06, 2012

Wonderful recipe! My husband made for a dinner party and the directions were great - clear and he made a great dessert from them :) Thanks for the keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz May 29, 2011

This worked well for a first time making creme caramel. I would like to try another version next time that uses heavy cream though since DH and I would prefer something more creamy. I used Eagle Brand sweetened condensed milk & carnation evaporated milk. Do be careful cooking the sugar as mine got a bit too dark and almost had a burned flavour. I will be more careful next time. I would make this again but would like to try a creamier version first.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat August 20, 2010

I had the task of making flan for 40 people..problem is, I'd never made it before, but am great in the kitchen. Well, your recipe was the simplest that I found. I tried it and it was excellent. The consistency was good - not dense and not too wet. Everyone loved it too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Simple December 16, 2008

Thank you Chrissy Thank you. I love caramel flan, but am always nervous about making it. Your quick and easy recipe has taken away my fear. You recipe produced a superb flan. It was so beautiful and tasty. I will definitely make again. When I went to flip it onto the plate, I missed the plate and ended up with a flan pudding. Next time, I will take a picture that does it justice....Kudos Kato

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato May 17, 2007
Easy Caramel Flan (Creme Caramel)