19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been doing the same thing with pork chops since I was 9 years old (baked with brown sugar, served with white minute rice and string beans!) this was a welcome change, Thanks Jess!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica Costello May 04, 2002

Wow. I was looking for a simple delicious pork chop recipe that I could make with what I already had, and this fit the bill Perfectly. Now I can't wait to try your Baked Sausage Potatoes that take kelbasa sausage. Thank-You Jessica.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa M March 01, 2002

This recipe deserves more than five stars! I made it for my husband and son who loved it! My son asked if there was more meat, which is a rarity!!!!! I am adding this to my rotation as it's simple to prepare and good!!! Comfort food at it's best!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KC's Mom August 02, 2010

This was superb, I don't like pork, it always seems dry no matter what I do. But this was so moist and flavorful, the seasonings of garlic salt and pepper before frying was a brilliant idea, a true keeper. I did cheat though, I used ready made liquid gravy for pork. YUM.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djmastermum May 18, 2010

Sinple and easy! IT tastes great! I added peppers a touch of beer to the drippings from the pre-frying of the chops and added that on top of the rice. I also added edame beans to the rice. Thanks for a good and simple recipe Christine

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christine66 May 12, 2010

Very Good recipe. The whole family loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adam_amanda02 October 28, 2009

Very, very good, Jessica! Doubled the recipe, but think I added too much water. I had to empty the gravy into the skillet I fried the chops in. But got the benefit of having the browned bits in the gravy! The guys said I could have this again anytime. Thnx for posting your recipe, Jessica.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter September 04, 2009

Delicious comfort food and so easy! I skipped the vegetable oil and used a shot of cooking spray to brown the chops and instead of covering them with just the water as the recipe instructed, I added the gravy packet to about a cup and a half of water, mixed it up and poured in the pan because I thought this would be easier then trying to mix it in with the hot water after they'd been baking. I reduced the heat to 350* and baked longer (an hour+) because I had the time and they came out fork tender. The gravy screamed for mashed potatoes, so I had them instead of rice. Thank you for sharing this simple and delicious recipe we'll enjoy again :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Breezytoo September 03, 2009

Simply Outstanding! EASY IS BEST for me. Used fresh ground pepper and added 5 minutes to each cooking time (wanted pork done) and served over buttered wide noodles...wife and I loved it! Certainly a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newbie Old Guy July 31, 2009

My family loved this! I served it with egg noodles as I did not have any rice on hand. I used boneless pork loin chops and they came out perfect. Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hollyism April 26, 2009
Easy Baked Pork Chops With Gravy and Rice