19 Reviews

This was simple and quick to assemble. However, it didn't appeal to me (and I'm an egg and ham lover). The flavor was bland and the texture confusing. I really wanted to like this, but I'll make a frittata next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisapaternoster April 14, 2009

This is a nice basic recipe. You can do any variety of things to change it up when you want to. Very very easy and quick to make with ingredients you have on hand. This time all I did different was to use spiral ham and add minced garlic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
giftedmama April 13, 2016

I was a big fan of how simple this recipe was to assemble. Then I tasted it. It was a disappointment. I put one less slice of bread and a few more eggs than the recipe called for, and it still tasted mostly of bread. It was bland and my guests left half the pan untouched. This was a fail in my opinion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerNancy December 04, 2014

A nice basic recipe that you can change to suit your tastes. Use country ham instead of the milder ham implied in this recipe. Or half a pound (or more) cooked and crumbled bacon or country sausage. Vary the cheese. I like to use croutons, seasoned or plain, because it sets up a bit better. And I generally sprinkle with smoke paprika. Make the night before and refrigerate or in the morn, but let it sit at least an hour before baking. However you do it, a hearty breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsoul51 October 26, 2014

This was yummy! Great way to use up eggs and leftover ham! Used regular sandwich bread and it was great! Thanks! This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Lumpy April 18, 2014

Delicious and super easy! I diced up black forest deli ham slices, used an extra egg, and used 1c half and half, the other cup milk. I also used hearty country white bread. You get a perfect balance of the ingredients in each mouthful. I will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
huck3131 January 06, 2014

This was amazing! I was a little worried about the bread being soggy, but I used a hearty 12 grain and it turned out great. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amwolf August 20, 2013

I'm kind of confused by all the glowing reviews on this one. The flavor was pretty good, but I couldn't get past the texture. It was soggy bread with chunks of ham in it. That's it. I followed the recipe exactly, but it ended up being soggy, mushy bread. I really wanted to like it, but I won't be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodie101 January 05, 2013

This is a wonderful easy casserole. I added more onions, green chilis, rosemary and oregano...Yummy! Loved Loved Loved!! Thanks for sharing, will make again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherock56 December 09, 2012
Easy Baked Ham N' Egg Casserole