40 Reviews

Delicious. We topped with shredded cheese, sour cream, cilantro, green onions and crushed tortilla chips. I've also added browned ground meat to make it more of a meal. The second time I made this, I doubled this recipe except did not double the chicken stock so the soup would be thicker. This was a real winner at our house. Thanks for a simple and great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikeandanniej February 15, 2010

I love this soup. It's quick, easy and delicious. I usually add a can of milder Rotel tomatoes with the 2nd can of black beans. It's also good with a spoonful of fat-free sour cream in the bowl. Freezes wonderfully!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lyndann November 15, 2003

Good soup... I added about 1/2 c. celery, 1 diced and seeded jalapeno, about 1/2 c. chopped carrot, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/4 tsp. pepper, 1/4 tsp. cayenne, and about 1/2 tsp. chili powder. I also added a little more than 1 TBSP of cumin.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bella Vita Baby April 22, 2010

I waited years to find an easy black bean soup recipe that I can make at home. The soup turned out as good as, if not better then, any black bean soups that I have had in restaurants. I doubled the black beens b/c I love my soup thick and added a slight amount of hot sauce. It was great. Even my 3 year old loved it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicolepeckmcphee February 21, 2010

I wish this would allow me to do 4 3/4 stars! This was a great starting recipe; the only real change I made was to add a third can of beans and to drain and rinse all the beans. I used all the other ingredients/steps, but I chose to pulse 2 cans of the beans in the food processor. Because of the added can of beans, I also added more cumin, to taste. I garnished the bowls with a dollop of salsa, sour cream and a few chunks of avocado! Outstanding! Just a little note; you could always reduce the broth by a 1/4-1/2 cup and stick with the two cans of black beans. Thanks, Tessa!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tauruslady511 September 15, 2013

Have to agree-THIS IS THE BEST BLACK BEAN SOUP EVER! I've been looking for a black bean soup and others are so much more complicated without such tasty rsults! Added an extra clove of garlic (kid loves garlic and the smell of cooking onions and garlic) and had to use a can of fat-free refried beans because I only had one can of black beans. Perfection in a bowl. I've decided to go vegetarian 2-3 times a week and this will make the rotation. The whole family loves it!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
georgeweezie_8318418 February 27, 2012

This was good but next time I think I will 1/2 the cumin and drain one of the cans of beans

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marianneee September 22, 2010

This was exactly what I was looking for in a black bean soup. Easy, fast, and delicious! I had no cumin (I know, I couldn't believe it either), so I used half the amount in chili powder. It turned out great! I also had no red onion or cilantro. I used Imagine No Chicken Broth. I whisked in a little flour to thicken it, and threw in about half a cup or so of salsa to the final simmer. Topped it all off with sliced avocado (highly recommend trying this, especially if you're an avocado lover), and served with some southern skillet cornbread. Every bit of it was eaten! Even my three young boys liked it and asked for more. I'll definitely be doubling the recipe next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bethiecow August 25, 2010

I made this the day before a dinner party then just heated it up. I used black and romano beans. It was an excellent starter! Unfortunately the requests for seconds could not be met. Therefore, I'll either be doubling the recipe or having fewer dinner guests. Thanks for this great recipe tessamami

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo October 23, 2006

This soup is cooking as I type. I like it and so does my son. After reading the reviews, I decided to add some canned tomatoes (good) and some bacon (bad), unless you like boil bacon that has lost all of its flavor. Yuck! I just got through pulling out as many pieces as I could. Thankfully, I didn't take the time to chop the bacon finely. I also had a leftover Italian sausage, which I chopped up and added to the soup. That was a good addition, but not really necessary. Since I added tomatoes, I decided to put in only half of the chicken broth. Corn may be another good addition, but I will cook it separately, and add as a garnish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oneilmp@aol.com April 05, 2016
Easy Black Bean Soup