Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy-Bake Oven Cake Using Commercial Cake Mixes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy-Bake Oven Cake Using Commercial Cake Mixes

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2011

      UnknownChef86 makes it sound like the "3 tablespoons of cake mix to one tablespoon of milk" recipe can be used with any commercial cake mix. I used it with HEB grocery store's store brand (Hill Country Fare) devil's food cake mix, and the cake rose up out of the pan, and was also undercooked, after 15 minutes in a preheated Easy Bake Oven. It made a mess in the cooking chamber, which anyone who has an Easy Bake Oven knows is very difficult to clean. Obviously this recipe does not work with all brands and varieties of cake mixes. UnknownChef86 and others here apparently just got lucky with their brands/varieties. UnknownChef86 should have been more responsible and only stated that it works for the specific brands/varieties that (s)he tried, and list those varieties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      I was very happy to find this recipe. We tried making the easy bake cake mix and it didn't even rise. We just made this and it was great. It loses some of the flavor by not adding the egg, oil, water that the box says, but all in all, it is pretty good. I put the leftover dry mix that we didn't use in a plastic baggie that we will use over and over till it's done. Thanks so much for this great recipe! My daughter loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      We think it's delicious and a great way to save money! The mixes that came with the oven were difficult to make smooth and spreadable, but this works great! We used Jiffy mix with good results. We also had success mixing 3 T Jiffy White Frosting mix with 1 teaspoon of hot water. Makes a cheap, yummy icing. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      Thank you so much! I haven't even tried this yet but my daughter just got an EBO for her bday & she has a peanut allergy. All the little pkgs have a nut warning... Thanks for an easy & cheap alternative :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      I'm so glad I found this! Worked PERFECTLY! 99¢ for a whole big box of cake mix and lots of cakes and fun! This baked up BETTER than the expensive Easy Bake Oven mixes! Thank you! Thank you!! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      My daughter uses this recipe constantly! It's perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      THANK YOU!!! This has enabled my daughters to be able to make so many cakes at an AFFORDABLE price. $.88 for a whole box of mix which then makes about 30 little cakes vs. $6 for one Easy Bake Oven brand mix.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      I was more than happy to find these recipes, my daughter & I used this one today with Lemon Supreme Duncan Hines Mix. It was great, she loved it!!! Thanks for saving me a ton of money.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      YAY!!!! This is great! Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      My daughter got this for her birthday yesterday, and of course the store did not have any cake mixes. So I searched the net and found this. IT WAS GREAT! We made 2 of them, my 7 year old made it just how you stated, and my 4 year old made one, and added about another 1/2 Tablespoon of milk, but her's just rised more during the baking part. The taste was great, and they loved it, now I am not worried about suppling 50 bucks in my budget for Easy Bake items! Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

      We are going to make these little cakes for Santa this year. We added a scoop of ice cream on top-yum! My twins loved these more thank the Easy Bake brand. We used Betty Crocker brand Devil's Food and White for 12 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      this is so easy. it works for the new ultimate oven too. don't try more tablespoons of cake mix because it will bake too high and make a mess when you try to take the cake out of the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2012

      Used Duncan Hines Lemon Supreme Cake mix and followed directions exactly. Worked PERFECTLY!!!!! Our oven must run a little hot:-) (I guess even EBO's can fluctuate?) because cake took 11 minutes. Think we are on cake 5 and this could keep my 5 year old busy for hours today!!! Thanks for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      We used the Betty Crocker, Supermoist, white cake mix and this worked great. Next time, we need slightly less batter in the pan so it doesn't rise too far, but otherwise, this worked really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

    • on February 11, 2010

      My kids loved this! My daughter got an Easy Bake Oven for Christmas and had so much fun making cakes with her brothers. They turned out way better than the Easy Bake mix that came with the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Thanks, what a great solution! Makes perfect, nice looking, way-too-munchable cakes. My son is very happy with this and so am I!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      I purchased the Dr. Oetker Shaker brand cupcake mix because it only requires milk to be added. 3 Tbsp mix and 1 Tbsp milk for 15 minutes worked perfect. My daughter was thrilled and so was I because of the low cost. Thanks for this post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Thanks a bunch, my daughter and her friend have been baking up a storm all morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      Wow! What a great idea. Yesterday my daughter and I used one of the little cake mixes that came with the Easy Bake Oven she recently got and it was less than pretty! Mostly I thought that it didn't seem to be enough batter; it was hard to spead and actually fill the entire bottom of the pan. So, this morning I came across this recipe and what a difference it made! We doubled it to make a two-layer cake and both layers turned out beautifully! More like the pictures they show on the box. Thanks for the post and the great idea. I'm sure we'll be using the Easy Bake a lot more than we would have.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy-Bake Oven Cake Using Commercial Cake Mixes

    Serving Size: 1 (15 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 191.2
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    24%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 2.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 290.3 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 23.2 g
    92%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cake mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes