Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Baklava Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Baklava

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2009

      This couldn't have been easier to put together. I used other reviewers' suggestion to divide the phyllo dough into 3 different layers instead of 2. I then divided the filling between the layers. The baklava was delicious and very authentic tasting. If I made it again, I might double the filling as well. It doesn't need it, but it would make it even yummier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Loves it! I made this today as a gift to send out. I used 2 cups of walnuts and divided the phyllo dough into three parts instead of two. I added Orange Blossom water to the syrup mixture. Delicious! Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      I had Baklava growing up every Christmas, my uncle made the long, time-consuming, overwhelming recipe. I NEVER thought I would be able to re-create a comparable version and here it is!!! I burn water and I made this and everyone LOVED it!! Yeah. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      Another 5 stars from me too! This went together very easily and was a hit at a women's group. My phyllo package had 2 dough packs in it and I just used 1. I followed the recipe exactly except I cut diamonds (easier for me) and was very happy with the results. Thank you Judy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      I can't believe I never reviewed this recipe. I loved this. And so did everyone else who ate it. What a brilliant way to make baklava. I didn't believe it would work, but it did and it sure beats layering and buttering every sheet of dough. Many thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      Had to find a baklava recipe that was inexpensive and easy for a school event to give a tasting to over 500 students. This recipe was delicious and all the kids loved it! I reduced the amount of butter to half a cup. We cut 60-64 rectangular pieces out of each pan (cutting the dough took the most time.) My daughter thought it tasted like crunchy cinnamon rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      So easy and so good. I used pecans versus walnuts and pulsed with a food processor for a smaller chopped nut. It worked out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      MMMMMMMMMMMMMM! I didn't have lemon juice so I used 1 teaspoon of orange marmalade in it's place. After the syrup cooled and before putting it on the hot baklava I added 2 Cups of honey. I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

    • on December 14, 2009

      I loved it and my family raved on it. Everyone said, "is it hard to make?" I almost wanted them to think so--they would be so proud of me for pulling it off! I had to admit it was sooo easy--wish I had made it when I first saved the recipe. Thanks a million for a real winner! I do think I will take the advice of some of the other reviewers and use less butter next time--and there will be a next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I have made this often and the recipe is often requested. It went over great at a bake sale. Easy and delicious. Thanks Judy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      Really good! This was my first time to taste baklava, and I will definitely be making it again! I reduced the butter to 1/2 cup and found this to be plenty. I also reduced the sugar in the syrup to 1/2 cup, it did make it a thinner syrup but it was still fine. I halved the pastry and then halved it again and layered it a couple of times before adding the filling, and then layered it again. It was very easy and helped the pastry to become nice and crisp. Delicious - the biggest problem is trying not to eat it all myself! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      Well, this is undeniably delicious. We were looking for a quick dessert and I already had phyllo dough - so this was it. We used pistachios instead of walnuts (because I had them) and did everything else the same. Really simple, and, though not authentic (who cares), great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      I made this for my husband's "birthday cake", and he said it tasted just like the one he loves at the local Mediterranean deli. I certainly appreciated it because it was so easy - the last time I worked with phyllo dough, I swore I'd never do it again. Now I know I can and make a winning dessert! Thanks Judy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      So Good! Sounds easy to make, I definitely look forward to trying it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      SO easy! I actually doubled the filling and put a layer of phyllo in the middle (due to some comments about it falling apart really easy). And my husband likes to try to die if I give him walnuts or pecans, so I made this with almonds. Took some to family and friends and BAM! Everyone wants recipes. They loved it! I couldn't believe how easy it was for the hit it was! Try it! You'll love it! =D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      My youth group leaders thank you for posting this recipe. This was a definite hit and I have to give the recipe to some of my friends. I did use less butter and it was buttery enough. We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      Loved it, loved it, loved it! So easy compared to traditionally prepared baklava. I did make some changes as my poor, feeble brain refused to wrap itself around the concept of baklava without honey. So for the syrup, I used 1/2 C honey, 1/2 C sugar, added a cinnamon stick and kept the other syrup ingredients the same. I did not use an entire 16 oz box of phyllo, just one packet out of the box, and I liked that result fine. I used only 1/4 C sugar (or less) in the filling and probably 1-1/2 C of nuts. I topped the baklava with a dusting of nuts, sugar, and cinnamon. The only complaint that I have is that when I serve one of the squares, the top layer does not want to stay on top of the bottom layer. Next time, I may try to put one additional layer of phyllo in the middle and see if they hold together better that way. Thanks Judy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      Great recipe! I didn't have any nuts, so I used crushed Weetabix and it turned out great, really chewy and nice. So much easier than other baklava recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      Was having a Mediterranean themed dinner party last night and didn't want to spend the high dollars they wanted on homemade Baklava at the Med. market. Thought I'd give this a try. SO glad I did! This is a new favorite in my house. It's probably the most unhealthy thing I can think to make, but it is SO worth it! I had not worked with phyllo for a long time and they only way it comes in my local store is in a two pack box. I was a little confused about the amount of phyllo called for. I ended using 1 pack and it was perfect. I didn't want to use a whole cup of melted butter either, but I was afraid that the layers wouldn't get flaky if they didn't have enough. I compromised and used 3/4 C butter. This still seemed like a lot of butter, but all the layers where flaky and the filling was moist. Next time I will try 1/2 C. The deli where I have purchased baklava uses pistacios and they grind them to look like coarse sand. They place a thin layer over the top for color too. Going to make this for the next church potluck and wait for the recipe requests to roll in. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Baklava

    Serving Size: 1 (1188 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 120.2
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    53%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 12.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 91.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites