Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Bread and Butter Pickles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Bread and Butter Pickles

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 28, 2004

      I have been browsing this site for recipes for a long time. I finally registered so I could comment on this recipe. It is outstanding. The sugar balances the tartness of the vinegar and is necessary. They are by no means sweet candied pickles. If you like good country pickles these are it. Thanks for posting, PCrocker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      Really good! Definately not candied pickles but I did cut the sugar down to 2 cups after the first batch came out too sweet for my taste (although not too sweet for others). I gave the second batch as gifts and everyone raved about them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      Terriffic! Easy and crisp. Perfect for those times when you don't get a large yeild at one time from the garden. I have given this recipe out 3 times already.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2011

      delicious!!! i will be using this recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      Ever since I got this recipe back in 2004, I have made these evey year and would not change a thing. All my friends and family LOVES them.Thanks PCrocker for this recipe and all your others!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Following the suggestions of cooks-alot we made half of the pickles with white and half with apple-cider vinegar. They were really easy, took ingredients we had on had, and tasted great! The white vinegar pickles did have more crunch, but less taste. The only change we would make would be to use less salt, as these were very salty. We also only used 6 cucumbers instead of 18, because ours were large. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      Perfect recipe. The only thing I might change is the type of vinegar, white gives you a crisper pickle than the cider.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

    • on July 13, 2008

      This is a really good pickle recipe! They arent too sweet, they are just right. When we first looked at it, 4 cups seemed like alot, but it is just right. We used fresh cucumbers from the garden and they were great! The amount of sliced cucumbers we had filled 2 large canning jars. We used 1 onion and divied the rest of the ingredients by 1/3, which only filled one of the jars :) . We had about 1/2 of the cider vinegar we needed, so we used white instead. It took ours about 3 hours to get that really good picle flavor. We will definitely make this again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      Very easy and very tasty - thank you so much for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      This brine is the best! I substituted Splenda for the sugar and added some dried hot peppers to a few of the quarts just for variety. I'd definietely make it again. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2004

      this is the exact recipe that my long departed grandma used. the sugar was used to preserve the cukes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2004

      No, no, no, no, no! 4 cups of sugar? This recipe is for candied cucumbers, not pickles. If you used maybe 1 cup of sugar in this recipe it would still give you a very sweet pickle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Bread and Butter Pickles

    Serving Size: 1 (7547 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4229.7
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    70%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 56765.0 mg
    2365%
    Total Carbohydrate 1029.4 g
    343%
    Dietary Fiber 32.0 g
    128%
    Sugars 902.3 g
    3609%
    Protein 38.9 g
    77%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes