10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were delicious. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef since it is less fattening and tomato sauce instead of V8 juice because my BH does not like V8. These were so good and I normally do not cook cabbage. The only problem that I had is that my cabbage was really tough and not very soft after it was done cooking. I don't know what that was all about but other than that. Delicious! Thank you for a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingerbear April 27, 2003

So easy to make and so darn good we kept going back for more. The whole family raved about these, so you know they get 5 stars from us! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LindaInNH January 17, 2009

Divine! I always make the cabbage beef casseroles, but wanted to try out the actual recipe. This was super easy! I made the meat and rice the night before and threw the rest together in the morning so that it was ready to pop in the oven when dinner rolled around. And, I used ground turkey to make it lighter...it was the nicest I'd ever tasted ground turkey and had it not been for the color, no one would have guessed it wasn't beef. Thanks for the terrific and easy new recipe for my keep file!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmoochTheCook December 19, 2007

this is just like my moms recipe, my mom also freezes the head of cabbage for ease in preparation. I find that this makes the cabbage leaves a little rubbery and prefer to put the head of cabbage in boiling water and remove the leaves as they soften. If you are going through the trouble of making golumbki-you may as well do it this way so the cabbage is tender.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicky Gunkel December 05, 2007

What a treat this dish was. It has transported me right to my grandmother's kitchen back in Poland. I have some leftover cabbage and I think I will make it again tomorrow... Yum! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp November 09, 2011

This recipe IS very easy! I boiled the head of cabbage for about 10 min to soften the inside leaves more. I used tomato past mixed with water instead of v8 juice and brown rice instead of white. The second time I made it I doubled the filling recipe and added a bit more salt and pepper. I would recommend this recipe to anyone even a begginer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
olive me December 13, 2006

Fixed these and they were very good and simple to make. Hardest part was getting the rolling down. I cooked mine in an electric slow cooker and they were delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
almrdm February 19, 2006

Fantastic. Even my non cabbage eating husband had a couple. I had to use Rotels, with a couple of tablespoons of Heinz 57 in the tomatoes as I was out of V-8 (Hubby likes V-8 better than cabbage) The instructions were perfect. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RottNDachs November 05, 2005

The ingredients are so simple, but the flavour is WONDERFUL!! Made about 15 large cabbage rolls. THANK YOU!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steph_40135 February 04, 2005
Easy Cabbage Rolls