40 Reviews

thanks for posting!! this is how i make canned green beans for my toddler, she LOVES them and will eat almost the entire can in one sitting! i use whole green beans and add lots of garlic powder and black pepper. i usually just use 1/2 cup of water with 1/2 teaspoon beef bouillon granules and simmer only 15 minutes or until it's totally reduced. these are soooo yummy!! thanks again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD March 27, 2010

These were very good. I used the balsamic vinegar as another reviewer suggested. I think next time, I may omit the vegie oil, or cut it down.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ December 01, 2009

I'm afraid I'll never be a fan of canned anything, no matter how much it's doctored. Texture of a canned green bean is like a sponge to me, so at home I tried this recipe with all "fresh" ingredients - green beans, garlic & onion finely chopped, and sliced mushrooms. Used balsamic & olive oil and used a low sodium vegetable bouillon (we're vegetarians). Cooked al dente - Wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynjimp December 20, 2009

This was ok for us. Nothing special -- next time I try it, I'll add garlic powder and onion powder.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty October 04, 2009

We all enjoyed these beans -- what a nice change from "out of the can" green beans. I did make a few changes, though. I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of balsamic white vinegar instead of 1 tablespoon of regular white vinegar (I love balsamic), and at another reviewer's suggestion added about 1/8 teaspoon each of onion powder and garlic powder. Mine took an hour to cook also; after about 40 minutes at med-low there was still a lot of liquid, so I turned up the heat to about med-high and 20 minutes later almost all of the liquid had evaporated. Next time I'm going to use less liquid because they took so long to cook that they got a little soggy. We loved the flavor, however! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester August 15, 2009

I'm giving this five stars for ease and taste. I had trouble getting the liquid to boil down. That was probably my fault for adding too much. Next time, I'll just use the liquid the beans are packed in. We loved the slight twang of the vinegar. (Had to use basalnic, all I had on hand). I also added a few canned mushrooms toward the last few minutes. These beans were tastey and I'll be making them again. Served with Bourbon Chicken Bourbon Chicken and white rice. I could see these as being a great side dish to meatloaf, chops, or fried chicken in the future. The ingredients are on hand, and inexpensive. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IB Alumni August 09, 2009

I have made these several times and I can't believe I have not reviewed them! I don't change a thing except to use extra virgin olive oil in place of vegetable oil. This is now just about the only way that DH and I eat green beans. In fact he requests them with, "can you make THOSE green beans?" And i know what he means! :) Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ July 31, 2009

This recipe made the green beans taste SO AMAZING. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe. Everyone loved them. I'm also an extremely picky eater and I loved them myself. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annie H. March 13, 2015

Good recipe to make those canned beans actually edible.. I'm thinking if your not too calorie conscious, use bacon fat or butter instead of the oil, add in a dash of soy, teriyaki or Worcestershire sauce and use balsamic or red wine vinegar... Use less water so you don't have to cook them for so long they can get mushy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nlg6266_10886410 October 07, 2014

Oh wow, I will never eat canned green beans any other way from now on! I used a little more beef bullion than recommended, and white cooking wine instead of vinegar, and I only used the water that is with the beans( did NOT add any extra)...added a little garlic and onion powder and voila! BEST GREEN BEANS EVER!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessberry1 March 06, 2013
Easy Canned Green Beans