Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Baked Tempeh Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Baked Tempeh

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on May 07, 2003

      This is great when you need have some tempeh and can't be bothered making anything too difficult. My toddler loves anything covered in tomato sauce and tempeh contains all the amino acids. Making the sauce is quite quick - I turned the heat up and managed to save some time. And waiting for the tempeh to bake gave me enough time to go check Zaar for tomorrow's meal! Good recipe Yogi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      I just recently learned that tempeh can actually taste good if you bake it. I cut a slab into 6 triangular pieces and baked in the sauce, covered. I uploaded a photo (how was there not already one on here?). Really great, easy recipe. Thanks Yogi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      Amazing! This has a spicy BBQ flavor to it and I cannot get enough! Thanks so much for this yumminess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      This was so delicious...and I agree with another reviewer that it reminds me of a "tomatoe-y barbeque sauce." It smells so fantastic while it's cooking! And the vinegar and tamari really seem to do something special to the tempeh. Great sauce...will see how tofu holds up to it next. **Update...drained, froze, then thawed some extra firm tofu to try with this great sauce...it was good, but not as good as the tempeh. I think the natural flavor of the tempeh and the great taste of this sauce just work really well together, period.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Wow! So delicious! I used 2 8-oz packages of tempeh instead of just one, and there was plenty of sauce for it. Everyone loved it. 2 of my non-vegetarian friends even asked for the recipe. I'll be making this one often, it's fast, easy, and wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      it was okay. it was actually better the second day but we had to add some sweet curry ketchup to make it better... i think it was just missing some sweetener - i would add some honey or maple syrup to it next time... it needs that. We mixed it with broccoli and rice and rolled it up in toritllas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      This dish is, by far, the best tempeh I have ever tasted. I absolutely loved it (esp. w/green beans and some quinoa). Additionally, I did not have tomato sauce so I used pasta sauce (already seasoned and w/olives and mushrooms). It was simply delightful. Thank you so much, Yogi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      This is so good. I made it exactly by the directions, using Tamari and Flax Tempeh. I served it over quinoa and it was just great. Because I have to fix two meals when I make tempah, I put it in the baking dish about 40 minutes before I put it in the oven. I don't know if that changed anything, but it couldn't have been better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      I think of this as sort of a tomatoey barbeque sauce. It makes for a very 'meaty' sort of vegetarian dish. I serve with baked potatoes and lemon garlic greens.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      pretty good :)...i adjusted things slightly as i went along...more onion, added peppers, garlic and 'shrooms...used some soy, and some Braggs till it seem right, also my tomato sauce was a spicy version and my vineger= ACV...we liked it and would most def make it again...very easy to throw together and found it to be extra yummy the second day (i tend to like "saucey thangz"- better the second day :)- this sauce could work with a lot of things :) -Thanks yogi

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      It was ok. The tomato suace was pretty overpowering. It might have turned out a little better had I used real tamari rather than soy sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      This was great! I didn't think it could be so tasty when I read the ingredients, and I admit, the 1/4 cup of vinegar seemed a bit much, but I followed the recipe and it was fabulous! Only thing I did different was that I used a mixture of tomato paste and water because I was out of tomato sauce. Very simple and yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      We liked this dish alot. I used soy sauce with some ginger powder as I didn't have any fresh ginger at hand. I'll definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      Freaking AWESOME! I really enjoyed it, over brown rice. However, I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, so I made a few substitutions. I used rice vinegar instead of cider vinegar, and I didn't have any tomato sauce, so I used a 14.5-oz can of (drained) diced tomatoes, plus about 1/4 cup organic ketchup. I also added a handful of diced carrots. It turned out wonderful! Thanks for the recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      This turned out really nice and timed perfectly with how long it takes to cook rice; which I served underneath.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      Really tasty and really easy- what else could I ask for? Served with brown rice and green beans. Only change I made was to add a tad bit of red pepper flakes to the tomato sauce. I tried a new (to me) flavored tempeh- onion and garlic. Yumm. Thanks for sharing, this is perfect for a weeknight dinner. Will make it again for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

    • on February 08, 2010

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Baked Tempeh

    Serving Size: 1 (214 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 229.4
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    50%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1748.4 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 17.7 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites