22 Reviews

This is the same as my recipe, except I add 1/4 of a bunch of chopped fresh cilantro! Not sure if the cilantro is authentic, but good! 3 tips** 1) keep the pits, don't throw them away. after you make the guac, push the pits down in the guac, it will not trun brown (the top will turn a little if you don't put plastic wrap directly on top) **2) if a fresh jalapeno is too hot for you, try jalapenos from a jar. Slight heat, still great! **3) when you cut open the tomatoes, remove the seeds for a less watery product. And yes, NEVER buy guac ever again! ENJOY!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef slycat88 May 04, 2010

This is my first ever review on this site. This recipe warranted a great review. Best guacamole ever!! I've made it twice now, exactly how the directions stated and both times were delicious! The second time I put the guac in a seven layer dip. I didn't have to change a thing. I didn't add any cilantro and I love cilantro... but this recipe really doesn't need anything extra.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ariana4 February 10, 2013

This is definitely the good stuff. Made as directed, along with your tortilla chips - thank you so much for that recipe as well.

Unfortunately, I used this experience to learn the hazard of touching your eyes after mincing jalapenos. Never again. ><

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AD #2 May 21, 2011

Absolutely loved this! I served it by the spoonfuls and dropped them into tortilla scoops. Topped with some chopped black olives. Really good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiggiesStickeyRibs February 20, 2011

great tasty and oh so easy..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jpando0472 January 23, 2011

I made this recipe for a Super Bowl party we attended this year. It was a hit! I came home with an empty bowl! My only deviation was to leave the avocado a little chunky, other than that I followed it exactly. I will be making this again very soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThreeRingCircus February 15, 2010

I thought the recipe was very easy to make but full of pleasure and a great taste when I made homemade tortilla chips to go with the guacamole.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steele_steven February 11, 2010

I've always bought my guacamole because I was intimidated by the avacado. I couldn't find any at my local market, so I broke down and bought some avacadoes. I searched Recipezaar for a highly rated recipe, and viola, I found this one. I never knew it was so easy to make guac, but now I do. I followed the directions, with exception of the jalopeno, as my wife and her family do not like spicy food. After mixing everything together, I took a store bought tortilla chip and tasted it, and WOW!!!!!!!! I knew I couldn't eat much, as I had to preserve it for a recipe for dinner, but I wound up licking the spoon and bowl like it was cake batter. YUM!!! I'll never buy that store bought junk again, promise!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tmwnoh December 31, 2009

Finally a recipe that does not add dairy ! This is the way we make it here in Texas- keep it simple and let the flavor of the avocado be the star !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staceyelee April 27, 2009
Easy Authentic Guacamole