31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this often and the recipe is often requested. It went over great at a bake sale. Easy and delicious. Thanks Judy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrscrowell September 15, 2009

Really good! This was my first time to taste baklava, and I will definitely be making it again! I reduced the butter to 1/2 cup and found this to be plenty. I also reduced the sugar in the syrup to 1/2 cup, it did make it a thinner syrup but it was still fine. I halved the pastry and then halved it again and layered it a couple of times before adding the filling, and then layered it again. It was very easy and helped the pastry to become nice and crisp. Delicious - the biggest problem is trying not to eat it all myself! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gillygirl April 18, 2009

Well, this is undeniably delicious. We were looking for a quick dessert and I already had phyllo dough - so this was it. We used pistachios instead of walnuts (because I had them) and did everything else the same. Really simple, and, though not authentic (who cares), great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgiapea April 04, 2009

I made this for my husband's "birthday cake", and he said it tasted just like the one he loves at the local Mediterranean deli. I certainly appreciated it because it was so easy - the last time I worked with phyllo dough, I swore I'd never do it again. Now I know I can and make a winning dessert! Thanks Judy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klkscanner January 04, 2009

So Good! Sounds easy to make, I definitely look forward to trying it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cleanteeth02 November 02, 2008

SO easy! I actually doubled the filling and put a layer of phyllo in the middle (due to some comments about it falling apart really easy). And my husband likes to try to die if I give him walnuts or pecans, so I made this with almonds. Took some to family and friends and BAM! Everyone wants recipes. They loved it! I couldn't believe how easy it was for the hit it was! Try it! You'll love it! =D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luvinmyfamily November 01, 2008

My youth group leaders thank you for posting this recipe. This was a definite hit and I have to give the recipe to some of my friends. I did use less butter and it was buttery enough. We loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nascarmom August 27, 2008

Loved it, loved it, loved it! So easy compared to traditionally prepared baklava. I did make some changes as my poor, feeble brain refused to wrap itself around the concept of baklava without honey. So for the syrup, I used 1/2 C honey, 1/2 C sugar, added a cinnamon stick and kept the other syrup ingredients the same. I did not use an entire 16 oz box of phyllo, just one packet out of the box, and I liked that result fine. I used only 1/4 C sugar (or less) in the filling and probably 1-1/2 C of nuts. I topped the baklava with a dusting of nuts, sugar, and cinnamon. The only complaint that I have is that when I serve one of the squares, the top layer does not want to stay on top of the bottom layer. Next time, I may try to put one additional layer of phyllo in the middle and see if they hold together better that way. Thanks Judy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patsyzettle July 10, 2008

Great recipe! I didn't have any nuts, so I used crushed Weetabix and it turned out great, really chewy and nice. So much easier than other baklava recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rainbow*Bubbles July 04, 2008

Was having a Mediterranean themed dinner party last night and didn't want to spend the high dollars they wanted on homemade Baklava at the Med. market. Thought I'd give this a try. SO glad I did! This is a new favorite in my house. It's probably the most unhealthy thing I can think to make, but it is SO worth it! I had not worked with phyllo for a long time and they only way it comes in my local store is in a two pack box. I was a little confused about the amount of phyllo called for. I ended using 1 pack and it was perfect. I didn't want to use a whole cup of melted butter either, but I was afraid that the layers wouldn't get flaky if they didn't have enough. I compromised and used 3/4 C butter. This still seemed like a lot of butter, but all the layers where flaky and the filling was moist. Next time I will try 1/2 C. The deli where I have purchased baklava uses pistacios and they grind them to look like coarse sand. They place a thin layer over the top for color too. Going to make this for the next church potluck and wait for the recipe requests to roll in. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlie #5 July 04, 2008
Easy Baklava