9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were very good. I served them with Leftover Ham Soup and it was a delicious dinner. I had a hard time getting them to shape completely before they rose. I also had an issue with sticking even though I generously covered the bowls with Crisco. I will make these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizabethKnicely April 04, 2013

I made some Chili and made these to serve it in. I had the Chili along with Mimi's Cornmeal Scones for a delicious supper! These are easy to whip up in a hurry and come in so handy when you are serving chili, chowders and stews. I have served dip in them a few times too, and it served the purpose. When the dip was almost gone the kids broke off pieces of the bread to dip in the rest of the dip. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChewieJacuBeau September 22, 2011

These are outstanding! I did cheat just a little, only made 5 bowls cause I wanted them a little larger, I did use Pam cooking spray, and I seasoned them inside and out with McCormick's Tex-Mex seasoning for serving chili. They were easy and delicious! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrtfan December 11, 2007

Used for my clam chowder, and they were great. These would be good for soup and chilies too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annchase60 October 19, 2008

Awesome! I used two 1-lb loaves of frozen dough and cut them into 3 pieces each as they thawed. I also used cooking spray instead of shortening, and I don't think they turned out as brown in the middle, but still done! Mmmmm....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheCatsMeow October 03, 2008

These were great! I sorely miss the bread bowl salads from Perkins now they are now longer on the menu - and these were lovely size for a side salad. I didn't have 6 10 oz cups, but I had 4 Pyrex ones. For the remaining two, I used two tall 7 oz stoneware ramekins. Be forewarned - if you use stoneware, they hold heat much longer than the glass cups! I switched out the basil and garlic salt for garlic salt-free seasoning and Italian seasons - boy, did these guys smell good coming out of the oven. For the rise, I stuck them in a 200 F oven for 10 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misa July 24, 2008

Saw these and had to try them. Great idea along with great taste. Can't wait to make them again. Thank you Mimi!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodieFanatic January 21, 2008

O for Outstanding idea! I made these to go with my clam chowder tonight. I will be using these for all my chowders and stews from now on. Thanks mimi for this winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Charlee January 16, 2008

I wanted something different to go with chili tomorrow. I saw these and decided to give them a try. They are easy to make. I tried to shape these into the rounds that she is suggesting but that did not work so well. So I took each cut piece and put it on the bowl then shaped it to the bowl. I didn't have the tearing, the dough didn't get too thin in places. I gave 4 stars because I will try these again only I will also use more seasoning for more flavor. Thank you Mimi In Maine

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KGCOOK October 13, 2007
Easy Bread Bowls