Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Arabic Yogurt Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Arabic Yogurt

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 21, 2009

      I've been making the same recipe since I visited Iran. I'm using regular yogurt, and organic milk that makes a very creamy and thick one. I have a trick, I know that I can add the yogurt when I can hold my finger till a count to 10 in the hot milk.Works every time. For one liter of milk I add 1-2 T yogurt. If using more yogurt, it will turn sour. I wrap the container in blankets and keep it in a warm place until morning.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      AWESOME!!! I have tried to make yogurt about 4 times before and it always comes out running and not good. This is the exception. . .it is fabulous!!! I reduced the recipe by half and used 4 cups of whole milk and 1/8 cup of organic greek nonfat yogurt. My girlfriend said that her relatives in Pakistan all add sweetened condensed milk at the time you add the yogurt for creaminess and sweetness; so I added about 1/4 cup (remember I halved the recipe) of fat free sweetened condensed milk. This was SO good. So creamy, just a touch of sweetness and perfect. It didn't have that sharp yogurt flavor associated with plain yogurt either!!! Thanks for a keeper!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

      I'm not going to star this because something went wrong. I think it was because leaving it off the stove 1 hour got it too cool. As I touched it 1 hour later and it was pretty cool I will try Little Mafia's technique next time holding my finger in for the count of 10. It may also have been because I didn't use enough starter. Will try again. Made for Ramadan Tag 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      This was so neat! I wanted to make it and couldn't figure out a bowl to make it in until Mami J suggested the crockpot insert! And I used littlemafia's finger trick for the temperature... I just used plain yogurt as it's what I had on hand and ate it with granola and blackberries! Made for ZWT #6!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      This recipe was very easy to follow, and it yielded a very nice yogurt. I made it in the ceramic insert of my crockpot. I have about two cups set aside for draining. Thank you for sharing! Made for Swizzle Chicks and ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Well, it's just a fact, this is fabulous and so easy!!!! I cut the recipe by 4, to use a litre of milk, just in case something went drastically wrong!! I used about 2 tbls plain yoghurt as the starter. Wrapped it up in towels and stored it in the back of my younger daughters cupboard (the cat used to love to sleep there, so I figured it must be warm there!!!). I left it for 24 hours, and when I unwrapped it I had ... yoghurt! Smooth and creamy, I couldn't believe it could be THAT simple!!! I don't doubt you could play around with this, adding different flavours or more sweetness, but for us, this is 100% the way we like our yoghurt, and I am totally thrilled with myself and this recipe, lol!!! Thanks SO much, Leah, a gem of a recipe, discovered in the NA*ME cooking tag game!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Very good! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      I've made yogurt with a similar process using a yogurt maker instead of the ceramic bowl. I've noticed that it's usually the starter the makes the most difference in the consistency. I prefer Dannon fat-free plain yogurt. I frequently strain my homemade yogurt through a yogurt cheese maker just to thicken it some. It's amazing for spreads as well as plain!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Arabic Yogurt

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 225.6
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    51%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 49.2 mg
    16%
    Sodium 172.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 11.6 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites