9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Followed recipe exactly and dish looked very nice after baking. Allowed to cool completely prior to serving but was very disappointed in taste. I used a standard golden vanilla cake mix and Ocean Spray whole cranberry sauce. Flavors did not seem to compliment eachother and it tasted way too sweet, even with tart cranberry sauce. Although my husband really enjoys sweets he said the recipe was not a "keeper." May try the same concept again except with a homemade cookie crust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~MollyM November 28, 2009

Great flavors! I used Chocolate cake mix and 1/4c Splenda Brown sugar I baked thefull 40 minutes, since the cente seemed still very wet, but the outside was geeting dry. Refrigerated as suggested and did not cut until next day.They were still very moist/wet, though fully cooked. Had to erat them with a fork. :-0 Next time I will only use 1 can cranberry sauce and use almond extract. I might even add some craisins and walnuts. Chocolate and cranberry who could ask for more. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) April 16, 2009

This was very good! The whole family enjoyed them. We tried them right out of the oven, instead of waiting for them to cool. It was like a pie. They were very sweet, but that was the cranberry sauce being too sweet, not the crust. DH wants to try it with apple pie filling. I had some later that night after they cooled, and I think they are fantastic. They mellow when cooled. Very simple and good dessert. I will make these often! Made and Reviewed for New Kid On The Block Tag - Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ December 27, 2008

They were a tad bit sweet, but still tasty!! I switched things up a bit and used chocolate cake mix with excellent results. This is a great go to treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme December 16, 2008

Very easy to make and they were good, but maybe a little too sweet. This would be a good recipe to take to our next family reunion. I can see it dissapearing quickly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz December 12, 2008

I made these in memory of Kittencal's dear husband John. I thought these were very tasty, but a little too sweet for me. Now, I did use a white cake mix and dark brown sugar, so that could be where the extra sweet taste came from. Straight from the oven, they are almost like a cobbler and cooled, they are bars-either way truly yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beth December 10, 2008

I made these for Thanksgiving & forgot to review them. They are Delicious & very rich. Everyone loved them. Thank you Kitten for this delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz December 10, 2008

I made these last night and we really enjoyed them. I served them with a scoop of vanilla ice cream but tonight I'll serve them with whipped cream and a dash of cinnamon. Ask me how they are for breakfast! I made these for Kittencal's cookathon 2008

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chattes December 05, 2008

This was one more of the desserts I recently took to a potluck & the bars were a hit, if the empty plate I brought home was any indicaton! I did use just the very slightest dusting of powdered sugar on top! Thanks for sharing! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Newest Zaar Tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 28, 2008
Easy Cake Mix Cranberry Bars