24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent! I would give this 10 stars if I could. This is so easy and my husband went back for THIRDS! Thanks so much for this one. I will be cooking it often.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alexi's Mom February 24, 2002

Made this tonite exactly as directed, except sprinkled some black pepper over all before putting the lid on. Served over buttered wide egg noodles with french green beans on the side. Everyone said "Spectacular!" and wanted to know if we could give it more than a 5 star rating! Thanks so much for sharing :) One note: I have a 6 1/2 quart crockpot and only had to cook on low for about 6 hours or so. It was starting to stick a bit on the bottom during the last hour, so I stirred it and added a little more water because it was very thick. I don't know if the size of the crock pot had anything to do with this.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= August 21, 2002

My husband loved this I used the zaar's Copycat Lipton's Onion Soup Mix #24952 (1/4 the recipe) and it was so good and the flavor was explosive!!!! I can't wait to make it this winter on a cold december eve!!!! I half the recipe for my family of 4.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paulcm August 26, 2002

Tara, this was so delicious and very easy. I cooked mine in the crock-pot for more like 6 hours and it turned out fine. The beef was so tender and the sauce was oh so yummy. Thanks for posting this. Here's to another easy week-night dinner--Cheers!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FruitLoop September 12, 2002

Wow! This was super easy! I used pre-cut "beef for braising or stewing" from the store and 98% fat free soup. I doubled the recipe because my wife had friends coming the day after and they wanted it for lunch. Our slow cooker runs hotter than most so it was done in 7 hours. We turned it to "keep warm" until we were ready to eat and it was great...the meat just fell apart. I like a little bit more zip so next time I'll probably add 2 soup packets to a triple recipe so I can freeze some (our cooker is also huge). All in all a great tasting *easy* meal. Thanks!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrinkDawg October 23, 2002

Wonderful and easy recipe, threw it together in less than 5 minutes before leaving for work. I added a few things because they needed to be used up. I used the whole pkg of onion soup mix and one cup of red wine, in addition to the 1/2 cup of water (I had closer to 3 pounds of stew beef). Chopped up and threw in 2 small cooking onions, and 1 red bell pepper.Salt and pepper. Cooked in crock at low (#2 setting) for 8hrs, got home and added 8 oz of sliced mushrooms, so removed crock lid and let gently simmer for an hour with shrooms in it.Served on penne noodles with fresh multi grain bread. Will definetely make again, it's a keeper!.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nat Da Brat February 28, 2003

Very easy, since I'm not a good cook. Tasted great!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie Brown September 29, 2002

This was just too salty for us. Between the soup and soup mix the sodium was outrageous. I should have known it would blow me up like a balloon. Next time I am going to try finding a soup and soup mix substitute with less sodium and try it again. I'm sorry, but this one didn't work for us. Thank you for sharing though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaThurston67 May 30, 2008

This is pretty close to my mom's recipe. I also add a can of cream of chicken soup instead of the water. Makes it extra creamy. Nicely done!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lindsey at Food.com October 30, 2013

This is good. I opted for the crock pot version and we enjoyed it very much. Since none of us can agree on the starch we like with stroganoff, I made both buttered noodles and rice. I did add some extra seasoning, season salt, pepper, garlic powder. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 03, 2011
Easy Beef Stroganoff