37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious. We topped with shredded cheese, sour cream, cilantro, green onions and crushed tortilla chips. I've also added browned ground meat to make it more of a meal. The second time I made this, I doubled this recipe except did not double the chicken stock so the soup would be thicker. This was a real winner at our house. Thanks for a simple and great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikeandanniej February 15, 2010

I love this soup. It's quick, easy and delicious. I usually add a can of milder Rotel tomatoes with the 2nd can of black beans. It's also good with a spoonful of fat-free sour cream in the bowl. Freezes wonderfully!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lyndann November 15, 2003

Have to agree-THIS IS THE BEST BLACK BEAN SOUP EVER! I've been looking for a black bean soup and others are so much more complicated without such tasty rsults! Added an extra clove of garlic (kid loves garlic and the smell of cooking onions and garlic) and had to use a can of fat-free refried beans because I only had one can of black beans. Perfection in a bowl. I've decided to go vegetarian 2-3 times a week and this will make the rotation. The whole family loves it!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
georgeweezie_8318418 February 27, 2012

This was good but next time I think I will 1/2 the cumin and drain one of the cans of beans

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marianneee September 22, 2010

I made this the day before a dinner party then just heated it up. I used black and romano beans. It was an excellent starter! Unfortunately the requests for seconds could not be met. Therefore, I'll either be doubling the recipe or having fewer dinner guests. Thanks for this great recipe tessamami

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo October 23, 2006

I followed the recipe pretty close except I used 1 tsp of cumin and didn't add any garnish on top. It fed me and my husband comfortably, which means it made more than it said it would.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah D. January 26, 2015

This soup is great. LIke other reviewers I added a tin of chopped tomatoes, layered some tortilla chips in the bowl and dressed with sour cream and grated cheese. This is a super fast meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daraeve October 13, 2014

This soup was so amazing with the cilantro and cumin it is the tastiest black bean soup I've had ever !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimberly T. April 15, 2014

I wish this would allow me to do 4 3/4 stars! This was a great starting recipe; the only real change I made was to add a third can of beans and to drain and rinse all the beans. I used all the other ingredients/steps, but I chose to pulse 2 cans of the beans in the food processor. Because of the added can of beans, I also added more cumin, to taste. I garnished the bowls with a dollop of salsa, sour cream and a few chunks of avocado! Outstanding! Just a little note; you could always reduce the broth by a 1/4-1/2 cup and stick with the two cans of black beans. Thanks, Tessa!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tauruslady511 September 15, 2013

Really good and really easy! Thank you! : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittehchef January 12, 2013
Easy Black Bean Soup