31 Reviews

This couldn't have been easier to put together. I used other reviewers' suggestion to divide the phyllo dough into 3 different layers instead of 2. I then divided the filling between the layers. The baklava was delicious and very authentic tasting. If I made it again, I might double the filling as well. It doesn't need it, but it would make it even yummier!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F April 29, 2009

Loves it! I made this today as a gift to send out. I used 2 cups of walnuts and divided the phyllo dough into three parts instead of two. I added Orange Blossom water to the syrup mixture. Delicious! Thank you :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
punkroqsk8rchic August 20, 2009

I had Baklava growing up every Christmas, my uncle made the long, time-consuming, overwhelming recipe. I NEVER thought I would be able to re-create a comparable version and here it is!!! I burn water and I made this and everyone LOVED it!! Yeah. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AutumnJane December 24, 2008

Another 5 stars from me too! This went together very easily and was a hit at a women's group. My phyllo package had 2 dough packs in it and I just used 1. I followed the recipe exactly except I cut diamonds (easier for me) and was very happy with the results. Thank you Judy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greffete April 03, 2012

I can't believe I never reviewed this recipe. I loved this. And so did everyone else who ate it. What a brilliant way to make baklava. I didn't believe it would work, but it did and it sure beats layering and buttering every sheet of dough. Many thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbh February 26, 2011

Had to find a baklava recipe that was inexpensive and easy for a school event to give a tasting to over 500 students. This recipe was delicious and all the kids loved it! I reduced the amount of butter to half a cup. We cut 60-64 rectangular pieces out of each pan (cutting the dough took the most time.) My daughter thought it tasted like crunchy cinnamon rolls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OC Koz June 30, 2010

So easy and so good. I used pecans versus walnuts and pulsed with a food processor for a smaller chopped nut. It worked out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl January 17, 2010

MMMMMMMMMMMMMM! I didn't have lemon juice so I used 1 teaspoon of orange marmalade in it's place. After the syrup cooled and before putting it on the hot baklava I added 2 Cups of honey. I love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jen #1 December 16, 2009

I loved it and my family raved on it. Everyone said, "is it hard to make?" I almost wanted them to think so--they would be so proud of me for pulling it off! I had to admit it was sooo easy--wish I had made it when I first saved the recipe. Thanks a million for a real winner! I do think I will take the advice of some of the other reviewers and use less butter next time--and there will be a next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kennilyn December 14, 2009
Easy Baklava