Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Black Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Black Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2010

      Delicious. We topped with shredded cheese, sour cream, cilantro, green onions and crushed tortilla chips. I've also added browned ground meat to make it more of a meal. The second time I made this, I doubled this recipe except did not double the chicken stock so the soup would be thicker. This was a real winner at our house. Thanks for a simple and great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      I love this soup. It's quick, easy and delicious. I usually add a can of milder Rotel tomatoes with the 2nd can of black beans. It's also good with a spoonful of fat-free sour cream in the bowl. Freezes wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2012

      Have to agree-THIS IS THE BEST BLACK BEAN SOUP EVER! I've been looking for a black bean soup and others are so much more complicated without such tasty rsults! Added an extra clove of garlic (kid loves garlic and the smell of cooking onions and garlic) and had to use a can of fat-free refried beans because I only had one can of black beans. Perfection in a bowl. I've decided to go vegetarian 2-3 times a week and this will make the rotation. The whole family loves it!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      This was good but next time I think I will 1/2 the cumin and drain one of the cans of beans

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      I made this the day before a dinner party then just heated it up. I used black and romano beans. It was an excellent starter! Unfortunately the requests for seconds could not be met. Therefore, I'll either be doubling the recipe or having fewer dinner guests. Thanks for this great recipe tessamami

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2014

      This soup was so amazing with the cilantro and cumin it is the tastiest black bean soup I've had ever !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2013

      I wish this would allow me to do 4 3/4 stars! This was a great starting recipe; the only real change I made was to add a third can of beans and to drain and rinse all the beans. I used all the other ingredients/steps, but I chose to pulse 2 cans of the beans in the food processor. Because of the added can of beans, I also added more cumin, to taste. I garnished the bowls with a dollop of salsa, sour cream and a few chunks of avocado! Outstanding! Just a little note; you could always reduce the broth by a 1/4-1/2 cup and stick with the two cans of black beans. Thanks, Tessa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      Really good and really easy! Thank you! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      Very easy and tasty! I used dried beans which were cooking away in the crock pot all day, otherwise followed the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      Extremely easy and quick to make, and uses things that I almost always have in the house. I loved the texture the soup had with pureeing and then adding the last can of black beans. I made this just as written. I usually put diced tomatoes in my black bean soups, but I really didn't miss them in this recipe. This makes a super quick and tasty lunch. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      I loved this recipe! I am making it again today but I will be using dried beans. We'll see how it goes. I made this recipe exactly as written except I doubled it and then realized that I only had 2 cans of black beans. I used 2 black and 2 pinto and it worked great. I also used 3 cans of beans in the first portion that I blended and then I only added one can of black whole at the end. Oh yeah - and I didn't have any cilantro so I will buy some today and try it that way too since I really like cilantro. I am going to try freezing it in individual containers and pull out for healthy meals for myself since my family wasn't really a fan. They aren't into trying new things much, but I loved it enough to make a whole batch for myself! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      This soup was fantastic. My son ate the leftovers(flavors were even better!) and wanted me to make more right away! Next time I will be making a DOUBLE batch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2010

      This was exactly what I was looking for in a black bean soup. Easy, fast, and delicious! I had no cumin (I know, I couldn't believe it either), so I used half the amount in chili powder. It turned out great! I also had no red onion or cilantro. I used Imagine No Chicken Broth. I whisked in a little flour to thicken it, and threw in about half a cup or so of salsa to the final simmer. Topped it all off with sliced avocado (highly recommend trying this, especially if you're an avocado lover), and served with some southern skillet cornbread. Every bit of it was eaten! Even my three young boys liked it and asked for more. I'll definitely be doubling the recipe next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      Good soup... I added about 1/2 c. celery, 1 diced and seeded jalapeno, about 1/2 c. chopped carrot, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/4 tsp. pepper, 1/4 tsp. cayenne, and about 1/2 tsp. chili powder. I also added a little more than 1 TBSP of cumin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      Sooooo easy and sooooo delicious which and I had everything in my pantry:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      I waited years to find an easy black bean soup recipe that I can make at home. The soup turned out as good as, if not better then, any black bean soups that I have had in restaurants. I doubled the black beens b/c I love my soup thick and added a slight amount of hot sauce. It was great. Even my 3 year old loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      My daughter brought home a book from the library that talked about "Mud Soup" and gave a recipe at the back. It's a little plainer than this one and used dry beans soaked overnight first. I added added the garlic and cumin this recipe calls for and also did the blending to smooth the soup a little. Added shredded cheese and sour cream at the table. Served with Quick Soft Breadsticks for a delicious meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      Great Recipe!! I followed the recipe exactly and it is hands down the best black bean soup i have ever had. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Made a double batch for a party and served with brown rice. A huge hit - everyone loved it. I loved it too because it was so easy to make using my hand blender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      I used beef broth omitted the cilantro. I've made other black bean soups, but this one is by far the least involved AND the best tasting. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Black Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (329 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 331.0
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    32%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 380.0 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 13.9 g
    55%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 16.5 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites