Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Canned Green Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Canned Green Beans

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2010

      thanks for posting!! this is how i make canned green beans for my toddler, she LOVES them and will eat almost the entire can in one sitting! i use whole green beans and add lots of garlic powder and black pepper. i usually just use 1/2 cup of water with 1/2 teaspoon beef bouillon granules and simmer only 15 minutes or until it's totally reduced. these are soooo yummy!! thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      These were very good. I used the balsamic vinegar as another reviewer suggested. I think next time, I may omit the vegie oil, or cut it down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      I'm afraid I'll never be a fan of canned anything, no matter how much it's doctored. Texture of a canned green bean is like a sponge to me, so at home I tried this recipe with all "fresh" ingredients - green beans, garlic & onion finely chopped, and sliced mushrooms. Used balsamic & olive oil and used a low sodium vegetable bouillon (we're vegetarians). Cooked al dente - Wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      This was ok for us. Nothing special -- next time I try it, I'll add garlic powder and onion powder.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      We all enjoyed these beans -- what a nice change from "out of the can" green beans. I did make a few changes, though. I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of balsamic white vinegar instead of 1 tablespoon of regular white vinegar (I love balsamic), and at another reviewer's suggestion added about 1/8 teaspoon each of onion powder and garlic powder. Mine took an hour to cook also; after about 40 minutes at med-low there was still a lot of liquid, so I turned up the heat to about med-high and 20 minutes later almost all of the liquid had evaporated. Next time I'm going to use less liquid because they took so long to cook that they got a little soggy. We loved the flavor, however! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      I'm giving this five stars for ease and taste. I had trouble getting the liquid to boil down. That was probably my fault for adding too much. Next time, I'll just use the liquid the beans are packed in. We loved the slight twang of the vinegar. (Had to use basalnic, all I had on hand). I also added a few canned mushrooms toward the last few minutes. These beans were tastey and I'll be making them again. Served with Bourbon Chicken Bourbon Chicken and white rice. I could see these as being a great side dish to meatloaf, chops, or fried chicken in the future. The ingredients are on hand, and inexpensive. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      I have made these several times and I can't believe I have not reviewed them! I don't change a thing except to use extra virgin olive oil in place of vegetable oil. This is now just about the only way that DH and I eat green beans. In fact he requests them with, "can you make THOSE green beans?" And i know what he means! :) Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2014

      Good recipe to make those canned beans actually edible.. I'm thinking if your not too calorie conscious, use bacon fat or butter instead of the oil, add in a dash of soy, teriyaki or Worcestershire sauce and use balsamic or red wine vinegar... Use less water so you don't have to cook them for so long they can get mushy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      Oh wow, I will never eat canned green beans any other way from now on! I used a little more beef bullion than recommended, and white cooking wine instead of vinegar, and I only used the water that is with the beans( did NOT add any extra)...added a little garlic and onion powder and voila! BEST GREEN BEANS EVER!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      Green beans are the ONLY veggie I prefer in a can instead of frozen (fresh is best of course) but canned green beans get really boring. I made these & me & my son could not stop eating them....I will have to double recipe next time! Amazing how adding these simple ingredients added so much to flavor. I did use white wine vinegar, GREAT RECIPE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

    • on August 17, 2011

      Made using stated ingredients. Altho good, they were lacking something that salt couldn't fix (usually does it for me). I liked the vinegar in the beans and want to try some of prior reviewers suggestion on doctoring up next time I make this. Thanks ALC, for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      These are super tasty and easy. I used 4 ounces of water and it was not watery after 45 mins. My favorite green bean recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      I really don't like canned green beans but my husband loves them. This recipe was fantastic and I think I have been converted! Thank you ALC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      I raised the temperature so that the water would dissolve faster - probably around 30 minutes on the stove. I used white vinegar because that's all I had on hand - and the children hated it. They actually preferred the taste of the canned beans, and requested that I never make this again. I tasted it and it was okay, nothing to rave about - and certainly not worth the vinegar and bouillon, two things we can all do without from our diets!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

    • on April 27, 2009

      I wasn't quite sure what to expect and can't quite describe the flavor, but it's just green beans made better. I started with no sodium added green beans, and they came out full of flavor (and, yes, with some sodium from the bouillon) and unlike any canned green beans I'd ever had. I kept the temp a little high so that they'd be done a little faster. This one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      This was easy and great taste, only way I do canned green beans now. I drain and rinse the beans to cut down on sodium and use salt free chicken bouillon. I cover the beans with water and don't even measure the bouillon, oil, or vinegar anymore...I just add some in! Thanks ALC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      These were good; definitely took the canned taste out of the beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I cant believe how good these were. I am dying to try this recipe with fresh beans next!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Canned Green Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (236 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 90.9
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    38%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.3 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1107.4 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    20%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes