Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Black Beans and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Black Beans and Rice

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2010

      Very tasty, enjoyed by both adults and toddlers. We added some frozen corn, a chopped-up mango, and some cilantro from a tube. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2003

      Most of the time, when I serve a recipe without meat, the family really complains. So, to please them, I sauteed some smoked sausage with the vegetables before adding the rice. After the spices were added at the end, the white rice took on the greenish yellow color of the cumin and curry with the black beans mixed in, so at first everyone just stared at their plate and didn't know what to expect. Well, after the first bite, there was no doubt - everyone loved it! There were no left overs. Next time I'm going to make it my way - no meat! I'll be sure to serve some meat on the side for the rest of the family. Thanks for sharing this delicious and healthy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      Rita, this is a wonderful one dish meal. My husband and I enjoyed this so much. I made as directed. He ate with fresh salsa. I wrapped mine in a flour tortilla with shredded lettuce, chopped fresh tomato and salsa. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, Rita! I will definitely serve this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Fabulous! For those who are wondering, 4 cups equals about 2 cans of black beans. I used a roasted red pepper from a jar. I didn't have vegetable broth so used chicken stock instead. Added some salt to taste. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      This was easy and Yummy! I really liked the addition of the currey powder. That gave it a very unique and delicious flavor! I did use a quinoa/wild rice blend rather than straight white rice. I also used a combination of black, kidney and garbanzo beans. Left out the onion (I was out) but tripled the garlic....Mmmmm! Never too much garlic. Thanks for the great recipe! Will be in my regular rotation! Everyone loved it! Served with a spinach salad and homemade whole wheat bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      I used brown basmati rice as that's my preferred rice even though it takes quite a bit longer to cook. This rice dish is delish! Uncomplicated and simple to make, it will be a staple in my weekends without kids cookbook (they're not fans of black beans). Next time I'll separate out some prepared rice before adding beans so they can try it too. Thanks for posting this lovely recipe Rita! Made and enjoyed for team Mischief Makers - ZWT #7. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2013

      This. Was. So. Darn. Good. I think it was the curry powder that made me love it. I even dipped some blue corn tortilla chips into the pot for one-on-one appetizer cheat bites. I wish my husband was in town to eat this with me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      This was very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      Good! I used two cans of black beans. As a main dish, the curry is a nice addition. As a side dish, I'd omit as it tends to overwhelm everything else. Thanks for sharing a yummy and healthy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      This is so easy and tasty, nice and spicy and with a comfort food style. I had to add a tad more broth to the rice, but then again, I did peek, a big no no in rice! Made for ZWT, Shady Ladies and sent this recipe straight to best of 2011. Yummmmm.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      As you can see from the photo, I chopped the pepper too big. This certain is good, and more than easy to make. I'd love to try this with brown rice. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT Witchin Kitchen.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      Easy to make and delicious! I also used brown rice instead and when I got to the very last step of adding spices, I discovered that I didn't have any CUMIN! So I substituted chili powder instead, left out the curry, and added oregano; it still turned out great. I have since purchased cumin and plan to make it as is!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2003

      This is a great and yummy recipe ! I made it with brown rice (because I'm kinda on a health kick) and because of that I had to cook it about 10 minutes longer before adding the beans and spices. However, the finished product was excellent! I will definitely be adding this to my dinner repetoire!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      Inexpensive, easy, tasty and healthy. What more could you ask for? I wasn't sure that I would like it with the curry powder but it doesn't taste like "curry." It just adds to the depth of the flavor. This is my go-to vegetarian dish and I love it every time. I've changed the order of one of the steps - I add the spices when I add the liquids; that way the rice comes out even more flavorful. I also add about 1 TB of cider vinegar, but that's just my personal taste. Because I use brown basmati rice and it takes longer to good, I increase the amount of broth. You just can't go wrong with this dish. Thanks so much for sharing, Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      This was fabulous! And versatile! Used what I had on hand: red kidney beans vs black beans. Chicken broth granules and 1 cup water vs veg broth. Pre-cooked white rice vs uncooked. Topped w/shredded pepperjack. Took 15 mins and VIOLA! The hubz and I loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      I didn't love this recipe. Maybe I did something wrong but it was pretty bland. Won't mke this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      Delicious! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      This was easy and turned out well. It was a bit spicy, but not too much. I used half a red pepper and half a green pepper. Oddly, I did have vegetable broth to use up, but typically I would probably use chicken broth instead. I didn't measure the beans, but used 2 cans, which I think is nearly 4 cups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2011

      This is really good for as quick and easy as it was. I omitted the cumin because hubby is allergic. I also had to add a bit more water than the recipe called for. Otherwise great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      Was looking for a quick meal and this fit the bill. Very simple and quick to make. This was Great and satisfying. Loved the flavor of the curry and cumin in the rice. Thank You for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Black Beans and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 194.2
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    51%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 464.1 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 9.5 g
    38%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 8.9 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites