68 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is sooo easy to make, and its a real hit. Everyone in my house likes soft cookies, and these are the softest. My favorite flavor of cake mix to use is lemon, but chocolate is good too (they taste like brownies!)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea West August 30, 2001

These cookies did not turn out. Directions aren't clear. I read reviews and tried it without chilling them and then I tried them with chilling and they both turned out the same...in the trash...sorry, but i will not be making this again...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessica-weber June 05, 2010

This is a great easy recipe! I used chocolate cake mix, substituted applesauce for the oil, and added in 3/4 c chocolate chips and 1/4 c crushed heath bar. Fantastic! Took about 8 minutes to bake at 9200 ft. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ridinthewind May 27, 2010

Made using a chocolate cake mix and peanut butter chips. Yum

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom May 30, 2009

Very delicious and so easy... the first batch wasnt quite through after 10 minutes, so I had the 2nd in for 12 minutes. So easy! Can't wait to try out all the other flavors. I made swiss chocolate with M&M's. That's all I had at home

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coffee crazy February 28, 2009

After so many positive reviews on this recipe, I'm sorry to say that this recipe was AWFUL! Not only were the directions unclear (do you drop the cookies? Do you chill? Do you roll into balls?), but the batter was SOOO thick and sticky that it was impossible to work with and form anything but a brownie-like cake from it (to keep the whole thing from being a complete disaster!). No stars from me- It may have a simple ingredient list but not worth the mess you end up with.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nyc4me03 July 20, 2008

OH my goodness !!! There should be a law against what I just made LOL. I chose a orange supreme cake mix (I love orange) and I added chopped up dark chocolate (from a chocolate bar) I also added (from Halloween treats given to me) one small reeses caramel chocolate bar and one small snickers chopped up. Those are the small treat size ones. Fantastic, some of these are for my cookie swap. I must note: the cook time of 11 minutes was not near enough though, I had to bake them for almost 14-15 minutes, but that could be my oven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirl (J) 831 November 04, 2006

Try a carmel cake mix with chocolate chips and a 1/2 cup pecans!!! I put the mix in the fridge to chill before forming into balls and baking. They turn into nice uniform cookies. I get rave reviews whereever I take these cookies!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mswnan96 March 06, 2005

These were really good, but for some reason (maybe the way I mixed it?) the dough became VERY gluey and I had to add milk! (My mixer almost died trying to make these cookies!) I used Devil's Food cake mix and white chocolate chips. They were VERY good, very soft, and easy...I just don't know why the dough wouldn't cooperate. Thanks for the recipe though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock June 25, 2002

My mother made these cookies when we were kids back in the 1970's. They come out fabulous for a quick treat. One that she made quite frequently was lemon cake mix with a cup of flaked coconut in them. The one key to having these come out is to let them cool on the baking sheet for several minutes. She did refrigerate the dough that I remember. The chocolate cake mix with chocolate chips in them were also favorite. She never did use a yellow or white cake mix for any of them. The flavor was just not there.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susanvinson March 08, 2015
Easy Cake Mix Cookies