10 Reviews

I used whole wheat pastry flour, and honey in place of sugar. I figured this would be a good recipe to experiment with using honey with since the previous reviewer complained of the dough being dry. I didn't notice the dough seeming particularly dry even considering I added honey instead of dry sugar. I would suggest warming the butter on top of the easy bake while it is preheating (it is rather difficult to handle in that small of an amount cold). Easy bake recipes tend to look dry, you just have to keep mixing until it doesn't. Overall a nice recipe. The cookies were rather bland, but I was using a different brand of peanut butter than I usually buy that does tend to be bland.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela Curtis December 02, 2003

They tasted pretty good and were really easy to make, but I had to add a bit of milk to get it to actually turn into dough. Next time I make them I'm gonna add a bit more sugar because there wasn't enough

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wheezeprincess February 18, 2010

There is no way that this recipe will ever make a dough. If you follow the directions the texture you get is somewhere between that of cornmeal and oatmeal and it's nowhere near wet enough to roll into a ball. Also the ratio of peanut butter to flour is way off. I ended up putting twice as much peanut butter as called for and about a tablespoon of milk in order to bring it to a doughish consistancy. They still taste rather bla but the kids don't seem to mind. I can't help but think that something was left out of the ingredient list for this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
umlaf July 16, 2003

As someone who makes peanut butter cookies reguly, and takes a lot of pride in my bakeing, I can tell you that this is a rather poor recipie. Its not aweful, and I'm sure it will tast nice, but as someone who is always trying to improve my recipies this is way more of a step backwards then a step forwards for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chuck D. August 10, 2015

With a few tweaks, this recipe was one of the best EBO recipes we've tried. I did soften the butter in the microwave first (30 sec on 20% power). I decreased the flour to 3T and increased the sugar to 2T. We also added some chopped up peanut butter chips. You do have to smoosh them together to make balls, and flatten them slightly on the cookie sheet. But they turned out delicious, just like a regular peanut butter cookie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brooknjas February 02, 2013

It was fine, the butter needs to be melted and if we make these again we'll do them brown eyed susan style to add more flavor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veriance March 06, 2009

I love love love these!! I often binge on peanut butter and bread which is too many calories, these are great and are hardly high in calories. I used a low calorie sugar substitue instead of the normal sugar and then added a tea spoon of baking powder to trick my mind into thinking I was eating more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sophie_bs February 18, 2009

very easy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Shay September 06, 2007

These cookies were surprisingly good for easy bake oven cookies! I wasn't expecting much. They kind of had a shortbread taste and texture to them. My six year old made them all by herself while I was in the shower. I needed to help with the mixing a bit. I agree with the reviewer who said that they need to be mixed a little while. But after some mixing with a fork the dough began to stick. They rolled into balls very nicely. We followed the recipe exactly and were delighted with the results. Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Monica* August 25, 2005
Easy Bake Oven peanut butter cookies