108 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe, and like many Mom's I am to busy to think sometimes. What I do is use canned chicken, the kind you find by the tuna fish at the store. This way I don't have to deal with the time and mess that comes with cooking chicken! I know it's not fresh chicken, but my boys can't tell....and really, niether can I.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
metalandroses November 08, 2010

I had leftover turkey and gravy in the freezer that I used for this (in place of the chicken and soup), and I didn't really measure how much I used, and made it in a 8x8" dish. I loved the topping! Mine took longer to bake (almost an hour) probably because it was a little bigger.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mayness December 17, 2009

Very easy. I made this with frozen peas and corn and sautéed onions. Good comfort food but it definetly needs to be doctored up a bit. I will certainly make again but I might add some garlic powder to the bisquick topping and some herbs/spices to the chicken/veggie mixture. Not a bad jumping off point for an easy pot pie...just need to get creative in adding flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nat's Eats December 13, 2009

I add frozen shredded hashbrowns on the bottom layer..its very good, Thats what my mom always did, they cook all the way through and have a yummy flavor

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sprinkle101901 May 19, 2009

I made this for dinner tonight for my family and the only changes I made were adding salt pepper and some garlic powder. It was super delicious and will be returning to the recipe again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bean174 July 19, 2014

This is great, always a favorite. I doubled the recipe, baking it in a 9x13 pan. It took about 33 minutes to bake at 400. I used heart healthy bisquick, one heart healthy cream of chicken soup, and one heart healthy cream of mushroom soup. I used one 16 oz. bag of mixed vegetables, two 12.5 oz. cans chicken, and I added a 6 oz. can of mushrooms, a half cup of milk, a teaspoon each of poultry seasoning, onion powder, Italian seasoning, and black pepper to the soup mix. I sprinkled a cup of cheddar cheese on the mix before I poured on the bisquick layer. For the bisquick layer, I doubled the ingredients, and added about a teaspoon of garlic powder. My boyfriend, his two kids, and his roommate all liked it. I have made this many times and I'm sure I'll be making it many more. Thanks for posting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 February 16, 2014

This is a good basic recipe but as past reviewers commented, it could use some extra seasonings. I made as directed and it was a nice dish for a cold day. Will definitely make again with some extra kick. Love that it is easy though. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Puff January 17, 2014

I've made this several times my family loves it. I do agree you need to add stuff to the Bisquick if you like a little more flavor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WolterWife December 09, 2013

The thing that makes this recipe great is the Bisquick. I'm so happy I didn't have to make pie crust. And this dish was perfect for a winter afternoon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmderry November 26, 2013
Easy Bisquick Chicken Pot Pie