Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Bacalao - Puerto Rican Fish Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Bacalao - Puerto Rican Fish Stew

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 26, 2010

      I too made this recipe when I saw it on the EatingWell website. I was a little skeptical because it looked kind of weird, but it turned out so good! It wasn't fishy at all and my husband thought it was chicken. I used tilapia because it was on sale. Perfect and highly recommended.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2013

      Loved this exactly as the recipe is written! Serve with bread because you won't want to leave a drop of the stew in your bowl!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      This was yum-o. We made it just the way it was written - I would add a jalepeno next time, just for a little heat. I loved the broth and it was so flavorful! It was not fishy - as other reviewers have pointed out, and I served with a crusty french bread which soaked the juices up nicely! Thanks for a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      I made this tonight because I had a craving for fish stew. I tested it on my mother-in-love (who is Puerto Rician), she loved it and took a bowl home! I made mine with Tilapia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

    • on June 09, 2009

      I'll probably never eat the real thing, and I didn't even make it with Tilapia, but no matter, this is a good recipe. Aussies, Russ used flathead tails when he made this tonight for our dinner. He made the sauce and slipped the tails in for the last few minutes. I loved thesalty, brinyness of this and felt it worked well with the fish. We ate it over rice (probably wrong thing to do too, but good).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      good recipe but bacalao is made with cod fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      We really enjoyed this very flavorful yet light stew. I will not add extra salt next time as it isn't required with the canned tomatoes, olives and capers. Also, I didn't have pimento stuffed olives and used black olives instead. We had it with brown rice for a good healthy meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      DELICIOUS. Easy and fast. I followed the recipe exactly. Served it with hot crusty Costco bread. I had an avocado ready to serve with it but I forgot. Still a delicious meal. Five of us, two adults and three kids all under 10 agree this was a 5 stars. I will make this again. But may add some chopped celery for more vegetables and fiber because I don't think that would alter the taste. THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      This is very good, and so quick to throw together! I used frozen tilapia fillets, and instead of separate diced tomatoes and chiles, I used canned tomato-chile mixture. I love anything with capers, so this had me mmmmmm-ing my way through lunch. Served with a nice whole wheat roll, a healthy lunch. Thanks Jen! Made for PAC Spring 2008

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      Light and refreshing is what comes to mind when I tasted this soup. I was a little concerned it may be too salty with the capers and olives so I held back on the salt which I ended up adding it at the end – it was perfect! The only change was using San Marzano whole-peeled canned tomatoes(I love those and I have 2 cases). I diced them and used the juice. Next time I might try the salted cod"Bacalao or Baccala" But using the Tilapia with in this soup will be my stable. It is that good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      I really liked this recipe. Instead of a chili pepper, I used a can of tomatoes with peppers added (Rotel). I think this resulted in a spicier soup that if I had used a poblano. Otherwise I followed this as written. This probably does make 4 normal servings, but the two of us nearly finished it off on our own for dinner. Thanks for posting such a quick and flavorful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Bacalao - Puerto Rican Fish Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (345 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.8
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    38%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 56.7 mg
    18%
    Sodium 422.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 24.4 g
    48%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pimento stuffed olives

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites