Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Breakfast Egg Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Breakfast Egg Casserole

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2007

      A tried-and-true recipe that you can modify so many different ways! Many people know this as "Overnight Sausage-Egg Cassserole" because it is very easy to assemble it the night before, cover it with saran wrap, and then bake it in the morning. You can also bake it right away, as directed. It turns out perfectly just as written, but I like to use Jimmy Dean Low-Fat Sausage and different cheeses (swiss, fontina) to make it a bit more elegant. If you have leftovers, just microwave individual squares (LOW heat) for a quick breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      Not giving stars, since I strayed from the recipe. I used a pound of bacon and didn't have bread, so used english muffins. The muffins turned soggy, so I wouldn't do that again. I have made this before with buttered bread, and half/half rather than milk. That recipe requires the casserole to sit in the fridge overnight. Since I was looking for quick and easy, thought I'd try this. I prefer the richer version, but this was good in a pinch. thanks so much

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      We loved it! I doubled the recipe and added mushrooms, sauteed onions and red pepper. I added green onions at the very end, having learned on another recipe not to add them earlier if I don't want to end up with green eggs! It took about an hour to cook. Perfect for Christmas morning. Thank you Hey Jude!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      My mother-in-law used to make this dish on the last morning of our vacations. A couple minutes prep the night before makes a very easy morning and great food!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      This recipe was wonderful i used turkey sausage,and sprinkled with fresh parsley for color and it was a big hit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      We liked this. We did modify it quite a bit to be more in line with our tastes and it came out great. I used Pilsbury Garlic Breadsticks that I cut into little cubes, cut up the pork sausage, used extra old white cheddar, added green onions with the cheddar and sausage and added cumin and a little bit of crushed red peppers to the milk mixture for some added kick. It only had to cook for about 35 minutes. We will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Used uncooked crescent rolls for bottom layer and added just a touch of diced yellow onion to the eggs. Sprinkled the cheese on top of the entire thing and baked it. My family loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      Great Recipe, and very flexible! I used 4 slices of oat bran bread, 4 were enough to have the bread pieces cover the bottom of my 13x9 in one loose layer, and we try to keep our carbs low. I used 5 eggs, as it's all I had, so lowered the milk to 1 3/4 cup. I was in a big hurry, so I put it in the oven with everything but the sausage to get it going while I fried the sausage. My sausage turned out to be super lean, it wasn't giving up any fat, so I opened the oven, topped with the 1/2 cooked sausage and added more cheese on top. Baked in a hotter oven...400 (actually 375 convection) and it was done in about 35 minutes.... This dish will really highlight your sausage, so use one you really like. We had a wonderful hot sausage and it was FANTASTIC! The top got quite dark and that's the part everyone liked the best. I made it one more time with the correct amount of eggs and I think I liked it even better with the 5 egg 1 3/4 cup milk for some reason! (Maybe because I'm not using as much bread?) Anyway, this is wonderful. Next time, I'm going to try making it with some spinach in it. Thank you for a great recipe! I never knew you could make strata like this and bake it right away. By the way, this bakes long enough that if you know you have a lean sausage, you can just dot the raw sausage right into the casserole...I did that the 2nd time it it worked great. Heck, pizza sausage cooks for even less time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      I made serious alterations but it was AMAZING!! I used half a package of phyllo dough instead of bread, used Turkey sausage, used less milk, mixed pepper, a green pepper, one Clive minced garlic, about 1.5 tsp. of fresh garlic chives, and fresh rosemary 1 tsp. and sprinkle to taste Knorr caldo de Tomate in place of salt

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2012

      This recipe is a great just the way it is! I sometimes will use different cheeses, to change the flavor up, and I sometimes will add bell peppers, onions, and a splash of hot sauce, if you want a little kick. Easy to make...always had this growing up on Christmas morning, but it's good anytime if the year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      This is my favorite breakfast / brunch casserole . i sometimes use left over hot dog bun, hamburger bun or even rolls. you can throw some peppers, unions , mushrooms, whatever your in the mood for. My family loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Very easy and simple. Made 1/2 the recipe for Christmas breakfast, cooked at 375F in the toaster oven for about 40 minutes and it was just perfect. Next time, I might add a little onion and maybe green pepper for a little extra pizazz, but overall this was just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      My Mom makes this every year for Christmas breakfast. We have anywhere from 12-20 people so there are lots of dishes. This casserole as well as fried oysters, oyster stew, and fruit salad are ALWAYS on the table. I'm glad to be reminded of it so that I can start making it for my family on regular breakfast days too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      We had this last week for our Sunday breakfast. I used maple sausage. It was a hit at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      This was fabulous! I made it the night before (using sage sausage and an onion) and just baked for 40 minutes. Terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      This was soooo easy and sooo good! I had overnight guests for a few days and made a couple of different make ahead dishes. This one (the easiest of them all) was their favorite! Thanks for sharing - I will make this for my own family on the weekends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2006

      My mother has made this for Christmas morning for the past couple of years. I like it with maple sausage. Her is slightly different in that she uses 8 slices of bread and 4 eggs. And you can really use any type of cheese, it's very versatile. This one's a keeper in the family recipe book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      very easy and tasty. I used a combo of white/wheat bread and added chopped onion. I'll make it again definately and add more onion and a little crumbled bacon. A great holiday morning dish thanks Hey Jude!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2004

      East "do ahead" casserole - Tastes wonderful Ideal for large Buffet Brunch or as a breakfast for one - just adjust amounts. I used Bratwurst sausages, added 1/2 tsp chili flakes and served with Zucchini Salsa. Thanks Het Jude it's a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Breakfast Egg Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (188 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 367.9
     
    Calories from Fat 205
    55%
    Total Fat 22.8 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 216.1 mg
    72%
    Sodium 598.7 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 26.2 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes