13 Reviews

Oh M Y. Followed this exactly. These are the bomb. So good, but MUST let sit at least overnite to gather the full flavor so everything melds together. Will tell you that first off, seemed more salty, more vinegar than anticipated. Let sit, undisturbed for 2 days. P E R F E C T I O N. Thanks, Karen!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm August 14, 2011

Yummy! And sooooo easy too! When I was done, I thought to myself: Is that all there is to this pickle making? I followed the recipe exactly and the instructions were easy to follow. Ended up w/ a delicious bunch of pickles sitting in my frig. DD and I couldn't wait and sampled 'em before they went into the frig and then had 'em w/ lunch today. Very tasty pickles w/ a good crunch. I liked the addition of the red pepper flakes. Definitely a "keeper." Thanks so much for sharing this, Karen!

NOTE: Be sure to use KOSHER salt and not regular table salt!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna July 09, 2011

These were so simple....I used splenda instead of sugar and they were very very good...
So much easier than the whole canning process...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc August 10, 2010

Based on the other reviews (and the fact that it seemed to be a lot), I used only 2 t. salt. You can put it in, but you can't take it out! These were very easy to make and since I had giant cucumbers in the garden upon my return from vacation, this was a perfect way to use them up. I sliced them with my slicing blade in my food processor in seconds. Thanks for sharing, can't wait for them to marinate and dig in!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau July 18, 2015

These are awesome every one loves them specially great if you used home grown cucumbers out of your own garden get request every year :) but i can them so they last longer

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana P. June 13, 2014

Delicious and so easy to make. These are nothing like you will ever find in a store. Personally, on my 2nd batch I used just a dash less dry mustard and red pepper flakes. They have a nice little kick, and I mean little kick after eat a few, I just wanted to tone it done just a bit more. Let them sit a couple days, if you can wait that long and you have the best pickle!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bk_mallicote November 10, 2012

My first attempt at making pickles was a success thanks to this recipe. Tasty and crunchy. Will definitely make them again. Simple and easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moxie17 July 07, 2012

This was terrific! I've not reviewed anything before for this site, but this was so good I had to say something. I liked it as soon as it cooled. But it is getting better and better. My mother-in-law asked for the recipe!

Thanks for putting this up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mackenzie September 10, 2011

It doesn't get any better than this! The prep is so quick and easy. These are so much better than anything that comes prepackaged. Over the years I have used many recipes for bread and butter pickles but this one is now at the top of my list. Thanks much for such a quick and easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG August 11, 2011

Easy and they taste great. Added some fresh jalapeƱo slices for a little zing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wing-Man August 09, 2010
Easy Bread and Butter Pickles